Brown, Dixon are finalists for Conerly Award

by

Senior defensive end and co-captain Titus Brown and sophomore running back Anthony Dixon have been named finalists for the Conerly Award. The winner will be named on Tuesday night in Jackson.

The third finalists is Southern Miss running back Damion Fletcher.

Any surprises here? Who would be your three?

24 Responses to “Brown, Dixon are finalists for Conerly Award”

  1. themaroonandwhite Says:

    Titus Brown is the winner and it shouldn’t even be close. If that’s not the case then someone is being paid off.

  2. jcdawgman18 Says:

    I would give it to Titus as well, but you could easily make a good case for AD.
    These three are the three that I would have there.

  3. imabulldog Says:

    I’d say even Wes should be considered, remember-not bad for a Freshman.

    But I’d have to give it to the “Tight One”, Titus. Tons of heart, and is the definition of what a bulldog football player is

  4. bigdraws Says:

    I wonder if they keep the trophy in a pillowcase.

  5. theconquistador Says:

    Those would be my three and I would vote Titus the winner.

  6. farley662 Says:

    I’d give it to Titus. I’m kinda surprised Dan Jarvis Blue Williams Michael Ellis was not at least invited. He did 1,000 rushing yards, for REAL this year. But, AD is leading in TD’s, so I’m cool with it!

  7. 1msucub Says:

    It’s a little perplexing that Green-Ellis is not on the list. That kid is a great back and deserves to be there.

  8. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I agree, 1msucub. I thought he would be a finalist. I mean, he has rushed for 1,000-plus yards.

  9. garnth1 Says:

    Maybe a clock radio kept him off the list.

  10. farley662 Says:

    Can we say he rushed for 1,000 yards one more time?

  11. 1msucub Says:

    I’m not sure how they can justify leaving him off, either. I’d like to hear the explanation.

  12. Gregg Ellis Says:

    OK, farley. He rushed for 1,000 yards.

  13. farley662 Says:

    His name was too long to fit on the trophy!

  14. oxfordrebel Says:

    Greg Hardy didn’t make the list either. He missed 2 games and still had the sacks record for the season and had other big defensive numbers.

  15. farley662 Says:

    I would say off field issues kept Hardy out. Character plays a role in this award. Not saying Hardy has none, just could be the reason why. Bright side for the Dawgs on here, I’ve seen at least half the football team around Oxford the last two days. Must not be able to “get jacked up to come to Starkville”.

  16. bully4prez Says:

    Wait a minute. I don’t think anyone has mentioned this but didn’t Benji Green Ellis get 1000 yards this year?……….

  17. garnth1 Says:

    Nobody, but Ole Miss, knows if he is a thief or not. How could they vote for him in good conscience?

  18. 1msucub Says:

    BJGE=1020 yards
    AD=954 yards

  19. farley662 Says:

    AD- 954 yards 13 TDs
    BJGE- 1020 yards 5 TD’s

    That is all that look at I’m afraid

  20. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Farley, that was pretty funny about the name being too long.

  21. 1msucub Says:

    Farley, I hope you didn’t misunderstand me. I was just answering the question about BJGE having 1000 yards this year. I hope Dixon or Brown (my choice) wins it, but to not invite BJGE is wrong to me.

  22. farley662 Says:

    I agree he should have been there! I was just saying the 5 TDs hurt his chances. I think at least 1 player from each of the major schools should get the invite!

  23. imabulldog Says:

    The stats between AD and BJGEllis could change in the Egg bowl, hopefully in AD’s favor

  24. skydawg706 Says:

    TITUS has my vote…………..

Leave a Reply

