Wanna see what a press conference is all about

by

Then come to Starkville or Jackson or both.

Greg Byrne called bright and early this morning to ask me to put on this blog that the public is invited to attend the 1 p.m. press conference in Starkville and the 5 p.m. presser in Jackson.

Just don’t take me seat.

18 Responses to “Wanna see what a press conference is all about”

  1. 2thdoc Says:

    Gregg, I’m watching UFC highlights this morning and can’t help but thinking of Polk challenging Byrne to a match in the octagon.

  2. Blake Says:

    Among all the crazy statements Polk made, this might have been the worse, “Now he’s got me on the warpath and all I can do is hurt him. I’m going to do everything I can to make his life miserable.”

    I’ve been thinking, and I think this is what happened. Think back w/ me. McMahon leaves MSU for Florida. By all accounts, Raffo was going to Florida with McMahon. But wait… Polk is named head coach at MSU. Polk then has a meeting w/ Raffo and Raffo decides to stay in Starkville. Everyone is happy, right?

    I think that in that meeting Polk promised the HC job to Raffo when Polk next retired. That was why Raffo never went anywhere. And now that LT isn’t calling the shots (or maybe LT isn’t there to let RP call the baseball shots) Polk can’t keep the promise he’d made to Raffo years back.

    I think Tommy Raffo is a great man and has been a great coach for us. Just hate that all the mess is happening. I have to think that RP also backed Byrne into a corner w/ a lot of his earlier comments.

  3. 2thdoc Says:

    Another disturbing statement by Polk in the International Herald Tribune of NY:

    “The only reason why I’m supporting Tommy is John’s got a job,” Polk said. “He’s got a job. Tommy doesn’t got a job. John got a break.”

    Why say something so crazy as the only reason to support Raffo and then go off on Byrne when things don’t go your way. I’m sure MSU is an equal opportunity institution but I doubt that employment status is at the top of the search criteria for the best qualified candidate.

  4. farley662 Says:

    Maybe this is the old man’s way of getting all of the Bulldog nation behind Cohen. The old bastard has done crazier things in the past.

  5. dawgbones Says:

    Gregg,

    I’ve seen coaches mad but rarely in such a public way. Polk’s actions are inexcusable and he should be made to apologize given the way the University has supported him over the years. He just ruined his legacy if he doesn’t make amends. Whether he cares if he did or not, he ruined it.

    I know this is a blog but I don’t think the DJ publishing his reactionary response was for the best. I know Parrish overlooked or ignored a lot of Orgeron’s bonehead stuff for the best for Ole Miss even though Bulldog fans would have loved the juicy details. Just saying prudence sometimes goes a long way particularly in helping a person do his job better down the road. No doubt Polk’s response would have gotten out but sometimes it is better to not be at the party. I know the DJ was not the only one. Just another opinion to think about.

  6. warbirdz44 Says:

    If I were Byrne, this would be my response to Polk:

    “Well, Cohen couldn’t possibly do any worse than Polk did last season!”

  7. thingreenline Says:

    GG, can you seriously get the pic with Polk on it taken off the blog until a replacement pic is formed? I would think nobody wants it on there anymore.

  8. jcdawgman18 Says:

    I think a new pic should have Swat, Croom, and DP3 during the punt return.

  9. jcdawgman18 Says:

    Baseball currently does not have anyone with the stature to make the pic.

  10. buzzardroostus Says:

    Evidently, Polk is at least as crazy as we all thought. It won’t bother me one bit for his name not to be engraved on anything at MSU. His actions this week are irresponsible, unprofessional, and absolutely bad for student-atheletes and Mississippi State.

  11. hhbn Says:

    How fickle are ye fans. Yes, Polk is going overboard, but think of how things played out. Just last season Polk, Raffo, and the rest of the coaching staff led the Bulldogs to the World Series. They have an off year and everyone forgets about everything but right now. Shame on you.

  12. theconquistador2 Says:

    Nobody has forgotten what Polk has done in the past. His comments were out of line and it doesn’t do anyone any good. I for one am grateful for what Polk has done but I am sick and tired of his constant bitching and moaning. His comments yesterday is the straw that broke the camels back. With Raffo, Polk still could feel he had some control and now that he knows he doesn’t have that control and he doesn’t like it. The university and the program doesn’t revolve around him. He needs to shut his mouth and enjoy retirement. I would love nothing more than for Polk to apologize, support Cohen and enjoy his retirement in Starkville. But if he keeps acting like a spoiled child, it would be best if he moves to Arizona.

  13. Braves Dawg Says:

    Were you dropped on your head at birth hhbn?

  14. 2thdoc Says:

    hhbn, I don’t think anyone has forgotten what Polk has done. Just responding to Polk’s threats.

    What would you do? Your well respected granddad who has chosen to move out and sell his home starts to burn it down just because the new owner decided to put in a sprinkler system and spruce up the place. He can be upset but just needs to chill with the threats to Byrne and to MSU Baseball.

  15. hhbn Says:

    I actually think Polk’s comments hurt Raffo, rather than help him. I agree – he is acting like a spoiled child. That is not at all how I would have reacted. It isn’t him I feel bad for – it is the other coaches and the players. There is always more to the story. It is who you know and the new A.D. is chums with Cohen. That’s how sports works. Sometimes it just seems like a shame for those who get caught in the middle.

    I don’t love Polk, but I don’t think he wants to retain control. According to Cohen – he and Polk LOVE each other. So what would be the difference? I think Polk genuinely thought Raffo earned and deserved it. But the reality is – college sports is big business and people get squashed – even if they didn’t do anything wrong.

    No, I wasn’t dropped on my head. I probably have a lot more information on the situation than you do. What an intelligent response.

  16. Gregg Ellis Says:

    dawgbones, I strongly, strongly, strongly disagree with what you said.

    First off, for all his faults, Coach O never acted like Polk and had he did, it would have been in print. And if this was another coach at another school, you’d be reading it twice.

    I always find it interesting how people’s views of what should be reported changes when it comes to their team. Sorry, but it works both ways.

  17. bigdraws Says:

    Yep, GG is obviously biased and owes us all an apology. Friggin OM fan.

  18. Braves Dawg Says:

    hhbn, I don’t care what kind of inside information you think you have. As for intelligent responses, way to do a 180 on your previous comment. Fickle indeed…….

Leave a comment