Johnson, Prince and Hughes back in school

by

Mississippi State has announced it has re-admitted football players Anthony Johnson, Rodney Prince and Jamon Hughes back to school.

The three withdrew from the university back in the spring following the on-campus shooting incident involving Mike Brown and Quinton Wesley.

Johnson and Prince are back on scholarship and will be allowed to practice with the team this fall when school starts, but they aren’t eligible to play in games. Hughes has been given the opportunity to return as a walk-on.

In a press release, MSU coach Sylvester Croom said, “We are thankful that the university has given these three young men the opportunity to finish their education at Mississippi State. For them, this is a second chance. I hope that all of our players have learned a valuable lesson from this situation and understand there are consequence of making bad decisions and choices.”

The fifth-year coach said he won’t comment further regarding this situation.

91 Responses to “Johnson, Prince and Hughes back in school”

  1. farley662 Says:

    Well, Powe got in at OM, so…………

  2. dawgbones Says:

    They must have some potential to play next year or otherwise I doubt they would be allowed to “take up” resources. I hear it will take Johnson a year to get over his broken ankle completely anyway.

    Hey Farley, how is your son? Are you guys home yet? I have been out of pocket for just about the entire summer and just now trying to get caught up on everything.

    Good to be back home in Mississippi!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. BirdZ! Says:

    Bones, I think one of them is using a redshirt (AJ I think), and the other is simply losing a year of eligibility.

  4. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    Seeing as I have had second chances for doing stupid stuff when I was younger, I’m glad the guys are getting a chance at redemption. The only things I hope are that they understand the chance they are getting and make the best of it, and the they are not only being given the chance because of their football ability alone. If that’s the case then they will get nothing out of it, but I don’t think CC would do that anyway.

  5. farley662 Says:

    We’re home bones. Thanks for asking. He’s doing much better.

  6. bigdraws Says:

    Well said Chris. Completely agree.

  7. dawgbones Says:

    No doubt Chris, he is doing it for their betterment, not football. Hughes is on his “last straw” because of other behavior issues and the reason there was no scholarship offer. The guy can play but it is his attitude. Maybe seeing the fear that Michael Brown went through finally got his attention. In truth, Hughes probably caused the whole mess because as I understand it he kept egging things on. Anyway, maybe they will stick it out and contribute and get their degree.

  8. dawgbones Says:

    Hey Gregg, what is your direct line number at the DJ?

    On a totally different subject, does anybody know a really good cleaners in Tupelo? I just picked up a bunch of clothes from the cleaners, new pants, shirts etc. that I bought for a trip and I’ll be danged, the pants now have double creases, stains still on shirts (I have a tendency to be a messy eater). I have had it with the 2 cleaners in Fulton. Does anybody have one that does a really good job?

  9. lightingrebel Says:

    Yea because these 3 getting back into school is EXACTLY the same as Powe. These 5 thugs were involved in a shooting!!!! But hey like CroomDaddy said be good or be gone…be right or be gone…I forget, it was some retarted comment like that. Maybe on their 2nd chance they might actually kill somebody

  10. dawgbones Says:

    Maybe it will be you. Go back to your own blog and do the Orgeron mumbo jumbo.

  11. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    It’s nothing like Powe. He didn’t qualify from the jump and they knew it. It happen to get caught before they could slip him through the door. Those were administrators that knew the rules of the system. These were three young people that did something stupid and are paying for it with the privilidge of play football taken from them for a year.

  12. farley662 Says:

    Least they didn’t drag anybody with a car.

  13. BirdZ! Says:

    It was 4 thugs, not 5.

    They messed up. Nobody is saying they didn’t. They are paying their penalty set forth by the judge. Powe paid the penalty set forth by the NCAA.

  14. bully4prez Says:

    and Bird paid the penalty set forth by Judge Judy.

  15. BirdZ! Says:

    The grumpy old bag gave me a raw deal, I tell ya!!!

  16. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Bones, just call 8422611 and ask for me. I can only imagine the fun some on here would have with my number.

  17. bully4prez Says:

    “Croomdaddy” actually recruited Powe pretty hard. He knew Powe liked to lay his head on his school books at night to gain knowledge. He tried to convince him that if he went to Ole Miss that the other players would steal his “pillow”. He didn’t listen and now look how long it took him to get eligible to play.

  18. farley662 Says:

    I got it. Highest bidder gets the digits. Bid starts at $20. Do I hear $20?

