What MSU needs

by

When  you look at the athletic department at Mississippi State, what do you feel is more importat.

A. Basketball Practice Facility
B. Humphrey Coliesum Expansion
C. Scott Field Expansion

If you think all three are pressing, rate the order.

26 Responses to “What MSU needs”

  1. Braves Dawg Says:

    A suppose I would go with A. I see no need to expand Scott Field until we can start selling out multiple games during the season. If we can develop some consistent winning seasons for the football, then hopefully the lack of seating will be a good problem to have.

  2. Braves Dawg Says:

    A suppose I would go with A. I see no need to expand Scott Field until we can start selling out multiple games during the season. If we can develop some consistent winning seasons for the football, then hopefully the lack of seating will be a good problem to have.

  3. jcdawgman18 Says:

    I think you got them in order right there. Then again, C may pass B if we have the season I believe we will.
    Bowling in the North end zone would be huge. But we need to sell out this year, EVERY GAME, and win.

  4. bigdraws Says:

    I believe you’ve got it in the right order GG. A,B, and C. BB practice facility is a NEED right now. We sell the hump out but it was only filled up a couple of times this year. Lack of seats causes bigger donations by those on the fringe. FB should absolutly be on the backburner. If we expand, and return to our losing ways. What a waste of money that will be. I’d honestly like to see the grandstand at DNF expanded before the fb stadium. If I got the opportunity to buy chairbacks for bb I’d swipe em up in a heartbeat.

  5. BirdZ! Says:

    A, C, then B. They’ve said before that expaning the Hump would take an obscene amount of money. I don’t see A or C getting done before 2011 or 2012.

    Option D: Expand Dudy Noble to hold more chairbacks.

  6. bigdraws Says:

    2012 would be too late Bird. Darren Daulton said that was the year of Armegeddon.

  7. BirdZ! Says:

    sorry for stepping on your idea, draws. I should have refreshed sooner.

  8. BirdZ! Says:

    LOL!!!

  9. BirdZ! Says:

    Will football season be over by Armageddon that year?

  10. 2thdoc Says:

    I would say A, C, then B only because of all of the empty seats at the Hump during soldout year. A true ticket exchange working properly might fix it and still bring in money for State but until people start showing up I wouldn’t change it right now. The Hump is a great venue to watch a game.

  11. theconquistador2 Says:

    A, B, D and a distant C (at least for now). .

    D: Dudy Noble. Too many new stadiums are going up for us not to make some upgrades.

  12. BirdZ! Says:

    “at the conclusion of the Mayan calendar on Dec. 21, 2012, at 11:11 a.m.”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darren_Daulton

    Whew!!! The 2012 football season is safe.

  13. Braves Dawg Says:

    Bird, is that like what happened on Indy IV?

  14. CBdawg Says:

    A, D, B, C.

    We definitely need a basketball practice facitity. I love the idea of expanding Dudy Noble, so that we can continue to have crowds among the biggest in the country. I also like the idea of a bigger Hump, but some games werent even close to selling out this year, so I would give it less priority. I would love to NEED to expand Scott Field, but we rarely sell out. I think another good year or two and that will be a main concern, and would also help us get some big name recruits who want to play in a bigger stadium.

  15. BirdZ! Says:

    Haven’t seen it yet, braves. May try to go catch it this weekend, if its still on.

  16. dawgbones Says:

    Bigdraws,
    You should call Judy Hillhouse at the Bulldog Club and give her your name and interest in chairbacks for baseball if you are serious. Some pop up from time to time. I went from two to four 2 years ago as some came open. I gave up my old two and got four togther (unbelievably in the same section). They will cost you a one time fee of a thousand bucks a seat but after that you just buy the season tickets.

  17. bigdraws Says:

    Thanks DB. I had always been told that you couldn’t get em, or it was about impossible. I’ll check into that. Thanks.

  18. mrc188 Says:

    1. Hump expansion
    2. Scott Field
    3. Basketball practice facility

    The first two can result in higher revenues in the future. While you can make an indirect case for the bball facility, I think this is a prime example of how college athletics have gotten totally out of control.

  19. jcdawgman18 Says:

    If you don’t do number 3 first, you won’t have to do number 1. You cannot get players without a practice facility.

  20. bigdraws Says:

    I like this guys survey also.

    http://jaybirdms.wordpress.com/

  21. BirdZ! Says:

    Thx for the plug, draws.

  22. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Wow, BirdZ. Good stuff on your blog.

  23. rebelnate Says:

    Who is NW Louisiana? When did we play them?

  24. BirdZ! Says:

    Northwestern State. I’ll fix it.

  25. Gregg Ellis Says:

    We knew what you meant, Birdz.

  26. s084swd Says:

    Right now, I think the basketball practice facility is most important. It’s something that’s really needed sooner than later. It would really help both the men’s and women’s teams in more ways than one. I read where Greg Byrne said that the cost would be in the range of six to twelve million. I think it’s all about meeting our needs. If we can build what we need in a basketball practice facility for six million, that’s great. But if it takes ten, then that’s fine too. I think we need to focus on strictly meeting our needs and doing what it takes. I know Rick Stansbury talked about that a couple seasons ago. He talked about how there was a need for a practice facility and I think we need to get started on it as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

