How about a Jamont Gordon update?

by

I just got back from a track & field press conference in Starkville, and awaiting me in my email was this AP story on Jamont Gordon.

Interesting, to say the least. So, I’ll share, especially considering he hasn’t been the world’s best in recent weeks at returning calls.

By MIKE CRANSTON
AP Sports Writer
CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Jamont Gordon is ready for the NBA, even if he´s not a first-round draft pick.
The Mississippi State guard said Wednesday that he´ll likely stay in the draft even if he knows he´ll slip into the second round and not receive a guaranteed contract.
“I´m pretty much in,” Gordon said after a pre-draft workout with the Charlotte Bobcats. “If worst comes to worst and I have to go back, I´ll go back.”
Gordon declared for the draft in April but did not hire an agent, allowing him to withdraw from the draft by June 16 and return to school for his senior season. But Gordon seemed eager Wednesday to move on to the NBA, even if he has to try to fight for a roster spot as a second-round pick. First-round picks get guaranteed two-year contracts.
“I´ll probably stay in. That would be all right with me,” Gordon said. “I know I´ll work hard and get me a (roster) spot.”
Gordon said he has workouts scheduled with the Cleveland Cavaliers on Thursday and the Los Angeles Clippers Tuesday.
Gordon drew criticism for skipping last week´s pre-draft camp in Orlando, wasting a chance to showcase his skills in front of representatives from every NBA team.
“Just me and a couple of my people decided I shouldn´t go,” Gordon explained. “They say it wasn´t a big deal. I don´t think it was a big deal that I wasn´t there, but it seemed like it was. I just made a decision that I wasn´t going to go down there. I just wanted to get ready for my workouts and everything.”
While the 6-foot-4 Gordon averaged 17.2 points per game last season and was an all-Southeastern Conference selection, there are questions about whether he has the passing skills to be a point guard in the NBA. He´s smaller than most shooting guards.
But Gordon said he learned a lot from new Bobcats coach Larry Brown, who ran Wednesday´s workout, and is looking forward to proving himself.
“I think I´ll be all right,” Gordon said. “I didn´t go to the (pre-draft camp) or nothing, but my workouts are going good. I think I´ll still make it in that draft somewhere.”
27 Responses to “How about a Jamont Gordon update?”

  1. bigdraws Says:

    I’m fearing he’s listening to some idiots. I hope he’s not. I wish no ill will. Good luck Jamont. Enjoyed having you as a Bulldog.

  2. farley662 Says:

    Bastard!

  3. bigdraws Says:

    LOL!!!

  4. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Man, Farley. You finally get into basketball and then have to suffer through all the turmoil. Bad timing, bro.

  5. farley662 Says:

    Ball hogging SOB can go ride the pine in the NBA. Give Ravern the damn ball!

  6. bigdraws Says:

    I’m not worried a bit. We roll em out, we roll em in. Every year people gripe about Stansbury, and every year he is a contender for the west. I hope fans jump ship. That way I can keep my season tickets.

  7. farley662 Says:

    I hope so too so tupelodent will and I can piggy back off of 2th.

  8. bigdraws Says:

    Tupelodent from what I can tell, is in no danger of getting bumped out. Mine are barely in the building.

  9. 2thdoc Says:

    Maybe our offense will surprise some people with a new set of hungry guys with an opportunity to show a little more than waiting for Gordon to drive and dish. Tickets might even be harder to come by this year.

  10. jaybirdms Says:

    “Just me and a couple of my people decided I shouldn´t go,” Gordon explained.

    There you go JG. A couple of your homies told you not to showcase your talents against quality competition. Smart move. (sarcasm)

    You need to show your skills as much as you can. Next time I’m in europe, I’ll watch you play.

  11. everydawghashisday Says:

    Jamont Gordon… the new Mario Austin

  12. bigdraws Says:

    Is Turkey or Iran considered Europe too?

  13. bigdraws Says:

    Maybe he can really make a name for himself in The Greater Himalayan Area.

  14. jaybirdms Says:

    I hear those Tibetans can really ball.

  15. Braves Dawg Says:

    The Winnipeg Wannabe’s.

  16. warbirdz44 Says:

    Wow, I see everyone has turned on him. Way to go guys. I, personally, hope he does get drafted and excels in the NBA. I’ll still be rooting for him when he goes pro. If he feels that this is the right decision for him and his family, more power to him and I wish him all the best.

  17. jaybirdms Says:

    I wish him all the luck in the world. He’s gonna need it. I don’t care if he leaves or not. I just think he’s making a bad decision. Since I’m an NBA scout and all.

  18. Gregg Ellis Says:

    You a busy man, birds. LOL!

  19. everydawghashisday Says:

    I still support him and wish him well, just think that its a bad idea for him to leave in the first place, much less not go to that camp last week to atleast try to make himself look better. But since thats his plan, I do wish him well in it.

  20. bigdraws Says:

    I thought that’s pretty much what everybody was saying.

  21. tupelodog14 Says:

    Would he even be eligible if he came back?? Academic standard require that you pass atleast 6 hrs. per semester and can’t be made up during the summer…

  22. msudawg21 Says:

    it sounds like everyone is turning on jamont. he gave us 3 good yrs and now that he decided to try to make him some money we turn on him? does it matter whether he makes it to the nba or plas overseas? i know people say he is the new mario austin but i can almost bet that mario austin has way more money than we do. making 300,000 thousand tax free for 6 months overseas sounds good to me. i hope he makes it on a nba roster but if he does end u playing overseas atleast he still making money but being on the selfish side i would like to see him come back to state 1 more yr. our team wont be that good. i just dont trust raven johnson or phil turner. without jamont we really dont have a player who can create and get his own shot. i dont see barry or jarvis getting 20 points per game and as much as i hate to say it, we are gonna miss ben and his hustle and spot up shooting from the 3

  23. bigdraws Says:

    For the last time you two. Nobody is turning on Jamont. We just think he’s listening to the wrong folks. I wish him the best.

  24. everydawghashisday Says:

    So who does everyone think is gonna end up playing point guard for us this season after JG is gone? Stewart, Johnson, Turner or possibly a freshman coming in?

  25. bigdraws Says:

    I think Ravern could get a shot before its over with. What do I know though?

  26. everydawghashisday Says:

    I think he looked promising (in his limited time last year). I think Stewart would be sufficient, but if someone else can step up and outdo him then Im all for it. I think Benock will step up and have a good shooting year. Hopefully some of our new guys will do well also….

  27. Cheap Jack3d Says:

    Cheap Jack3d…

    […]How about a Jamont Gordon update? « Inside Mississippi State Sports with Brad Locke[…]…

Leave a Reply

