Varnado’s Dad: ‘Taking It Day by Day’

by

Winston Varnado, father of MSU center Jarvis Varnado, told me moments ago that today’s meeting with the coaching staff was mostly about Jarvis’ options for next year and what he must do to stay eligible if he chooses to enter the NBA Draft this summer. Winston Varnado said if Jarvis chose that route, would not use an agent. “He hasn’t even decided if he wants to test the waters,” Winston said.

Winston said the coaches “support whatever Jarvis’ decision will be.” He added, “(He’s) just taking it day by day. There’s no rush.”

Underclassmen must declare for the draft by April 26.

3 Responses to “Varnado’s Dad: ‘Taking It Day by Day’”

  1. s084swd Says:

    If I was in Varnado’s shoes, I would definitely enter the NBA draft without hiring a agent. He has nothing to lose. If he strongly believes that he’ll be a first rounder, then I can’t blame him if he goes ahead and goes to the NBA. However, his senior year at State is shaping up to be a very good one if he should so chose to return. I hope he comes back for his senior year. It would probably be very good for both he and MSU. Also, I’m excited that Augustus is returning. If he plays next season the way he played towards the end of this season, he could be really good.

  2. darkcooger Says:

    For obvious selfish reasons, I want Jarvis back next season, but after all the heart and effort he’s poured into Mississippi State basketball, I fully support him whatever he decides to do.

    I’m very happy to see that he’s not doing anything secretive or trying to be dramatic. He’s talked with the coaches, he’s talked with his father, and everyone is being open and honest with the public. This, I think, proves the kind of character that Jarvis has.

  3. benzadawgfan Says:

    I’d be happy for him no matter what he chose, and I don’t think there is a wrong descision here. I do think he could improve his draft position if he stayed, especially considering how hard he will work in the off season. I’m just glad he’s a Bulldog!! I’ll be happy to see this young man turn hard work and character into millions!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

