Quinton Wesley’s lawyer speaks

by

Jay Perry, the Starkville-based lawyer who represented Quinton Wesley, was finally able to catch his breath and talk a little about the shooting incident and all that his client is going through.

But let me say one thing . . . I think every 15-17 year-old kid should have to go set through a hearing like I witnessed today. It’s eye-opening and it would probably make kids think twice about their actions.

I can tell you that Mike Brown was very fearful of the sentencing, to the point I thought he was going to pass out. I’ve never seen a man his size so scared.

Anyway, here is what Jay had to say:
“Quinton had a complete lapse in judgment. I want to underscore that at no time was there any attempt to harm anyone. Instead, in the heat of the moment Quinton made a split second decision that not only affected him but his family, teammates, coaches, classmates, friends, administrators, and fans.  He is truly sorry and offers his heartfelt apology to all those people his actions affected. He is incredibly grateful to have another opportunity. He is thankful to be with his family and looks forward to continuing his education somewhere.”

17 Responses to “Quinton Wesley’s lawyer speaks”

  1. jaybirdms Says:

    I wish the best for the two of them. I hope that they have learned their lesson. All too often, stuff like this is simply a sign of things to come.

  2. thespear Says:

    bulldogs fairing well in jeopardy. Joey Beachum, a senior Bulldog from Saltillo, advanced today as a semifinalist with a total of $27,000 on jeopardy’s college edition

  3. Top Posts « WordPress.com Says:

    […] Quinton Wesley’s lawyer speaks Jay Perry, the Starkville-based lawyer who represented Quinton Wesley, was finally able to catch his breath and talk a […] […]

  4. bigdraws Says:

    Dawgs won last night 4-3. The schedule says that two of our games are on TV this weekend.

  5. jaybirdms Says:

    Those will be pre-empted for coverage from various t-ball games around the area.

  6. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    GG, I finally got the Wii. Bought the Tiger Woods 08. I can play golf all over the world in any weather now and I’m loving it.

  7. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I heard the golf is awesome.

  8. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I got it set up so you have to play standing up. If I try to swing with two hands ii slice just like my real golf game. The one arm swing works much better. Looks like softball is gonna be a washout tonight so I’m playing all evening.

  9. imabulldog Says:

    what up boyzzzzzz!

    Haven’t been around in a week, so figured I’d comment. I’ve been checkin in here and there though.

    Chris the tiger game is pretty cool. I’ve been hooked on the new Mario Kart and call of duty 4- the modern warfare game- incredible!

    Hope these guys can make something of their lives now, considering they may never play again

  10. cnd46 Says:

    I hope they will learn from this and improve their lives. Gregg, how was the tornado this morning?

  11. Gregg Ellis Says:

    From what I’m told, scary. I was driving back from Jackson during the chaos. From the pictures I’ve seen, we’re lucky.

  12. cajundawg Says:

    I really feel for these 2… I don’t think Coach Croom acted too harshly as they do deserve to ‘reap what they have sown’ but that doesn’t mean it is the end of their life! I pray that all goes well with them from this point forward and that this incident has ‘scared’ them straight! Good luck Mr Wesley and Mr Brown, my prayers are with you!

  13. cnd46 Says:

    We are getting it now, Some reports north of Jasper and T-town

  14. topdog58 Says:

    Coach Croom didn’t have to act at all. The 2 idiots brought a gun on campus and then decided to wave it around, thus they were expelled and charged criminally. Croom didn’t have to make any kind of decision.

    These 2 idiots are just lucky they won’t be playing football in the penal league along with Dontae and Pig.

  15. theconquistador2 Says:

    Gregg,

    This isn’t a MSU question but a THS question. I grew up in Tupelo and now live in the Jackson area, but I have always wondered why Tupelo High has not built a new baseball field at the high school. Any idea?

  16. dc31 Says:

    From ESPN.com today

    A scoring combo guard, Gordon is very tough to keep out of the lane. He has an NBA body, is an excellent rebounder and can play some point. However, he commits a high rate of turnovers and is just a so-so perimeter shooter. Gordon’s strong performance against Memphis in the NCAA tournament helped his stock, but it’s unlikely that he cracks the first round. Look for him to return to school

  17. Gregg Ellis Says:

    the conqluistador, I think the answer is money and space. They’ve already got an OK facility, plus they just built the indoor batting cage and locker room.

    Now, they have recently built a softball complex on campus.

Leave a Reply

