Were more players involved?

by

Noticeably missing from Saturday’s spring game were Rodney Prince, Jamon Hughes and Anthony Johnson.

I asked Sylvester Croom if their absence had anything to do with Thursday’s gunshot incident that led to felony charges and the arrest of Mike Brown and Quentin Wesley.

In response to the question, the fifth-year Mississippi State coach said, “You’ve got the rosters. Watch the film and figure it out for yourself.”

He declined further comment, saying, “Any comments on personnel, any comments that have to do with the incident the other day, I’ll make when all the dust settles.”

Now note, Anthony Johnson didn’t participate in spring drills due to the broken ankle he suffered against Ole Miss last November. However, he’s been at other practices, while all the other injured players, guys like Dominic Douglas, Josh Riddell and Christian Ducre, were all on hand Saturday.

So if I’m figuring it out on my own, as suggested by the coach, then I guess I’m to assume they were somehow involved. Who knows.

As for the game itself, not exactly an offensive highlight reel.

It went into overtime, I kid you not. At that point, it was 0-0. Finally, Chris Relf connected with Co-Eric Riley for a 26-yard touchdown to lift the Maroon team to the 6-0 victory.

Record books indicate it was the first overtime for a spring game in NCAA history. Just kidding, of course. Well, I think I am.

52 Responses to “Were more players involved?”

  1. farley662 Says:

    Sounds like Sly is a little pissed!

  2. thespear Says:

    Croom sounds a little ornery!

  3. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Perhaps he should go to a shooting range and blow off some steam. Oh, wait! Bad idea.

  4. gmvbham7 Says:

    Well, I guess with everything else going on a 0-0 overtime spring game seems normal. Guess the offense is still learning the West Coast Offense.

  5. waltron Says:

    … “the first-year Mississippi State coach” …

    Hasn’t been Croom’s first year in a while.

  6. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Gregg, not good treatment that you received from this State coach over there, come on over to Ole Miss where the hospitality is great. Welcome.

  7. farley662 Says:

    Should have asked if he wanted to go skeet shooting or turkey hunting GG.

  8. farley662 Says:

    Where they banned reporters from talking to players who stole s**t from a hotel.

  9. farley662 Says:

    Or you could go. Got a slogan for ya GG, “Gregg Ellis, Busting a Nutt at Ole Miss!”

  10. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    They let you drink beer at their baseball games.

  11. farley662 Says:

    Good point JB. Done it many times. Wish they wouldn’t have leveled the hill at Swayze!

  12. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    If they don’t start winning baseball games that heavy equipment may become a permanent fixture out there

  13. thingreenline Says:

    I have a feeling this is gonna be Woody’s last year in Starkville.
    I hope I’m right, but then again, if we manage to score 15 offensive touchdowns on the year, they’ll call that progress.

  14. thespear Says:

    I wish tgl, but I have a feeling Sly won’t make him go anywhere if it’s not Woody’s own choice.

  15. thespear Says:

    btw, just wanna make a shout out to brown and wesley, you guys finally made it on sportscenter!

  16. 2thdoc Says:

    Still waiting for Hopson to sign with UT, Gordon to go to the NBA, and Raffo to replace Polk to finish the royal butt whipping we have taken so far.

    I guess it could be worse…well not really. That’s about all I can think of. The Hump doesn’t leak though when it rains if you want to be optimistic.

  17. Gregg Ellis Says:

    And don’t forget 2thdoc, there’s always teeth to be cleaned.

  18. 2thdoc Says:

    I could make Hopson a new “Grill” as a signing bonus. We just have to keep it low so Bruce Pearl won’t up the stakes.

  19. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I’m sure you could do something bullet-proof wise for Mike Brown and Quentin Wesley, too.

  20. 2thdoc Says:

    Gregg, your “street cred” would take a hit if you go walking around with bullet proof stuff. You gotta be hard and represent.

  21. farley662 Says:

    Why do I feel that the dawgsbite boys are gonna start dogging GG real soon. Damn Hubdog!

  22. Gregg Ellis Says:

    When they stop dogging me, I’ll really be concerned. So, what’s on the plate for you boys tonight?

