Two preachers and a sportswriter go fishing . . .

by

Sounds like a good joke, right. Well, sorry. There is no punch line.

Early this morning, and I mean early, my preacher (Bryan), a visiting preacher from Auburn (Rusty) and myself ventured out to a lake in Shannon (to be more exact, somewhere out in the middle of nowhere, but very scenic) for some bass fishing.

Two of us actually caught fish. One of us, which will remain nameless, didn’t. Still, I had a great time and as I have mentioned before, I have discovered fishing it to be relaxing (catfish more than bass). And it should be noted it was the first time this nameless person had gone bass fishing.

So, I got to thinking about you guys. Fishing and yardwork are two of my stress release activities. What is yours?

98 Responses to “Two preachers and a sportswriter go fishing . . .”

  1. bb67 Says:

    fishing, cutting grass, grilling

  2. Gregg Ellis Says:

    bb67, those are my three and the order is cutting grass, grillling and fishing. I don’t know why, but I love to cut the grass.

  3. bb67 Says:

    you can think through and solve a bunch of problems cutting grass.

  4. bigdraws Says:

    Grilling, golfing, tailgating, and enjoying a nice cold one while doing each. No bream fishing GG? Getting a little late in the season for it, but when they’re biting it’s good fun.

  5. bigdraws Says:

    Also, it’s hard for me to enjoy cutting grass when it’s 97 degrees outside.

  6. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Enjoy bream. They make for good catfish bait.

    I’m taking the Auburn guy to Romies for lunch. I couldn’t think of anything “Tupelo” except for there. For you Tupelo guys, is there a place I’m missing?

    Starkville has the Veranda and Little Dooey’s. Oxford has Ajax and City Grocery. But what about Tupelo?

  7. bigdraws Says:

    LOL!! I hear ya. If you’re fishing for food can’t go wrong with the crappie though.

  8. bigdraws Says:

    I’ve been craving some Smith’s lately. Haven’t had that in awhile. You’ll never be full when you leave there.

  9. bigdraws Says:

    Of course, there’s always Ryan’s.

  10. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I haven’t been to Smith’s in years, but loved their grilled chicken. And I swear, every time I drive by Ryans, I laugh.

  11. CBdawg Says:

    My stress reliefs are running/working out or drinking beer and watching sports. And yea I know they are pretty much opposites, but they both work for me.

  12. BirdZ! Says:

    Connie’s Chicken Livers.

  13. bigdraws Says:

    And it never fails either. If my father-n-law’s in town. That’s exactly where he wants to eat.

  14. bigdraws Says:

    I’m thinking of boycotting Connie’s until I can get some mustard greens with those livers.

  15. bhamdawg Says:

    Mine would have to be golfing and drinking beer

  16. coldleftovers Says:

    The Orchard?

  17. bigdraws Says:

    “The Orchard?”

    They gotta lunch buffet? jk

  18. jcdawgman18 Says:

    Golf, video games (showing my age, lol), and watching sports.
    GG, don’t forget to throw Mugshots in the mix for Starkville restauarants.

  19. BirdZ! Says:

    draws, I doubt the Aster’s boys will be adding mustard greens in the near future. You’ll get tired of driving to WP for those at the Chevron.

  20. bigdraws Says:

    Bird, you can get a bucket at Todd’s for $1.50, and a can of greens for $1.00.

  21. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I haven’t been fishing in a couple of years but I do really enjoy it when I do go. Gotta agree with you GG, for some reason I love cutting grass too. Butt in order it would have to be, grilling, cutting grass, and golf. Like draws, cold beer goes with all three. And some Wii and beer is good too. By the way, does NASCAR have a game for the Wii.

  22. bb67 Says:

    I like to cook my own mustard greens. Love the way it makes the house smell. Got to have baked sweet potatoes with them with lots of butter.

  23. theconquistador2 Says:

    fishing, hunting, yard work, “something” with the wife and anything that invloves a cold one.

