Got an interesting e-mail

by

And no, I’m not talking about the ones from angry fans who think I’m a Rick Stansbury basher and on the payroll at Ole Miss. Although they were quite interesting.

Instead, a note from a reader who did some research and discovered Mississippi State is the only Division I team in the country to go to the College World Series, play in a bowl and garner a bid in the last 12 month.

That same e-mail also pointed out another interesting tidbit in that Ole Miss is the only team in the SEC the last four years that hasn’t been to at least Omaha, a bowl or the NCAA tournament. No wonder my Rebel friends are a little edgy these days.

OK. I’m off to Little Rock. But before I leave, here’s some reading on things you might not know about the Oregon Ducks.

I’ll check in later tonight after I arrive at the Doubletree Hotel downtown.

47 Responses to “Got an interesting e-mail”

  1. 83dawg Says:

    This should bring a huge smile to every Bulldog fans face.Not just that we are the only ones to accomplish this, but that our good friends in Oxford accomplished what they have, or should I say haven’t.

  2. farley662 Says:

    If you hear this tonight run!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I will! I know the sound now!

  4. farley662 Says:

    You borrow PA’s “pillows” for the trip?

  5. farley662 Says:

    barrow, I meant.

  6. jaybirdms Says:

    “Squeal like a pig!!!”

  7. farley662 Says:

    Either one really

  8. imabulldog Says:

    I thought Louiseville did all if that as well

  9. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Nah! I’m ok with my own pillows, thanks.

  10. farley662 Says:

    Whoa! TMI GG! Don’t want to know what’s going on when your on the road and lonely!

  11. jaybirdms Says:

    I think you’re right, Ima.

  12. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I don’t think Louisville went to a bowl. I could be wrong. On road and can’t doublecheck. But I can respond to the blog. Ima, about to turn on 240 in Memphis.

  13. jaybirdms Says:

    ok, now gregg is right. Louisville went 6-6, but did not go to a bowl.

  14. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Blind squirral, acorn thing. Actually not my note. It was emailed to me.

  15. farley662 Says:

    Nutts?

  16. imabulldog Says:

    thanks, glad we dont have company on that one

  17. imabulldog Says:

    Stop in the Hood GG!

    Just tellem your nick-name is Double Gizzle

  18. Gregg Ellis Says:

    That little stretch on 78 is indeed interesting. But nice folks. I saw several women waiving at me. Thought that was nice. Guess they are members of welcome wagon.

  19. bigdraws Says:

    Are you broke now?

  20. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Lol! No!

  21. Braves Dawg Says:

    But that’s not enough according to SPD.

  22. jaybirdms Says:

    gregg, just curious here, how do you go about obtaining a room at some of these big events. I figure most of them are booked solid. Does the host school block off some rooms for media, friends of the university, and other important people?

  23. Gregg Ellis Says:

    The NCAA holds rooms for media.

  24. jaybirdms Says:

    The Presidential Suite, I presume?

  25. farley662 Says:

    Only one big enough for the Head!

  26. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Not hardly. Doubletree here is OK. I could have stayed at Peabody, and probably should. But, I was looking to save $50 a night. Plus, free wireless and parking here. Another 35 at the pea.

  27. hailstate Says:

    Gregg if you like beer, check out the Flying Saucer they have hundreds of different brews, and the scenery ain’t bad either.

  28. lanphuong Says:

    Where we tonight shall camp?….The top blogs of the day. the newest report , see and reply me some comments. Thanks.

  29. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Hailstate, there now with friends.

  30. 2thdoc Says:

    Gregg, tell Miss Lanphuong above where you are “camping”. She is looking for you…hope she doesn’t bring the creepy guy.

  31. farley662 Says:

    You drunk already GG? Can’t spell!

  32. farley662 Says:

    And update the dang time on your blog!

  33. dawgbones Says:

    Gregg,
    That was a good, truthful and fair article on Stansbury. If anything it could have been (and maybe should have been) much harsher. He hasn’t proven a thing since he hasn’t performed well in post season play in the Big Dance. I know he said he didn’t worry about it and that is because Templeton was too easily satisfied and doesn’t reach and push for higher accomplishments within our teams. In fact he told Stansbury when hired if he could occasionally go to the NIT and once 8 – 10 years go to the NCAA, he could stay there for years. I bet the coaches of NCAA and SEC champs Florida and LSU never had such low expectations placed on them and everyone knows people strive to the level of expectations. Ours has just never been high enough.

  34. 2thdoc Says:

    Maybe the year of the Bulldogs…at least mascot-wise in the Tourney:

    Butler
    Drake
    Georgia
    Gonzaga
    State

    We need all the help we can get. Anyone know voodoo for ducks?

  35. farley662 Says:

    I know voodoo for cows, goats, and emus. No ducks.

  36. farley662 Says:

    Oh, and Brewers sausages.

  37. dawgbones Says:

    Gregg,
    Please blog the State score as often as possible on Friday. I bought some tickets for the Birmingham regional thinking State would be there (if only we had beaten GA as we should have) so I will not get to keep up with it except thru the Blackberry.

  38. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I will blog until my heart’s content. Farley, what is wrong with the time?

  39. farley662 Says:

    Was an hour behind. Daylight savings time big guy!

  40. farley662 Says:

    Still an hour behind.

  41. bigdraws Says:

    How can you get on his case for the timer. When you can’t figure out how to archive topics on your blog. You’ve still got topics up from January. My index bar has some serious shrinkage over there.

  42. bigdraws Says:

    Well I’ll be damned. He did archive some of them.

  43. farley662 Says:

    Had it done yesterday Earl!

  44. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Ah, I didn’t even realize that. Heck, if I can figure it out, I will.

  45. farley662 Says:

    Late night? A normal person, I’d ask if their head felt huge after a night on the town. Not sure what to ask you.

  46. farley662 Says:

    Got it fixed! Woohoo!

  47. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Just for you, Farley!!

Leave a Reply

