Bulldogs are a No. 8 seed, going to Little Rock

by

Are you surprised with Mississippi State’s seeding? Do you like the fact the first-round draw is Oregon? 

Should the Bulldogs get past the Ducks, it’s top-seeded Memphis. That’s a tall order too.

Your overall thoughts?

28 Responses to “Bulldogs are a No. 8 seed, going to Little Rock”

  1. nashdawg Says:

    No 8 seed is an indication of a middle of the row tourney team. I don’t like the placement, but it definitely challenges our Miss. State Bulldogs in this year’s NCAA tourney! Go Dawgs! Rd 1

  2. theconquistador Says:

    I’ve got to admit, I was a little disappointed in the seed. I really expected a 6 or 7 seed.

    We need to start playing better. I’m tired of watching JG shoot 35 ft 3’s with 25 seconds on the shot clock.

  3. thespear Says:

    I thought we could have been seeded higher, but i think oregon is manageable. They have three main scorers, a big 6’6 guard, a smaller 5’6 guard and a physical 6’9 guy in the post. They have some solid wins, but some big losses(they were a bubble team)
    I think the SECs talent might help us have an edge. Afterall you can compare the big guard to shan foster, the other guard to a devan downey or chris warren, and the big guy to say a richard hendrix. We played well against that talent with the exception of fosters unnatural shooting affair.

    If the Bulldogs of old show up, we could find ourselves giving Memphis all they can handle in the Second Round! I hope the guys get focused and work hard this week

  4. claybo Says:

    If Oregon has “Foster, Downey/Warren, and Hendrix”, I just sold my soul for nothing.

    Tickets secured! Forget the websites, it’s who you know know’s, if you know what i mean:)

    These Dawgs HAVE bite! I know they didn’t show it in Atlanta, even pre- tornado. The poor coaching strategy has been appropriatley questioned on this websight.

    For me, that leaves 2 questions:
    1) What is the “Catcher in the Rye”, CIA keyword to wake this team up?
    2) Will they allow cowbells in Alltell Arena?

  5. thespear Says:

    Ha i didnt mean to sound like that claybo. Just saying from what i hear about their guys they are similar in style to play of those guys from the SEC. I dont think they are talent wise that similar. Im just sayin we have gonna up against all sizes and style of talent in our league.

    If this same team that played this week shows up, it dont matter who they have. If our guys come out to play basketball, i like our chances

  6. claybo Says:

    I agree, my comparison was tounge in cheek. GO DAWGS!

  7. thespear Says:

    Hey Gregg, maybe a good story for you here:
    I noticed that oregon has a redshirt freshman from Pascagoula and an assistant coach from Laurel. interesting, i suppose!

  8. 2thdoc Says:

    claybo, I was hoping not to hear about tongues and cheeks until Monday morning. My weekend just ended hearing those two words. The only thing missing is spit…Maybe Thursday we’ll have plenty of games to take our mind off of that “work” thing.

  9. farley662 Says:

    Mah fellow Americuns, I thank are seeding is rite. God Bless Yew and God Bless the Bulldawgs!

  10. 2thdoc Says:

    Speaking of work, Good job Gregg this weekend. I enjoyed it minus the loss. I know you and all that attended the games could have done without the weather thing. Hope this week will a little less unpredictable for you.

  11. farley662 Says:

    Mah fellow Americuns, I thank are seeding is rite. God Bless Yew and God Bless the Bulldawgs!

  12. claybo Says:

    haha, you can’t spell either farley. hilarious

  13. Gregg Ellis Says:

    thanks, 2thdoc. I really appreciate that. Hopefully, I want have to encounter another tornado for a long, long time, if ever.

    BTW, tipoff has been set for 6:25 p.m.

  14. farley662 Says:

    I was in character claybo!

  15. 2thdoc Says:

    Gregg, you know how I feel about you attending games in the state of Arkansas don’t you? You can’t call in sick can you right before the trip? We might have better luck.

  16. farley662 Says:

    And for heaven’s sake, if one of the locals says you have a purdy mouth, RUN THE OTHER WAY!