  24. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Yes, coldleftovers.

    I don’t do golf, not good for my religion. I love tennis and racquetball, but can’t find anyone to play racquetball with these days.

    And jc, you are right about Mugshots. Best hamburger ever, except for mine. Of course, it’s the bun that makes the difference in their case.

    Enjoying your Wii, Chris? The newness has worn off and I haven’t played in a couple of months. After rolling a perfect game in bowling, I figured I could only go downhill. I guess I need to find another game.

  25. bigdraws Says:

    And some pan fried okra, bb67.

  26. Gregg Ellis Says:

    love pan fried okra.

    Well, guys, it’s off to Romie’s. I couldn’t think of a better place. Oh well.

  27. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I don’t play as much Wii as I thought I would either. But the nephews love it. Even the one year old can try to play the baseball game.

  28. bb67 Says:

    I like okra any way it comes. The slicker the better.

  29. bigdraws Says:

    You gotta admit though. Pan fried much better than deep fried.

  30. bigdraws Says:

    Pickled is good too.

  31. bb67 Says:

    pickled okra don’t mess up the taste of beer

  32. bigdraws Says:

    Nope. Same as pickled eggs and pigs feet.

  33. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Love pickled okra in salads.

  34. BirdZ! Says:

    It’s rude to blog during lunch, GG. Where’s your manners?

  35. bb67 Says:

    I had left over black beans and rice

  36. bigdraws Says:

    leftover bbq and baked beans. Look out.

  37. BirdZ! Says:

    I had a turkey sammich and Oreo cookies. No milk to dip ’em in, though.

  38. bb67 Says:

    my beans had a big piece of dead pig in there

  39. bigdraws Says:

    My beans had a bunch of ground up cow in it.

  40. bleedmaroon Says:

    fishing, hunting, grilling…man im ready for fall.

  41. BirdZ! Says:

    How’s this for a stress releiver? Always brings a smile to my face.

  42. nabhi Says:

    Scuba diving. Yes, even here in west Texas. I tried fishing, but ended up just drowning bait.
    As a Baptist, I refer to diving as “extreme baptism.” Sounds a little more spiritual.
    Great things about scuba:
    – floating along when neutrally buoyant is like weightlessness
    – phone never rings
    – alwas new stuff to see and experience
    – breathing sounds like Darth Vader

  43. Gregg Ellis Says:

    It is rude, BirdZ. But, I was waiting on my party to arrive, so I thought I would chime in.

  44. bigdraws Says:

    What’d ya have?

  45. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I had grilled chicken fingers with purple hull peas, deviled eggs and homegrown tomatoes, and of course, cornbread.

    Chicken was a little dry, but nothing some blue cheese dressing couldn’t handle.

  46. bigdraws Says:

    My mom invited me to eat yesterday. Had some of the best fried green tomatoes you could imagine.

  47. BirdZ! Says:

    Late for a lunch meeting, maybe even more impolite than blogging at the dinner table. Maybe Miss Manners will know. Hey braves? You out there?

  48. bigdraws Says:

    I’ll tell ya what’s rude. A lunch meeting at Bonanza.

  49. BirdZ! Says:

    LOL!!!

  50. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I was a little early. I did have fried green tomatoes, even if by accident. I ordered homegrown tomatoes and they brought me fried green ones, instead. Never had one until today. A little tangy. Not bad.

  51. BirdZ! Says:

    “Never had one until today.”

    WHA???? (shakes head in total disbelief)

  52. bigdraws Says:

    Well. On to supper now. If the rain holds off, I’m grilling some salmon and veggies, with baked potatoe.

  53. Gregg Ellis Says:

    sorry. I’ll try any type of food

  54. bigdraws Says:

    I suggest the hog fryers at Todd’s then.

  55. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I haven’t been to Todd’s in quite some time.

  56. bigdraws Says:

    They’re in front of the frozen meat section. When you see them it will be quite apparent what they are.