  19. bully4prez Says:

    His direct line is 662-867-5309.

  20. imabulldog Says:

    gotta love idiot rebel fans.

    If they knew half the story…they wouldn’t talk about other teams thugs, because they have their own, like say…GREG HARDY!!!

    Anyway, glad AJ is back, he is the only one I really cared about anyway

  21. imabulldog Says:

    and besides, we kicked NFL talent off the team, I wonder the last time Ole Missy actually did house cleaning that involved players of that caliber, instead of blaming alarm clocks and pillows on some average Joes who are on the scout team

  22. thingreenline Says:

    How does somebody even try to say that the two situations are the same?

    And even more important, what kind of homo comes up with a name like lightingrebel??

  23. farley662 Says:

    I was referring to the hell y’all gave Powe. Meaning we should expect the same for the gunslingers. You’d have to be an even bigger moron to assume I was comparing the two.

  24. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Actually, ima, Michael Brown was kicked off the football team. The school dismissed him. Minor detail, but one worth noting.

  25. thingreenline Says:

    Who was that directed at, farley

  26. farley662 Says:

    The other moron, moron. I keed I keed!

  27. bully4prez Says:

    i assumed you were comparing the two…………

  28. farley662 Says:

    You’re a moron too for making assumpshyons!

  29. bully4prez Says:

    that must be my retardayshon showing

  30. farley662 Says:

    Like Powe, learning restrictshons.

  31. rebelnate Says:

    Those guys deserve a second chance. Best of luck to those guys.

  32. dawgbones Says:

    I don’t think anybody would write the number in a bathroom stall but then again with Ole Miss folks dropping in on your blog Gregg, it could happen. Anyway I understand, I just wanted a contact number.

  33. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Bones, I just sent you an email. Lemme know if you didn’t get it.

  34. thespear Says:

    whooo awesome!!!!!

  35. bigdraws Says:

    “Yea because these 3 getting back into school is EXACTLY the same as Powe. ”

    Well, as I remember it the guys were scared they were going to get shot. So MB took the cake and shot up in the air. Got kicked out of school for good. OM massaged the rules, so a guy could who refused to study and take part in academics could go to college. I have no idea what the two have in common.

  36. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Are you all really arguing which case is more legit? Really? I mean, really. Both are equally sickening if you ask me.

  37. bigdraws Says:

    Nope. Just stating facts. I can say that I’ve been threatened with a gun before. Never been so scared in all my life. You never know what you’ll do till you’re in that situation.

  38. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Did you leave the scene. Go home get your gun and come back? They weren’t too scared or they would have just left.

  39. bigdraws Says:

    I thought the guys followed them onto campus after an altercation at a gas station. I’m not defending what they did btw. I’m just saying. I know how quickly things can escalate. And no, I got the hell outta there.

  40. bully4prez Says:

    chicken

  41. Gregg Ellis Says:

    LOL, draws. I just find it funny how fans of both schools are justifying the moves their respective schools take.

  42. bigdraws Says:

    bwok! bwok!! This chiggin’s still cluckin though.

  43. Gregg Ellis Says:

    And at the end of the day, draws, that’s all that matters.

    BTW, when are you going to post your family portrait on my blog. Why does Farley get all the luven?

  44. bully4prez Says:

    still a chicken

  45. bully4prez Says:

    i think its ok to shoot a gun on campus. as long as you shoot it in the library to clear the place out so you can study in peace. that could have helped Brown and Powe.

  46. lightingrebel Says:

    Does it really matter if they followed them or if they felt threatned…They had guns. I wonder if this was after they beat up the cop, nope wait that was a different group, oh wait was this the same guys that got caught counterfeiting money, nope sorry I am getting confused, it was the guys who got caught with 200 POUNDS of natural herb….nooo the one with the DUI who never even got so much as comm. service. Nevermind I’ll think of it soon. I’ll take a set of HOJO pillow’s and radios anyday. My point in all of this is that it is no where NEAR the same as Powe and it wouldnt be as bad except Humpty Dumpty had all of the cult drink the kool aid and really think they have players with character. At least Kang Jackie didnt try and hide it

  47. lightingrebel Says:

    And say what you want about Powe being a slow learner, at least he stuck it out for 3 years trying to get in. How many of you would have done that? I remember

  48. bigdraws Says:

    Sounds like somebody’s upset about our 8 wins last year. lighten up Frances. GG he stoled those pics. The ingrate.