  17. imabulldog Says:

    I think we completely deserved the seed, to think any higher of ourselves is a little much.

    This is what I want to know- why is it that all year Gordon runs the court hard and fast, making layups, making passes, picking up fouls, when he does this he controls the game and keeps us in the lead. Why did we not run the court vs bama and especially a tired UGA??? We changed our game plan an looked like IDIOTS! If we go back to origional style we are an elite 8 team- if not we lose in the first round.

    I’m glad we might play UM. I’m ready for us to be the underdog in a game, think we’ll play better, and I wanna shut these people up here in Memphis

  18. warbirdz44 Says:

    I am ecstatic to have Memphis as a second round matchup. I know several Memphis fans and all they talk about is how no one respects them and how they are going to win the national championship this season. Nothing would make me happier than to see us knock out Tiger High. The way we are playing though I would be surprised if we got past Oregon, nonetheless Memphis.

  19. carwwest Says:

    i’m not real sure about the seed number but im honestly very worried about oregon….they are streaky and lately we have been playing like $hit….i think oregon is going to give us all we want to and memphis is going to be a huge task!….im sorry but im a realist and im hoping we get hot because if we keep up what we are doing now, the first game is going to be ugly!!!

  20. imabulldog Says:

    all we have to do is return to our basic style, if Gordon drives in about 35 or 40% of our possessions we win

  21. 2thdoc Says:

    At least we are not ranked, hopefully it will stay that way. Ima, your right…Gordon did not push the ball at all. Once they were set in the zone we even stopped going after Bliss inside for the 5th foul.

    I think Oregon is a good draw for us and hopefully they won’t be hitting the 3’s. We have to get after it on defense and may surprise a bubble type Pac-10 team.

  22. Gregg Ellis Says:

    2thdoc, unless I come down with a mysterious toothache, I should be fine. I’ll be careful of any packages I receive in the mail, though.

    Farley, you’re always in character, bro! Thank goodness.

    You guys do realize Oregon returns four starters from a team that made it to the Elite 8 last year. Obviously, the Ducks have underachieved.

    And to be honest, I just don’t know what to expect from MSU. But if I had to guess, I say the season comes to an end this weekend. Call me negative, if you wish.

  23. 2thdoc Says:

    Gregg, You’re being negative. Nah, I wouldn’t be surprised if we were one and done but certainly the draw for us could have been much, much worse. I’ll take it…until after a monumental meltdown like Saturday.

  24. jaybirdms Says:

    Yep, our tourney will be over this weekend. Could be Friday, could be Sunday. Our defense has played well, but our offense is cold right now.

  25. Gregg Ellis Says:

    ima, are you prepared for the ribbing you’ll take if Memphis were to beat MSU? Don’t do too much trash talking. And remember, in Memphis you might get shot for just trash talking. Be safe up there, man.

  26. farley662 Says:

    I don’t need your praise big headed peasant! You will be the first gift on Farley Day!

  27. leeearl Says:

    I’m well enough to post now after putting a hole in my door after the loss to Georgia….that was pathetic!

    We get Gaines out of the game, their two big men with 4 fouls have a perfect game plan at around 5:47 left in the game just drive Gordon inside or get it to Rhodes and get Jackson and Bliss to foul out and we’re home free, what the heck happended after that?!!!
    Shot a bunch of bricks and didn’t try to get the ball inside, I don’t understand whatsoever what happended?

    After our play against Georgia, an 8th seed is fine because there is no excuse for us not beating Georgia.

    Will we beat the Ducks, at this point, it depends on which MSU team shows up….we have some advantages of being alot closer to home, but it seems advantages doesn’t help us out….

    If we beat Oregon and then upset Memphis, I’ll be a very very happy man 🙂

  28. dc31 Says:

    The kid to watch is that Porter guy for Oregon. I saw him in the STL regional against UNLV and Florida last year and he lit UNLV to a crisp. Deadly 3 pt shooter, right up there with Foster and Lofton

Leave a Reply

