Varnado announces he is leaving

by

No. Not Jarvis. Just his dad, Winston.

Tomorrow, West Point High School will announce Winston Varnado as its new boys’ basketball coach. He replaces Thomas Brooks, who left for the same position at Kosciusko.

The elder Varnado comes to Mississippi after a successful career at Haywood High School in Brownsville, Tenn., where he coached his son, the reigning SEC defensive player of the year who led the nation with 157 blocks.

Great move on both fronts. The Green Wave gets a proven coach, and the coach will be much closer to Starkville. With gas prices the way they are, I say that’s a good move.

22 Responses to “Varnado announces he is leaving”

  1. jcdawgman18 Says:

    Gregg, you have to stop this. My heart stopped momentarily when I read that headline. Not cool.

  2. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Sorry. I have to admit I chuckled when writing the headline.

  3. jaybirdms Says:

    EVIL!!!

  4. West Point Hires Varnado « Inside NeMiss High School Sports Says:

    […] all you MSU fans, be glad I didn’t write a headline like this one. Gregg, you’re wrong for […]

  5. theconquistador2 Says:

    Not funny. I literally sank in my chair when I read the headline.

  6. warbirdz44 Says:

    Gregg, you heartless son of a…. My heart sunk to my stomach when I read that headline.

  7. 2thdoc Says:

    Dang you GG. I’m still nervous and it’s not even Jarvis.

  8. 2thdoc Says:

    Why not follow it up with “Croom Steps Down…out of the golf cart this weekend after deciding to walk 18 holes.”

  9. bradlocke Says:

    HILARIOUS!!! HA! … HA! … HA!

  10. Gregg Ellis Says:

    That’s a good one, 2thdoc. I’ll have to remember that one. LOL!

  11. whitmack Says:

    Gregg, you have got to realize how fragile we are right now……. dang.

  12. Shane Says:

    A kick right to your nuts, Gregg.

  13. mmsdawg Says:

    gg…that was just WRONG!!!!

  14. dawgface52 Says:

    News must be slow to have to resort to these tricks. Simply BS.

  15. dadawg Says:

    Just trying to keep the hit numbers up, huh? It worked…

  16. thespear Says:

    Gregg, that was wrong on so many levels……

  17. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Just keeping you guys on your toes. Obviously, football can’t get here quick eough.

  18. luckydog20 Says:

    Damnit Gregg,
    That crap is not funny

  19. bigdraws Says:

    No more grilling tips for you!!!!!

  20. bigdraws Says:

    Actually, I read that somewhere else today and thought it was a joke. How ironic!!

  21. ezfreeze Says:

    Well… If you are just getting your coffee and feeling kinda groggy… Just read Gregg’s headlines and almost crap your pants… LOL

    Not really the crap my pants thing… But I am still jittery and I haven’t had a sip of my coffee yet…

  22. hailstate Says:

    One sick puppy, every body’s reaction just illustrates our view of MSU athletics tenuous state.

Leave a Reply

