Two weeks, two days

by

Yep. College football is nearly here. On Aug. 3, Mississippi State begins preparations for the 2008 campaign with the first day of practice.

However, that doesn’t mean the players haven’t already been hard at it. They have.

In today’s DJ, I have a story on how the team has been focused on Discipline, Details, Determination.

51 Responses to “Two weeks, two days”

  1. BirdZ! Says:

    GG, based on what WC was saying, they’ve really been working hard. Based on your previous experience how would this rank against previous years? Number of players participating, intensity, etc…

    May be tough for you to answer that since you were slacking off for the last month, I guess.

  2. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I’d say it’s in line with how last year’s workouts went.

  3. tebmsu97 Says:

    “It’s really helped out the younger players,” he said. “We’re going to need those guys, too.”

    This is why I like WC. This is a true soph saying this, this guy sounds like a senior and a team leader. I hope a full year in the conditioning program and the extra effort this offseason pays off for him.

  4. bigdraws Says:

    Heard we got the JC recruit from ICC. Defensive end.

  5. dawgface52 Says:

    Yes, Pernell McPhee. Four star rated player. Keep them coming. 🙂

  6. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Thanks for posting the news, guys. I always appreciate the help.

    Here’s the skinny . . .
    * The Pahokee, Fla., native led the MACJC last year with 19 sacks.
    * He also totaled 25 quarterback pressures, and was credited with 67 tackles, including 17.5 behind the line of scrimmage.
    * He received offers from Alabama, Kentucky, Michigan and West Virginia.

  7. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Discipline. Details. Determination!!!! Hope it works at stressville.

  8. Gregg Ellis Says:

    As long as hotels’ alarm clocks and pillows aren’t involved, it should be OK

  9. bigdraws Says:

    Touche mr. pussycat.

  10. Gregg Ellis Says:

    OK. With the Mr. Pussycat reference, I’m going to assume the beer is mighty good. Otherwise, I’m not sure what the heck that means. LOL!

    By the way, I drove by your office today en route to lunch. I started to stop the car and yell, “Draws, Draws!” But didn’t want to get you fired.

  11. BirdZ! Says:

    If you haven’t already heard, Ole Miss fans are saying the team will win no less than 7 games, and they will prolly go 9-3. And they are gonna wipe the mat with us in November. Consider yourself warned.

  12. bigdraws Says:

    Ole Miss fans are funny like that. GG, I figured you drove by quite abit. The pussycat reference was from Tom and Jerry just so you don’t worry, LOL!! And don’t yell when you come by. You might wake me up.

  13. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Too funny, draws. Got the story on the Farley clan tomorrow. Who would have ever thouht that would happen without police interference. Lol!

  14. bigdraws Says:

    I’m looking forward to that. May even get it lamenated. You’ve got to come by for a pre-game tailgate this year. I’ve talked Farley into joining us, and birds will come if his wife lets him. My second daughter is due between the first two home games. I’m hoping for a slightly early delivery so I won’t have to miss one of em.

  15. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Gotta do a better kn of planning dem babies.

  16. bigdraws Says:

    Didn’t plan it. That’s the problem. My first ones bday is always the weekend of the Arkansas game. Had her first bday party at the AK tailgate. Everybody brought her gifts and we had a bully cake.

  17. imabulldog Says:

    good to see our boys are fired up and working hard.

    GG, what kind of shape is Dixon in? Last year he was 20 over at this time and didn’t lose much?

  18. Gregg Ellis Says:

    ima, it’s safe to say the focus won’t be on his weight this year. How are things in Memphis? How much more school? I’ll actually be there tonight and tomorrow for CUSA media days.

  19. bigdraws Says:

    Great article this morning on our beloved brethren. Can’t say enough for the folks on this blog, and their prayers for the young family.

  20. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Thanks, draws.

    Oh, went to Kyoto’s the other day. Still like Shogun better, but it was good.

  21. bigdraws Says:

    You like it better for the sushi? Conincedently I was going to go to Shogun today for lunch. Assuming they’re open. I’ve never been. I might just go the cheap route to Kroger though.