  49. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Here we go . . .

    Fans of both schools should just shut up. lightingrebel, you are correct in your assessment. At the same time, I could list all the wayward players Ole Miss has produced and all their stupid acts during the same period. Remember Beale Street. Remember your basketball players outside the bowling alley. Or another football player that enjoyed his weed, too.

    I mean, it’s just crazy for one school in this state to talk trash to the other, because both have little to be proud of as far as staying out of trouble is concerned.

    Silly, I say. Just freakin’ silly.

  50. Gregg Ellis Says:

    draws, at least it was a nice pic.

  51. lightingrebel Says:

    “and besides, we kicked NFL talent off the team”

    imabulldog WHAT NFL TALENT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT? I AM ROFLMAO HAHAHAH.

  52. bully4prez Says:

    good job Gregg. He miiiiight not be coming back

  53. bully4prez Says:

    nevermind

  54. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Michael Brown, lightingrebel. All-SEC left tackle projected to go in the second round.

  55. bigdraws Says:

    Why thanks GG. You can check em out on my wifes myspace page. And I think MB was going pro, definatly.

  56. bully4prez Says:

    and Henig

  57. imabulldog Says:

    I’m talking about Brown you idiot- the one who every recruiting magazine in the country has called a future NFLer.

    You come on our blog and start crap, sorry that Parrish’s can’t keep yall entertained enough, its not his fault- its just because yall are Ole Miss and no one wants to talk about yall cause yall suck.

    You want to trade licks on ‘dirty’ programs- keep it coming big boy. I got friends who are so high up at Ole Missy- it’d make you look like the waterboy, and you wouldn’t believe the crap they’ve told me they have done hooking players up and turning a blind eye. I’m not talking about he said she said junk, I’m talking things that really happened.

    Why done you change your name, move out of your moms basement, and take off your red and blue shades and get some sense if reality

  58. imabulldog Says:

    excuse the typos I looked like Powe typing that one

  59. imabulldog Says:

    I’m done with this, not gonna keep on goin on and on with this.

    The Cubs are on tonight, and I can’t keep up with every little comment that is made toward me.

  60. lightingrebel Says:

    I am sure that you know people high up. drip, drip, drip sarcasm…And I apologize I forgot that msu had 1 player that might have went in the 2nd round at one time. I just love you msu guys, you finally win more games than you lose for what the 1st time in 8 years??? and now you think you are going to win the national title. Then GE and the rest of you want to talk about OM “dirty” players, I know they have some but no where near what happens at msu. You can read the paper and see. The beale street issue? Ok, they did it and got kicked off the team, no coming back done. period. The fight with the bball players?? See there is a HUGE difference between 18-19 yr old guys fighting each other(like alot of 18-19 guys do) and guys shooting at each other and beating up cops. Don’t even bring up the OM guy and the cop, I am talking about your football program and it’s lack of control

  61. tebmsu97 Says:

    State, the Rebs, Penn State, Alabama, FSU, Miama, LSU, Iowa…

    Everyone has thugs that do stupid things, everyone gives them the “benefit of the doubt” “second chance” “misunderstanding” easy street, everyone will continue to do it, I always find it funny when people get in pi#@$ng matches over who has the cleaner run program. It is on the same level as the last two guys picked fighting over who is better at kickball.

  62. bigdraws Says:

    Nobody’s biting assclown. You gotta love how this guy throws out statements like. “and now you think you are going to win the national title”.
    Yep, that’s exactly what I thought. You’re either just trying to stir the pot or are one of those dumb rednecks that like the school just bc of the rebel flag.

  63. Gregg Ellis Says:

    tebmsu97, you said it perfectly.

  64. farley662 Says:

    What’s your story lightning? You got your glasses on? You need to stop sliding your jib. You ain’t nothing but a stone cold turkey jack!

  65. farley662 Says:

    Everyone here know Sly come on like gangbusters! He creeps out like the shadow. Ya dig!

  66. bigdraws Says:

    I dig slick! Check yoself a pro Ezell. We here to regulate.

  67. dawgintheswamp Says:

    “one of those dumb rednecks that like the school just bc of the rebel flag”

    Ding Ding we have a winner

  68. Gregg Ellis Says:

    lightingrebel, in all honesty what kind of response did you expect. You come over flaming and attacking as if all is well in Rebel land and then get defensive when a “few” miscues on your side of the tracks are brought up.