  57. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I thought you meant Todd’s meat and three. LOL!

  58. bigdraws Says:

    Thought I meant what?

  59. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    Just had the bottom fall out up here. No grilling for me. Think I’m gonna go hang out with my boss and have a few. We do kind of a Boston Legal, Alan and Denny Crane, thing every couple weeks. Mostly cause his wife won’t yell at him if he’s drinking beer with me. At least not until after I leave. LOL

  60. bigdraws Says:

    I’m thinking of putting it off too. Wife is sick, and lildraws don’t care that much about eating anyways. Maybe a hamburger helper night.

  61. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I thought you meant Todd’s downtown, the lunch diner by the courthouse.

  62. bigdraws Says:

    Oh, I don’t know about that one. You had me confused a bit.

  63. maxdawg Says:

    Just found this. Even our mascot is getting a little respect.
    http://www.petside.com/news/top-ncaa-mascots-2.html

  64. bigdraws Says:

    Bama fan gets settled down…
    http://myespn.go.com/blogs/sec/0-1-19/Don-t-hate-on-Mississippi-State.html

  65. hokdog91 Says:

    Nothing beats playing several games of Madden with one of my boys to forget about problems!

  66. warbirdz44 Says:

    Lawrence Roberts has popped back up in the NBA. He’s on the kings summer league roster.

    http://www.nba.com/kings/news/Summer_League_Roster_2008.html

  67. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I’m glad to hear that Lawrence is back and playing again. One of my all time favorite bulldogs.

  68. warbirdz44 Says:

    Mine too, Chris. He is my all-time favorite bulldog in any sport, actually so I really hope he sticks on with the Kings.

    And as for Charles Rhodes, this says that he won’t be joining the Mavs because he’s pursuing another offer. I would assume that is Europe.

    http://mavsblog.dallasnews.com/archives/2008/07/lots-of-action-upcoming.html

  69. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Two Preachers and a Sports Writer going fishing: Just a line to leave Why Fishing Is Better Than Sex
    When you go fishing and you catch something, that’s good. If you’re making love and you catch something, that’s bad.

  70. bigdraws Says:

    LOL JB!!!

  71. Gregg Ellis Says:

    LOL, JB. That was good.

    Well guys, made the trip to Memphis today to visit with Farley, Mrs. Farley and the little man. What a precious kid. It was neat visiting with them, while at the same time, understanding I had never met any of them in person before today. But it felt we had known each other forever.

    I’ll blog more on our experience todaylater, and explain why I took my son too. He was glad he went, and for the reasons I wanted him too, which me me proud.

  72. bigdraws Says:

    I’m going up Saturday, and I can’t wait to see the baby. Please tell me it looks like her. PA better get comfortable. We’re not letting yall switch teams again.

  73. 2thdoc Says:

    Gregg, were you surprised at how soft spoken the outspoken Farley really is? I still can’t picture him getting mad and fired up over something. Glad yall finally got to meet.

  74. bigdraws Says:

    2th, when you first saw me I bet you didn’t think I sucked at golf either.

  75. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I didn’t know at all what to expect. Hospital visits are tough for me, because usually they don’t end well, at least in my case. So to go and visit someone that I had never met personally, was different. But, I also felt I knew Farley quite well through the blog and email exchanges.

    I think this whole experience has changed him. No. I know it has, because he said as much. It was truly amazing watching him with his little guy and the calming effect he had with Aedan. Certainly, this wasn’t the farley we all came to know and love over the last year.

    Suprised? Maybe. Now, if I hadn’t been reading his updates and seen how he’s changed, then I might have fallen out or fainted today after seeing how intact his emotions were. LOL!

    I’m just glad I went. And as I told them, looking at Aedan, you’d never know anything was wrong. He looks so healthy.

    And like my St. Jude visit during the Liberty Bowl, I left the hospital with a different perspective and appreciation for my own kids’ health. My son did, too.

