Then there were nine

by

The SEC baseball season is down to nine games for Mississippi State, with series at Auburn and LSU before returning home to battle Arkansas.

Currently, the Bulldogs have just six SEC wins and are on the verge of missing the SEC tournament for the third time in five years.

I talked with pitcher Justin Pigott on Tuesday night, and he said he feels MSU has to go 8-1 to get in. That’s a tall task. What about you guys? Can it be done and if so, how may wins will it take?

Now for some reading . . .
• The Bulldogs aren’t eliminated just yet.
• Here’s an SEC notebook that looks at both Ole Miss and MSU.

38 Responses to “Then there were nine”

  1. jaybirdms Says:

    Its about time you posted something, GG. You stuck line getting your tag renewed all day yesterday?

  2. jaybirdms Says:

    *stuck in line*

  3. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Hardly, birds. They won’t let you renew early.

  4. theconquistador2 Says:

    Not gonna happen. For us to go 8-1 means that we’ll have to sweep two of the next three series. Again, not gonna happen. It’s sad that our “norm” over the past several years has been sitting at home come SEC Tourney time. Oh how we have fallen. 😦

  5. jaybirdms Says:

    I knew there was some reason I always waited until about April 10 to renew my tag that expired in March.

    I think we will be fortunate to go 5-4, much less 8-1.

  6. bigdraws Says:

    That makes a lot of since. They make you drive downtown with an expired tag. I don’t know if we’ll make it or not. But there’s no way we go 8-1.

  7. cpdawg Says:

    there is absolutely no way we go 8-1 to finish out. The sooner the season ends the better off we will be

  8. farley662 Says:

    You heard anything about a MSU hockey team playing this fall GG?

  9. jaybirdms Says:

    GG, liver and onions??? Seriously???

    http://djfoodblog.wordpress.com/2008/04/29/first-course/#comments

  10. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I know, birds. Strange. I like strange and different kinds of dishes. No bugs, though.

  11. Gregg Ellis Says:

    No hockey, Farley. I guess all hockey fans will have to just go with the River Kings.

  12. bigdraws Says:

    When I lived at ICC they would have it for supper some times GG. Maybe you could steal a student ID or something. I like em better fried anyways. Connies has prolly the best in town. And that Chevron in West Point on the way back from MSU always has em. Nothing like beer, livers, and hot sauce to pass the time for the ride home.

  13. 83dawg Says:

    Farley
    There is a club level hockey team at MSU starting up that is planning to play in Tupelo next fall. My daughter found information about it on Facebook.

  14. bedgood Says:

    We will be eliminated by Monday and then we will sweep LSU and Arkansas, which I guess I be at both series.

    If anybody is coming to the Box next weekend, let me know. I would like to sit in some maroon. BTW, incase nobody knows, LSU is building a new baseball stadium and they only have 3 games left, with us. Fitting how that happened.

  15. farley662 Says:

    That’s what I was thinking 83dawg. There are other SEC teams going to play as well.

  16. 83dawg Says:

    There was a list of other schools in the southeast that would be participating, there were some SEC schools as well, but not all of them. The group name on Facebook is Bulldog Ice Hockey.

  17. farley662 Says:

    I just checked it out. I’m excited about it. I think I may the only hockey fan on here.

  18. bigdraws Says:

    I’m not a hockey fan, but I could get with this definatly.

  19. 83dawg Says:

    Not hardly. I love hockey, we go to Nashville at least once a year to see the Predators. My daughter would rather go to a hockey game than any other type of game. We found Miss. State hockey Nike t-shirts on the MSU bookstore site. Had to buy three of them.

  20. bigdraws Says:

    I saw those, but didn’t think anything of it.

  21. thespear Says:

    If they have hockey fights at the college level, then i will become a fan!

  22. farley662 Says:

    Cow tongues on the ice after goals!

  23. bigdraws Says:

    Throw hot hands out there.

  24. farley662 Says:

    And, you can ring cowbells at hockey games. They do at the Riverkings games.

  25. farley662 Says:

    This could be the most excited I’ve been about State sports in awhile!

  26. bigdraws Says:

    I don’t know, I was pretty excited when we had a chance to beat Memphis last month.

  27. farley662 Says:

    That seems like forever ago. Ok, post basketball season then.

  28. bigdraws Says:

    The funny thing is, GG will have this in the paper tomorrow on his way to rack up another award.

  29. farley662 Says:

    Yup. He’s all for getting the scoop.

  30. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Sorry, guys. Not keeping up with the club level sports these days. However, I’d go to the games. Kinda miss the T-Rex. Entertaining stuff.

  31. farley662 Says:

    Gonna get drunk and harass the Bama goalie when they come to town! You game?

  32. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Game.

  33. bigdraws Says:

    Much like the T-Rex I’m afraid the Mudcats are on their way out. And that’s a shame. Farley took me to my first game this year. I really enjoyed it. I even went back last week.

  34. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I haven’t been to a game this year, but I enjoyed the ones I went to last year. I guess the market just isn’t big enough to support a pro team, especially with Mississippi State and Ole Miss competing for the same entertainment dollar.

  35. bigdraws Says:

    Must be. The kids seem to love it, if you can just get the parents to take them. Plus, $5 24 oz. beer isn’t too bad for a sporting event.

  36. Braves Dawg Says:

    I still say if they adjusted the ticket prices for the kids more people would come.

  37. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I agree draws. $10 for kids.

  38. chuanwei Says:

    ========
    ========

    IF YOU NEED A BLOG, DONT FORGET TO SEE HERE: http://www.leoxa.com/
    (The themes is so beautiful & also able to place adsense)

    ========
    ========
    many people have moved from other blog to Leoxa.com blog because the themes is very beautiful

Leave a Reply

