Georgia No. 1 on your mind

by

Well, Georgia’s on a lot of folks’ minds today, especially football coaches.

In the preseason USA Today Top 25 coaches’ poll, the Bulldogs are ranked No. 1, followed by Southern Cal, Ohio State, Oklahoma and Florida.

Remember the Gators? Yep. They were picked last week by the media to win the SEC.

13 Responses to “Georgia No. 1 on your mind”

  1. warbirdz44 Says:

    You forgot to mention we got 6 votes ourselves!

    Here’s a nice little trivia question, when’s the last time MSU had votes in a preseason poll? My guess would be maybe 1999 or 2000? Not really sure.

  2. slacker123 Says:

    Montrell Conner a 4 star running back just comitted to State.

  3. slacker123 Says:

    A great get for Croom and Co.

  4. theconquistador2 Says:

    The committment list is impressive. Hopefully they will all stay committed. Another good season sure would help.

  5. carwwest Says:

    HUGE pick up….he has had us as his leader for a while but actually landing him speaks volumes about this recruiting class and and croom…..

    from connor: “I committed to Mississippi State,” said Connner. “I did it about thirty minutes ago. I talked to Coach Harbison and he was very excited about it. He’s ready to get me down there.”

    Montrell chose the Bulldogs over offers from Alabama, Colorado, Miami, Oklahoma, Ole Miss,TCU, Tennessee, Texas Tech, ULM and USC among many others.

    “I learned that some coaches tell you what you want to hear, but I just felt like Mississippi State was telling me the truth,” said Conner. “I am willing take a chance with Mississippi State. I just feel deeply in love with me. The coaches there are like fathers to me. It’s just like a second home to me. I think the campus is better than any school that I have ever visited.”

    The chance to play early in one of America’s top conferences was a major attraction for Montrell.

    “Anthony Dixon may go in the draft and I may get the chance to play as a freshman,” said Conner. “I wanted to stay close to home and play in the SEC. Mississippi State has made a big impression on a lot of people. It’s a program on the rise and I want to be a part of that. I want to be part of helping them build it up even more. I want to be one of the reasons they get to where they want to go.”

    The four star rated running back is the Bulldogs 18th public commitment. He reports that his commitment is 100% and he plans to take no other visits to any other schools before signing day.”

    …all we need to do is keeping winning games and keep these commitments…..just picture choo choo and elliott in the backfield behind a senior leader QB in carroll ….under a 2nd year offensive coordinator that is TBA….haha

  6. bigdraws Says:

    Excuse my ignorance, but where’s he from? This is great news. I don’t know whats got into our coaches this year but to say I’m impressed with their recruiting would be way more than an understatement.

  7. farley662 Says:

    If they don’t pull a Levi on us?

  8. farley662 Says:

    Not supposed to be a question. Whoops see.

  9. carwwest Says:

    draws he is from monroe, LA 4* ….6’2″ 215 lbs….4.4 forty

  10. bigdraws Says:

    Thanks. That’s a pretty good sized running back already.

  11. imabulldog Says:

    oh yeah! Keep em comin’

    I’m a little surprise UGA is #1, especially since a hammy or twisted ankle on behalf of Moreno could ruin their season

  12. tebmsu97 Says:

    On top of that their schedule is brutal.

    Great get on the Conner kid, this class is shaping up to be a great one. The pressure to win now is even higher, a losing season and you could see a lot of these guys going elsewhere.

  13. dc31 Says:

    We got him by recruiting another kid on their team, named Don Jones a fullback. He didn’t qualify, but this guy is big time. Their team was featured on ESPNU where they showed their entire season. I think they came within one game of winning it all. If their fullback went the JUCO route, we may end up getting him too. He was like the #3 FB in the country

Leave a Reply