  23. 2thdoc Says:

    I’m not sure what I’ll be eating but I have a good idea of beverage.

  24. 2thdoc Says:

    Gregg, How many hours have you been working the last few days? Do you get paid overtime?

  25. Gregg Ellis Says:

    It’s been a lot, 2thdoc. A lot of crazy stuff happened. I get overtime, but I normally don’t put it down. I’d rather take an extra afternoon here or there. Of course, that never seems to work out in my favor. It’s a 24/7 job, and I’m used to it.

    Today was a lot easier than normal because I didn’t cover the baseball game. Paul Jones covered it for us. The break was nice.

  26. farley662 Says:

    Grilling brats, drinking beer, and watching the Elite 8.

  27. 2thdoc Says:

    Got the 3 kids this weekend by myself so the blog has helped numb the pain in my ears. I did stop by La Vino to get me through the night…I’m sure you did the same.

  28. Gregg Ellis Says:

    La Vino rocks. And I know it’s weird, but I love have the place smells, too. I guess it’s the meat market. Good steaks there, too.

  29. 2thdoc Says:

    Enjoy the rest of the weekend Gregg. I’ll keep an eye on Farley for you so he doesn’t cuss out anyone tonight.

  30. farley662 Says:

    I’ trying a new beer tonight. Miller High Life. Like the commercials with the fat dude. It’s not bad. I’m living the high life.

  31. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Gents, I’m outta here. I’m going to plant myself in front of the Tube and enjoy some basketball. Unless, of course, news break. Otherwise, I’ll catch up with you all tomorrow.

    My Final Four: Kansas, UCLA, Texas and North Carolina. UNC wins it all.

    BTW, how are the standings in our pool. I forgot the password and stuff and can’t get in.

  32. 2thdoc Says:

    nachos

  33. Gregg Ellis Says:

    How could I forget that. thanks.

  34. farley662 Says:

    Bird is 1st, draws 2nd, Braves 3rd, breb 4th, me 5th, GG 6th, 2th 10th, imagirl last. Why is she always under a group of guys?

  35. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Fortunately, all four of my final 4 teams are alive. Go Heels!

  36. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Oh, and nice job on 10,000 hits, Farley. I don’t know if that’s awesome or sick. LOL!

  37. farley662 Says:

    3 outta 4 for me. UT was my champion. Tennessee that is. I’m boned!

  38. farley662 Says:

    That’s comments big daddy. Almost 50,000 hits. I need a raise. The Journal should be paying me!

  39. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I meant comments.

  40. farley662 Says:

    I know. I’m gonna put down the computer and pick up the beer! Go Somebody!

  41. Top Posts « WordPress.com Says:

    […] Were more players involved? Noticeably missing from Saturday’s spring game were Rodney Prince, Jamon Hughes and Anthony Johnson. I asked […] […]

  42. farley662 Says:

    That boy Mata-Real from UCLA is one ugly SOB!

  43. 2thdoc Says:

    Steven Hill from Arkansas would disagree.

  44. farley662 Says:

    Don’t get me started on that fella 2th! Crackas and headbands don’t mix!

  45. 2thdoc Says:

    Willie McGee also thinks you are way off

  46. farley662 Says:

    Willie was good looking, in a Close Encounters sort of way.

  47. angryxtian Says:

    Those librals jus love there drugs!

  48. Braves Dawg Says:

    Could you be anymore random?

  49. farley662 Says:

    I’m a “librals” and I love loritabs. Does that count?

  50. nabhi Says:

    angryxtian — Most of the mj farmers that I knew in Kentucky were card-carrying GOP’ers.
    Oh, yeah, and how ’bout that “libral” Rush Limbaugh?

    Anyway, I hate to hear about this kind of stuff happening at MSU. Croom seems to be really trying to run the right kind of program and recruit the right kind of people. Still, people make dumb choices and far too seldom consider how their lack of judgement impacts others.

  51. Doctor de diente Says:

    michael Jordan was a farmer?

  52. nabhi Says:

    No, he was farmed. Remember — the Birmingham Barons!:)
    But the “other” mj (i.e., marijuana) is the number ine cash crop in KY. Their jelly is also a big industry. Slick business.

Leave a Reply