  22. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Haven’t tried Kroger yet. Something about that just makes me a little nervous.

  23. farley662 Says:

    The cafeteria here has some good sushi. Now that’s scary!

  24. Gregg Ellis Says:

    There’s just something about sushi being prepared by Westerners that scares me. Just saying.

    Of course, at Kyoto’s, all the cooks are Mexicans.

  25. bigdraws Says:

    LOL!! Krogers got an Asian “cook” don’t they?

  26. bigdraws Says:

    The British Open just ain’t doing it for me. Tiger’s not there so I don’t know who to route against. Sergio doesn’t need my help. He screws it up himself.

  27. Gregg Ellis Says:

    My wife’s brother is the caddy for Heath Slocum, so that’s who I’m pulling for. But, he’s a little behind so I’m leaning toward Rocco.

  28. bigdraws Says:

    Rocco double bogeyed the first hole then parred the second.

  29. farley662 Says:

    I’m for whoever is wearing pink pants today.

  30. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I wore a pink button down to Oxford the other day. It’s amazing the comments guys get when wearing pink. Go figure.

  31. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Hey Farley, you like German food?

  32. farley662 Says:

    Figured you’d fit in there GG. The way the dress in O-Town should be outlawed! If I never see another pair of plaid pants or seersucker suit again, it will be too soon!

  33. farley662 Says:

    Can’t say I’ve ever had it. I’m always game for anything once. Can say a few German curse words.

  34. bigdraws Says:

    I think I’ve said a few while playing golf.

  35. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Sure. LOL! There is a German restaurant across from the Peabody. We don’t have to go there, but I figured if you like to try different things, that’s an option. I’m game for anything, though. There’s also a place called the Flying Fish or we can go anywhere in Memphis.

  36. farley662 Says:

    You care if wifey tags along?

  37. farley662 Says:

    And the Fish is awesome! We went there last weekend with draws and megapanties.(If you saw how big she’s gotten you’d understand the new moniker.)

  38. bigdraws Says:

    The best thing about the Fish is, Panties refused to wear shoes and they still let her in.

  39. farley662 Says:

    They did make her put her top back on though. I was amazed how she could eat those raw oysters without having to spit out the Beechnut. Girls got skills!

  40. bigdraws Says:

    That’s prolly why buffy and muffy got up and left. Those chicks had on more makeup than Tammy Faye Baker.

  41. farley662 Says:

    Yes they did. If we go fishing tonight, gonna have to get the kabobs!

  42. bigdraws Says:

    Those looked great. Panties said you ate at the Bigfoot right? Good?

  43. farley662 Says:

    Oh my goodness! The Foot is some kind of amazing. Had a half pound 4 cheese burger. Best burger I’ve ever had. Our bill was only $18 to boot! Great atmosphere and great food. Think we should go there and have GG try to eat the Sasquatch. I’ll provide play by play!

  44. Gregg Ellis Says:

    That’s funny. Of course the wife can go. What is Bigfoot? Never heard of that, except for the mega drink.

  45. farley662 Says:

    http://www.bigfootlodge.net

  46. farley662 Says:

    Check out the Sasquatch burger. And the desert called the Yetti.

  47. bigdraws Says:

    They serve a bigfoot at the flying saucer. It’s an adult beverage that will put you into the next universe. I’m not aloud to have one anymore 😦

  48. farley662 Says:

    Same dude who owns the Flying Saucer owns the Flying Fish.

  49. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Holy Cow! I’m already battling weight issues. That would only add to my struggles.

    Well, it’s off to work to do a story on the Ole Miss olympian. Farley, I’m gonna try realy hard to leave Tupelo by 4. Text me on what time you and misses want to do dinner.

  50. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Sorry, but 49 was killing me. 50 just looks and sounds better.

  51. Joseph Says:

    Joseph…

    Just wanted to drop a note to let you know what a great site you have. It is a great resource and a great place to drop by….

Leave a Reply