  76. 2thdoc Says:

    Draws, the only thing that I knew was that no matter what anyone looked like, I had no room to talk about anyone’s golf game.

  77. farley662 Says:

    Thank you for the kind words GG. We had such a great time with you and your son today. It means so much to us to have visitors. It really helps us to make it through the day. Now, get your butt on the phone and get Wes Carroll and Croom up to Memphis!

  78. 2thdoc Says:

    Farley, Houston Nutt might visit if you’ll unlock the door when he gets there.

  79. bigdraws Says:

    Don’t count on Dickie Scruggs though. I heard he’s busy.

  80. methuselah1933 Says:

    pickled eggs and pigs feet.

    dank ole thusel go back to glades betr eat der no pkl egs pig ft

  81. 2thdoc Says:

    Patterson 4*, Skinner 3*, and Shumpert 3* commit to state on Saturday. Huge pick up with Patterson and now Rivals Top 25 has Croom all over it with recruiting this year. Come on aboard Mr. Bumphis to make this class possibly the best ever.

    2009 Rank Pos Ht/Wt Schools
    1 Patrick Patterson
    *Mississippi State commit*
    Macon (MS) Noxubee County WR 6-3/215 list
    Was a one-man team as a junior piling up 72 catches for 1,424 yards and 18 touchdowns.

    2 Kendrick Hardy
    Monticello (MS) Lawrence County RB 6-0/210 list
    Rushed for 2,103 yards and 29 touchdowns as a bruising junior.

    3 Fletcher Cox
    *Mississippi State commit*
    Yazoo City (MS) Yazoo City DE 6-4/240
    Mississippi State commit had 103 tackles and 11 sacks in 2007.

    4 Chad Bumphis
    Tupelo (MS) Tupelo WR 5-11/185 list
    Explosive athlete averaged over 20 yards per catch.

    5 Chris Smith
    *Mississippi State commit*
    Meridian (MS) Meridian WR 6-1/191
    In 2007, had over 50 catches and almost 900 yards receiving.

    6 Dennis Thames
    Louisville (MS) Louisville ATH 5-11/175 list
    Do-it-all athlete had over 1,600 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns while also collecting 93 tackles and five interceptions.

    7 Josh Boyd
    *Mississippi State commit*
    Philadelphia (MS) Philadelphia DT 6-3/275
    From his defensive line position, Boyd was able to amass a ridiculous 154 tackles as a junior.

    8 Tyler Russell
    *Mississippi State commit*
    Meridian (MS) Meridian QB 6-4/200
    Big-armed prospect threw for just under 2,500 yards in 2007.

    9 Kevin Norwood
    D’Iberville (MS) D’Iberville WR 6-3/180 list
    At 6-foot-3, Norwood has been timed at 4.5 in the 40.

    10 Cameron Lawrence
    *Mississippi State commit*
    Senatobia (MS) Magnolia Heights ATH 6-2/202
    Multi-purpose athlete had 73 tackles and 10 rushing touchdowns and 16 passing touchdowns in 2007.

    11 Chris Garrett
    Tupelo (MS) Tupelo QB 6-4/220 LSU
    As a sophomore starter, threw for 1,400 yards in 2006.

    12 Anthony Steen
    Clarksdale (MS) Lee Academy OL 6-4/297 list
    Combine freak, posting a 400-pound bench press and a sub-5.0 second 40 at close to 300 pounds.

    13 Rod Woodson
    Olive Branch (MS) Olive Branch DB 5-11/200 list
    Ferocious hitter who piled up 140 tackles from his safety position in 2007.

    14 Aubrey Phillips
    Olive Branch (MS) Olive Branch OL 6-6/310 Tennessee
    Massive lineman transferred to Olive Branch for his senior season out of Memphis.

    15 Montez Phillips
    Oxford (MS) Lafayette WR 6-3/190 list
    High school quarterback threw for just under 1,000 yards and rushed for just under 900 yards in 2007.