    If your intent was to rile everyone up, congrats.

  69. bigdraws Says:

    Jive turkey!!

  70. farley662 Says:

    Lightning is sadder than a map!

  71. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Not sure what’s up with his username, but it’s lighting. Maybe he owns a light store or something.

  72. farley662 Says:

    May bad homes! You better take it slow yarddog before I have to split your lid!

  73. lightingrebel Says:

    I didn’t get offended, I know all is not well over here in rebel land. Never said it was, I expected exactly what happened, that all of the bulldog fans would get in an uproar(dance my little puppets DANCE!!). Typical State guys, you can’t carry on a debate with them. They always get offended and want to start calling names and things. Find once in my posts where I said everything was good at OM, it’s not. I just wanted to point out that the walrus doesn’t practice what he preaches. Peace Out

  74. farley662 Says:

    Here’s your award lightingreb. You deserve it playa!

    http://farley662.wordpress.com/2008/07/31/congrats-lightingreb/

  75. bigdraws Says:

    You’re not going anywhere little Nero. Come except your award like a man.

  76. lightingrebel Says:

    1st I would like to thank all of those in attendance. All past winners of this award, Let me begin by giving a shout out to all the MSU dogs doing time down in ParchMANl and Oktib. County Correctional facility. Wad Up. None of this would have been possible without the complete thuggery of the MSU guys…..thank you guys, your the best. To the MSU fans, especially the one’s on this board, it means so much to me to be surrounded by people with such power. To be “in the know” and so involved with all things football is just so humbling to me. To imagine the inside knowledge that you have to know things that no newspaper or media outlet in 3 states knows is just amazing, hats off to ya. I mean you even have info on the NFL Def. Rookie of the year!! Amazing. I mean how OM got these 3 ho…..sorry girls to keep quite and then for the NFL and 49ers not to find out and now the NFL Def. Rookie of the Year is making millions they are not coming after his money but you guys found out…wow. I am going to take my award, wrap it in a big rebel flag and go home, sit on my porch, drink a stout bourbon and sing hotty toddy. I might even invite Donte “da weed man” walker or Derick “rape” tate. Like Ike Turner say ‘peeeaaccce out!

  77. farley662 Says:

    That was actually a very good acceptance speech. I’m standing in my living room giving you a standing ovation.

  78. bigdraws Says:

    Or Dickie “bribe a federal, and pay a glorified hooker to woo an NCAA investigator” Scruggs.

    Too bad it’s the wrong blog assclown!!

  79. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Someone make it stop. Please.

  80. bully4prez Says:

    Stop it.

  81. bully4prez Says:

    There you go Gregg. Stopped.

  82. lightingrebel Says:

    Bigdraws, don’t be jealous of Dickie…just because the best hooker you can get works down in Orange Mound(that’s around the Liberty Bowl) in case you forgot, doesn’t mean you have to hate on him.

  83. bigdraws Says:

    LOL, good one!!

  84. bigdraws Says:

    And tell your sister I’ll tip better next time. I had to stop by taco bell.

  85. dawgintheswamp Says:

    Now Draws you couldn’t even buy the girl a taco

  86. imabulldog Says:

    This guy is an idiot, I swear he’s some little 17 year old punk in his moms basement, who just got finished reading a book on Archie, and now he, like most olemiss fans, understand the only and complete tradition of olemiss.

    And for the record, no one has said anything about a national title, all I expect is to not to finish like olemiss will, which is at the bottom of the barrel.

    And you wanna talk about puppets dancing, that would be rebels, dancing to the tune of no sense of reality!

    Block this dude GG

  87. bigdraws Says:

    Nah, she didn’t have any teeth. Would’ve had to stop and get a blender.

  88. rebelnate Says:

    Preach it Ima

  89. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Draws, you brought your A-game today.

    Ima, your Cubs are on a roll, man.

  90. imabulldog Says:

    I was at Wrigley GG, for the entire Marlins series, it was awesome. Sundays game, came back from 5 down to win by 3.

    Love my Cubs! Used to losin if you know what I mean 🙂
    But now State and the Northsiders are given me somehin to be happy about.

  91. dui attorney el cajon Says:

    dui attorney el cajon…

    […]Johnson, Prince and Hughes back in school « Inside Mississippi State Sports with Brad Locke[…]…

Leave a Reply

