Is Gordon really leaving for the NBA?

by

That’s what he told Foxsports.com.

But oddly enough, he hasn’t returned text messages or phone calls since last week. And trust me, I’ve tried countless times.

So, I’ll make the attempt again today to reach him, hopefully with more luck.

He did tell the site he won’t sign with an agent just yet in case he gets hurt.

27 Responses to “Is Gordon really leaving for the NBA?”

  1. Jamont Gordon To Declare For NBA Draft - Mississippi State Sports Blog Says:

    […] Gregg Ellis and Kyle Veazey have tried to confirm this story with Gordon, but he hasn’t returned their […]

  2. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I understand that guys want to live out there dreams and play in “The League” but in Jamont’s case I think school is his best option. He doesn’t handle good enought to play the point, can’t shoot good enought to play a two, and not tall enough to play the three. Stay in school J-money.

  3. jcdawgman18 Says:

    He was playing ball with the guys at Sanderson yesterday afternoon. I think he is just tired of dealing with school, as in schoolwork. Some folks act like that’s unusual, but NOBODY enjoys schoolwork. People enjoy the social aspect of college, which I believe Jamont loves. Who wouldn’t want to be the big man on campus? In the end, even if he declares I think we have a very good shot at seeing him come back.

  4. jaybirdms Says:

    He says he had heard he will be a first round pick. Funny that I haven’t heard that.

  5. rebelnate Says:

    Who do you get your information from bird?

    Who is letting you know he is not a first round pick?

  6. jaybirdms Says:

    No. 16 in the second round

    http://www.draftexpress.com/nba-mock-draft/2008/

    No 52 overall

    http://www.nbadraft.net/

  7. bedgood Says:

    The Fox report says in the last paragraph that he has heard he could be a first round pick. I also read in another article that he has heard that from the NBA committee also. I don’t see it.

  8. rebelnate Says:

    You guys probably know more than those overpaid professional scouts that do it for a living anyway.

  9. jaybirdms Says:

    I’ve got a couple of links in a comment above, nate. GG needs to approve it, because wordpress thinks its spam.

    Both say he is a mid second round selection.

  10. bdog13 Says:

    I have given up on trying to figure out what is going on in Starkville. I have more important things to worry about. I am signing with the military this week so I will not be able to keep up with things for a while. The baseball team is so bad I thought I would sign up to get away for a while.

  11. rebelnate Says:

    What branch?

  12. bdog13 Says:

    Army Reserve, I figured that was my best option. I can still teach and I wont be away from my wife as much.

  13. jaybirdms Says:

    Well, bdog, the baseball team has almost made me sign up for the insane aylum. To each his own, I guess.

    I’m about like you with the Jamont thing. If he goes, fine. If he stays, fine.

  14. rebelnate Says:

    What is a aylum?

  15. jaybirdms Says:

    It’s usually where they put rebuls.

  16. jaybirdms Says:

    Thanks for approving my comment above, GG.

  17. bigdraws Says:

    bdog, if you signed up in Tupelo. I probably know the guy you talked too.

  18. rebelnate Says:

    Oh o.k. bird just checking.

  19. bdog13 Says:

    Who is the guy you know? I havent signed yet, going tomorrow, but I have talked to them several times so that my wife and I knew what exactly was going on.

  20. bigdraws Says:

    The guy I know is a recruiter for the army national guard. Sgt. Heath McArthur. Their office is located out by the mall.

  21. bdog13 Says:

    Thats not who I was dealing with but I have received a call from him about a month ago because I was considering the guard also.

  22. bigdraws Says:

    Good luck man.

  23. bdog13 Says:

    Thanks

  24. imabulldog Says:

    I think he is going, I didnt before but I do now. That old bulldog gut feeling

  25. theconquistador2 Says:

    I think he’s gone….overseas

  26. theconquistador2 Says:

    I got this off of Rivals.com (they’re always right!)

    “Mississippi State guard Jamont Gordon told Rivals.com Monday night that he intends to pass up his senior season and enter the NBA Draft.”

  27. bdog13 Says:

    Yeah the way I see it is Gordon will probably end up in the same place as me, and I will probably be getting paid more in the military.

Leave a Reply