    16 Deontae Skinner
    *Mississippi State commit*
    Macon (MS) Noxubee County DE 6-2/230 list
    Had 102 tackles and seven sacks from his defensive end position last season.

    17 Clayton Moore
    Louisville (MS) Louisville QB 6-1/202 Ole Miss
    As a junior, Moore passed for over 3,000 yards and 30 touchdowns, adding over 800 yards on the ground.

    18 Markell Lee
    Corinth (MS) Corinth DE 6-5/251 Ole Miss
    Added three interceptions to his 20 tackles for loss as a junior.

    19 Nickoe Whitley
    *Mississippi State commit*
    Jackson (MS) Provine ATH 6-1/175
    Versatile athlete handles quarterback and safety duties for his high school

    20 Jacoby Bell
    D’Iberville (MS) D’Iberville TE 6-3/210 list
    Of his 20 catches, 11 of them went for touchdowns in 2007.

    21 Jonathan Banks
    *Mississippi State commit*
    Maben (MS) East Webster ATH 6-3/180 list
    Once returned three punts for touchdowns in a single game.

    22 Dan Hicks
    Oxford (MS) Oxford TE 6-4/242 list
    Intelligent player scored a 31 on his ACT.

    23 William Shumpert
    *Mississippi State commit*
    Fulton (MS) Itawamba Agricultural RB 6-0/238 list
    Shumpert is a physical bowling ball at 6-foot-0, 238 pounds.

    24 Emmanuel McCray
    Jackson (MS) Forest Hill OL 6-5/280 Ole Miss
    An offensive lineman with a great frame, McCray was Ole Miss’ first commitment for the 2009 class.

    25 Will Martin
    Madison (MS) Madison Central LB 6-0/201 Southern Miss

  82. dawgface52 Says:

    Stress? I’m retired. 🙂

  83. imabulldog Says:

    sounds good to me!!!

  84. bigdraws Says:

    I’ve heard great things about the Nox co. kid. Croom has really stepped it up this year.

  85. BirdZ! Says:

    “Mississippi State should play in its second consecutive bowl game this fall”

    http://thequad.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/07/11/the-quad-countdown-no-49-mississippi-state/

  86. BirdZ! Says:

    “Where Mississippi State fans congregate: Fans meet up at Six Pack Speak, Bulldog Blitz and Dawg Bites. Also, check out the aptly named Mississippi State Sports Blog and blogs from the Jackson Clarion-Ledger and Tupelo’s Daily Journal. ”

    You made the NYT, GG.

  87. BirdZ! Says:

    http://www.nba.com/summerleague2008/games/boxscore.jsp?gameId=1520800004

    CR with 10 points in a summer league game. I thought he had quit with the Mavs even before he started.

  88. bigdraws Says:

    Heard a rumor this morning that ASU is trying to lure Ron Polk up there to join program as a fund raiser for a new baseball stadium.

  89. Gregg Ellis Says:

    What was that for, Birdz?

  90. BirdZ! Says:

    Click on the link in the comment right above that GG. At the end of The Quad’s preview of MSU, they list the places where MSU fans go on the web.

  91. BirdZ! Says:

    Oh, and they are previewing all the NCAA teams. We’re # 49. Not sure if that is their “ranking” of us or if it’s just where MSU is in the order of previews.

  92. 2thdoc Says:

    Montez Phillips(#15 on Rivals list) commits today to MSU. 6-3, 190 WR from Oxford. Yes, Oxford.

  93. Braves Dawg Says:

    LMAO!!!!!

  94. 2thdoc Says:

    Rise and shine Gregg. Back to work!

  95. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I though he wasn’t due back til tomorrow.

  96. carwwest Says:

    so that montez phillips guy is already second guessing his commit?? he committed YESTERDAY!! what is wrong with kids??

  97. bigdraws Says:

    I guess they did have a little “Dickie Money” left.

  98. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I’m back, boys. Hit refresh and check out the first blog back. It’s LOOOOOOONG.

Leave a Reply

