Stansbury named COY finalist


Mississippi State coach Rick Stansbury is one of five national finalists for the 2007-08 Clair Bee Coach of the Year Award.

The award will be presented this week at the NCAA Final Four in San Antonio. The other finalists are Mark Few of Gonzaga, Stanford’s Trent Johnson, Oregon’s Ernie Kent, and Bob McKillop from Davidson College.

The selection committee is comprised of Dan Beebe, Jay Bilas, Dave Gavitt, Bob Hammel, Bob Knight, Pete Newell, Billy Packer, Dean Smith, and Dick Vitale.


7 Responses to “Stansbury named COY finalist”

  1. jaypajarosms Says:

    That’s a nice honor, I guess. The list includes only one coach whose team was in the Elite 8.

    Never heard of that award.

  2. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I hadn’t heard of it before. But I thought the selection committee was quite impressive.

  3. fun2bmaroon Says:

    The trophy was named after Aunt Bea Taylor, of Andy Griffith fame….

  4. jaypajarosms Says:

    No, no, no. It’s named after Bea Arthur of Golden Girls fame.

  5. warbirdz44 Says:

    Davidson coach will win.

  6. 1msucub Says:

    Idiots. Clair invented the spelling bee. Sheesh!

  7. fun2bmaroon Says:

    Yeah, idiot, and the bee stung Clair’s ass…..

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: