“Our offense is definitely going to open up”

by

When talking about the offense and his quarterbacks, Sylvester Croom said, “Our offenis is definitely going to open up. A lot of the reason is that I trust our quarterback. Not just our starter. Tyson Lee, too. We have more speed at wide receiver that’s going to allow us to attack more vertically.”

It should also be noted that usually seniors are brought to media days. Obviously, you know Wesley Carroll is a sophomore. As for his decision to bring Carroll, Croom said, “He knows how to win, and he’s the leader of our offense. I didn’t read in any handbook you have to bring a senior.”

That brought laughter from the room of scribes. Or hacks, as some of you say.

30 Responses to ““Our offense is definitely going to open up””

  1. jcdawgman18 Says:

    Maybe this will pacify the haters, at least a little bit.

    One can hope, anyway….

  2. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Until the first three-and-out series.

  3. Braves Dawg Says:

    or the first 3rd and long pass out to the RB in the flat.

  4. jcdawgman18 Says:

    Heck, if you listen to some people, it is better to go three and out by missing on three deep balls than to drive the field, eat the clock, and win the game by pounding it out and making safe passes.

    I think we will see more explosiveness this year, because I agree with what Coach said: He trusts our quarterbacks and we have added speed on the outside.

  5. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Again, your starting quarterback last year was someone that had never participated in spring drills. That can’t be overstated.

  6. topdog58 Says:

    Sorry, I don’t buy it. I’ll believe it when I see it. Four years of bad offenses is a trend, not an anomaly. Until Crooms proves it on the field, his rah rah speak at Media Days means nothing.

    Besides, how exactly did we ADD speed to the WR corps? It is almost the same one as last year minus Tony Burks and the fact that Brandon McRae didn’t play a down. You mean to tell me that speedy Brandon McRae wasn’t good enough to play a down for the one of the SEC’s sorriest offenses last year, but he can be a difference maker this year? Give me a break, Crooms.

  7. BirdZ! Says:

    Definitely going to open up, eh? I sure hope so. I know WC had virtually no experience, but it wouldn’t take much to open it up more than last year.

  8. 2thdoc Says:

    I did read somewhere that Croom has stated this summer when going around with the Bulldog Club to events that he knew the fans wanted more offense. Last year he said he felt like he didn’t have the players to make the plays on offense and stayed much more conservative in many critical situations.

    We’ll see if that is coach speak but at some point you gotta open it up with smart downfield pass routes. I think he will make some drastic changes this year on offense who will earn that pay increase with a much improved offense. I’m gonna act like I didn’t see the highlights from the spring game.

  9. BirdZ! Says:

    That spring game was brutal.

  10. Braves Dawg Says:

    Just like this topic is likely to become Birdo.

  11. imabulldog Says:

    I want our offense to get the point where we can atleast pit some major whoopings on La Tech, SE Lou, and MTSU.

    And of course, show some explosiveness VS SEC teams

  12. theconquistador2 Says:

    I have to agree with TopDog. I’ll believe it when I see it.

  13. Gregg Ellis Says:

    You guys are a tough bunch.

  14. 83bulldog Says:

    Just win, baby!!

  15. jcdawgman18 Says:

    Wes Carroll and Boobie Dixon barely even touched the field in the spring game. And Coach Croom doesn’t give a crap about the spring game. It doesn’t matter.

    We are adding speed in several ways. First of all, we have added one of the fastest men in the world to our receiving corps in Oneal Wilder. Second, guys who weren’t ready to make plays last year, Co-Eric Riley and Brandon McRae, now have their head screwed on straight. And finally, we are bringing in some very athletic freshman who will give us added explosiveness on the outside. Three names to pay attention to: Delmon Robinson, Arceto Clark, and Terrance Davis. Davis may have to stay at QB for this year for depth reasons, but if he is allowed to play at WR he will be a playmaker.

    I know some of you are going to downplay Co-Eric and McRae, but you shouldn’t. Both of them admit they just didn’t have it last year and that it was more about attitude and focus. Those things have been corrected now, and especially with Co-Eric’s attitude. My high school coach coached both Co-Eric and Tony Burks in the MS-AL game a few years ago, and he told me Co-Eric was way, way better than Burks. That is what we have to look forward to.

    You better get on board or get out of the way, because the Maroon freight train is barrelling down the tracks!

  16. topdog58 Says:

    Yes Gregg, but what is funny is that if MSU slips up and reverts back to their 3-4 win selves this year, it will be the “offense doesn’t matter” crowd that will be calling for Crooms head at the end of the season.

    I’m a realist. I enjoyed the hell out of the 8 win season last year, but I’m also not naive enough to think Crooms is lucky enough to win with smoke and mirrors for a 2nd straight season. If all things stay the same and the offense doesn’t improve from any of the previous 4 seasons, there is no way that the defense can duplicate their point production from last season to save us from what would have been losses in at least 3 or 4 of the wins we got last year. Statistically, our defense may be better than last year, but there is no way that any sane person can say at the start of the season that they will pencil their defense in to score 6-8 touchdowns in any given season.

    Nobody is asking for a run and shoot offense here. We’ll never be Texas Tech or Hawaii, but DAMN can we not put up 350-375 total yards of offense and at least keep our opponents honest? The sad part is that kind of production was not even a hurdle for our “bad” offenses under Lynn Amedee or Sparky Woods, yet current MSU fans act like we are asking the world for our current offensive staff to give us that kind of production.

  17. slacker123 Says:

    I know that the Wilder kid has a little speed. I hope he can catch?

  18. topdog58 Says:

    You are right jcdawgman. We should probably ignore the spring game. However, we have a full 4 quarters of the bowl game in which the team had 3 weeks to prepare for and could hardly move the ball against a mediocre CUSA defense. Now THAT is very worrisome.

    As for your impressive writeup of potential receivers, we’ll see what happens. I tend to remember comments from years past about a certain wide receiver being uncatchable in a phone booth and his HS teammate who was Randy Moss, Jr. and that certainly didn’t pan out too well. So, forgive me if I’m not jumping up and down in anticipation of McRae, Riley, and a bunch of unknowns who are all now miraculously ready to explode onto the scene.

  19. jcdawgman18 Says:

    topdog, riddle me this: How is playing smashmouth football and locking folks down on defense “winning with smoke and mirrors”?
    We won with defense and toughness. That will not change. Our offense will improve, but the backbone of our team will always be a tenacious, dominating, hard-hitting defense.

  20. waltron Says:

    To topdog:
    If you’re going to criticize the man, spell his name correctly (or/and learn your plural and possessive grammar rules). Childish slights like that earn little respect for your argument.

    I don’t think you can blame Croom for maybe over-hyping the team a little bit. That’s what media days is about. I think he’s doing well with the personnel he’s got.

  21. dc31 Says:

    How did we add speed TopDog? I think O’neil Wilder just ran a leg on the 4X400 relay team. I also think he participated in the Olympic Trials. Oh yeah, he’s about 6’4 or 6’5.

  22. topdog58 Says:

    Keep guzzling the Kool Aid, boys.

    Yes, Oneal Wilder is such an impressive receiver, that he greyshirted. I can’t believe after all these years that you sheep continue to buy into what Jean Swindoll preaches to you.

    Like I said, I’ll believe it when I see it.

    Oh and to you jcdawgman, our “smashmouth” defense gave up 331 yards per game and 23 points per game, which was good enough for middle of the road in the SEC defensive rankings. What WON the games for us was our defense scoring TOUCHDOWNS. You can continue to deny that all you want, but it is fact. Like I said before, no sane coach is going to come out before any season and pencil their defense in for 6-8 touchdowns in a season.

    BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

  23. bigdraws Says:

    LOL!! Always nice to have a visit from the sixpack. I’ll bet $20 he’s over there posting about how he told yall.

  24. jcdawgman18 Says:

    To topdog:
    -Oneal Wilder grayshirted because of grades, not ability.
    -Those rankings are inflated by about 3 games: LSU, WV, and Arkansas.
    If you take the other 9 regular season games, and average it out we gave up less than 19 points per game. (I don’t have time to look up the yardages right now.)
    There is only one game where I buy that we only won because our defense scored: Alabama. I know you’ll counter with Auburn, but DP picked that at like the ten, our offense probably would have punched it in with AD from there anyway, so don’t try to tell me that. And don’t even try to bring up Tulane or Gardener Webb, those were taken care of anyway.

  25. carwwest Says:

    wait i thought wilder was eligible for this year?? has he always planned to greyshirt??

  26. irondawg Says:

    topdog is over the top a bit, but I agree with the principle of his argument. We’re still talking about a program that has had only one winning season in the last 7 years. Granted, Croom inherited the mess and has been the head coach for only the last 4, but his teams have shown a consistent pattern of mediocre and even bad offense.

    What bothers me is the notion from some of you older school people on here, and other message forums/blogs on the internet, who still believe that MSU will and should always have a conservative/smash-mouth approach to the game of football. I just think it’s nuts to think we’re going to ever have the consistent talent that’s required to knock 11 other SEC teams off the ball and combine that with top-notch defense year-in and year-out to have any kind consistently winning program. If anything is never going to happen, that’s it, not the idea that we can never open up our offense and become more modern. That entirely depends upon who we hire as our coaches, and Croom fit the usual mold that we cast ours from that has Tuscaloosa, AL and Bear Bryant stamped on the back.

    I like Croom and his aggressive attitude about winning games. I like that he’s willing to put his neck on the line every time he opens his mouth, and he does. He continues to make bold predictions and gets everyone’s hopes and expectations up high, and that’s exactly what the MSU fan base needs, but the man needs to deliver or he’ll suffer a hard fall in the long run. And if anyone thinks that won’t happen, just watch and see if he thinks we can continue winning with mediocre/bad offense and expecting the defense to score a lot of points and basically carry the team on their back from year to year. It ain’t happening. Hopefully one day our holdout fans will come around and also realize that that style of football is only good for about 1 or 2 winning seasons every 7 to 10 years at MSU. That won’t, or at least shouldn’t cut it anymore, not for $1.7 mil anyway.

  27. bigdraws Says:

    I agree on some of that irondawg. But I think most people want to see improvement on offense, call me crazy. I’m 32 years old and I’ve witnessed some very high and extremly low emotions while following this team my entire life. I had season tickets during the Rocky Felker years for crying out loud. I think the way things are going right now. Everyone is just rooting for the guy, and hoping he can win. I don’t know if he will or not, but I’ll say this. This is the most excited I’ve been for a season to start in a long time. A loooooooong time. I will say I understand both sides of the arguement though. I guess that means I’m still on the fence.

  28. 2thdoc Says:

    If anything Irondawg, I think you are either wanting the best to happen or expect the worst. There is little in between and until the games are played not many of us are disagreeing with what you are saying. As a fan you have to like Croom unless you are expecting the worst case senario and expecting a losing season. He expects more as do most fans who want State to win every game so until we lose the games that we are supposed to win I’d like to give him the benefit of the doubt that we will improve on offense.

    I’m not saying that we will win the West or anything but let’s just see how things develop with the offense after the Auburn game. Coach Croom has proven me wrong before so I’m expecting he knows what he is doing and although he has stuck with McCorvey we’ll have to wait and see what changes have been made. I wouldn’t be surprised to see us at least in the top 75 in offense this year but that would at least be an improvement that will help the defense out. That might not be good enough for 7-8 wins but many will find fault before the season is even played out. I’d love to get 8-9 wins this year with our schedule but it ain’t gonna happen unless a lot of luck is on our side outside of Croom’s decisions with our offense.

  29. rwriffe Says:

    Personnel, personnel, personnel. Guys, it can’t be said enough. Our past offenses have been limited at best to what personnel we had. I think that things will continually improve on the offensive side as we go for and get more talent. I know this information is not anything that any of you guys don’t already know. I am reserving my opininons about a change in the OC position for this year. If we don’t see sustained (not necessarily huge leaps) improvements then somethings gotta happen. I feel that Croom is the man for this job and he will do whats right when the time comes (if it does). I feel that with what he walked into he’s done as good a job as any coach in the country could have done.

  30. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I must say, this post didn’t go as I planned. As for what I had planned, I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

