Pat Casey rumor; just two SEC teams hosting

by

OK. I admit I thought it was a long shot that Oregon State coach Pat Casey would consider coming to Mississippi State.

Now, though, I’m not so sure. Check out this blog, which mentions the MSU vacancy. And remember, Greg Byrne and Casey worked together at Oregon State for a few years.

Also, what’s up with just two SEC teams hosting a regional? That’s ridiculous. I say four should host every year. Oh well, what do I know.

You guys agree or disagree?

16 Responses to “Pat Casey rumor; just two SEC teams hosting”

  1. bigdraws Says:

    You gotta love the “gerald” guy blasting him for being immoral for considering another job.

  2. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Yeah. How dare someone ever consider a new job. Of course, if Sly or Rick were to do the same, you’d see it here too.

  3. bigdraws Says:

    Oh, no doubt. It’s amazing how people think their college is somehow different than any other place in the country. The guy’s been there for 15 years and he has accomplished a lot. Maybe all he can accomplish. I’m sure it’s a real nice park and the fans probably love it. But the SEC is the premier baseball conference in the country, in my opinion. And I’ll bet the weather’s better for most of the year too.

  4. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I agree. I’m still stunned only two SEC teams are hosting.

  5. bigdraws Says:

    By the way, I really enjoyed your article yesterday. Though that was pretty cool. Nonblogreaders prolly didn’t get it, but I liked it.

  6. bigdraws Says:

    Who else did you think would get it, Florida or Vandy? I didn’t think too much about it. It was a down year in the SEC.

  7. gmvbham7 Says:

    Interesting reading on Casey. It is really hard for me to think he would come to Mississippi from Oregon but what do I know. Anybody know the amount of his buyout? Is it more than Cohen’s? I still prefer Cohen for a lot of different reasons but no question Casey is a great coach.

  8. Shane Says:

    Two sites hosting – confirmation that the SEC is in a down year.

  9. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Thanks, draws. Was looking for a different way to highlight the sports year.

    I thought either Vandy, Alabama or Kentucky would get a bid. And I’m still not sold that it was a “down” year. Perhaps a little.

  10. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Any Veterans out there?

    If so, all I can simply say is, “THANKS!”

  11. statefanatolemiss Says:

    Great find GG. I hope Casey is our man. He has always been my first choice with Cohen being a close second.

    I think it says alot about our program that we are considered in the running for a coach that has won the last two national championships. The fact that his name is mentioned on their blog says alot. I think Byrne has called him and he is interested….or……he is playing for even more money from Oregon State.

    If he had even considered leaving his current job, then I think that is a wonderful compliment to our program.

  12. bigdraws Says:

    Special thanks to JB, the vets, and current military personel. Thanks for everything.

  13. nashdawg Says:

    Ahhh…I am willing to quarantee that something is in the works. Too many ties to Casey for him not to be considering the warm & sunny South,… Along with the opportunity to coach at one of the NCAA’s premier baseball program.
    Great article yesterday, double g-man and thanks for the blogs on this Memorial Day. Like I said, “you’re the man with the inside info!”

  14. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Thanks Draws for remembering, but the ones that deserves the recognition and thanks are the ones that paid the ultimate sacrifice and their families they left behind. Also those POW/MIA that are still that are still out there somewhere. They are not forgotten.

    I extend my thanks to those, your dad, Draws, and all the vet and current military. This wonderful and blessed country of ours that we all enjoy and the freedom that it offers. God Bless America and all you wonderful folks. Enjoy this day. Jimmy

  15. Gregg Ellis Says:

    You too Jimmy! It’s indeed a special day for my family.

  16. thespear Says:

    maybe a down year, but nine sec teams are in, i believe that ties the record…

Leave a Reply

