Answers to the blogbag

by

Louisiana Tech’s strong points (bigdraws): There are several. First, it’s a more experienced team as 14 starters return, plus Tech has a more better understanding of Derek Dooley’s (2nd year, and yes, Vince’s son) philosophies. Quarterback Zac Champion returns, but he lost his top two receivers. In the backfield, Daniel Porter returns after rushing for 592 yards and six touchdowns. Defense may be the key as the Bulldogs return their top eight tacklers. But note Tech gave up 30.7 points an outing and 424.7 yards.

Is the offense opening up more (tishcodog): Sylvester Croom says yes. With more experienced players who understands the offense, he said he is able to do that. What that exactly means is yet to be determined.

New helmets and logo (farley662): No. Not for this season. Everything will remain the same, but I’m told by university officials options are being looked at for the future. No timetable, though.

How quick will Croom pull the trigger on Woody if offense struggles (dadwithpride): I don’t see any triggers being pulled.

What formations do you expect to see (db33): It will be the same formations you’ve seen in the past, depending on down and distance and the various situations that unfold during the game.

How much will Charles Mitchell, Nelson Hurst, O’Neal Wilder and Delmon Robinson play (carwwest): Outside of Wilder, those guys will be bigtime contenders this year, particularly Mitchell and Robinson. Nearly every practice both have drawn praise from Croom.

Greg Byrne’s next big thing (2thdoc): Securing money for the basketball practice facility and find ways to increase Bulldog Club membership.

Will MSU ever put USM back on its schedule (83bulldog): I can say it’s been talked about, but that it won’t happen anytime soon. Surprisingly, there are a few in the Bryan Building that favor the two playing again.

What about the offensive lineman from Kosiusko and will there be more walk-ons once school starts (dawgintheswamp): I’m assuming you are talking about John Paul Alford. There has been no mention of him in the coaches’ assesments. And yes, once school starts the roster will grow considerably with the addition of the walk-ons. Oh, and I’m glad I don’t have to spell Kosiusko everyday.

How is Phillip Freeman looking and how is the JumboTron coming (carwwest): He really helped himself by enrolling in January in order to participate in spring drills. He has the potential of being a really good player. I’m just not sure if that’s going to be this season. I could be wrong. As for the video scoreboard, work is on schedule. Last week, all the concrete was poured.

The problems on offense that are bothering Croom (imabulldog): Pre-snap penalties and lack of production in the red zone are about to send him over the edge. Also, he said he’d like to see more consistency from the quarterbacks.

Does Hank Flick bother Croom (biloxi13): I doubt Croom even pays attention.

Where will the team come out (farley662): Same place. A temporary fence is in place to keep people out of the construction zone. But on game day, the gate will be open for the players to enter and exit the field. And more importantly, media too.

Tobias Smith update (2thdoc): He had season-ending surgery on Saturday and will obviously redshirt. Tough blow. He was expected to play a lot.

Update on Montario Patterson (chrisfromcorinth): He looks like any true freshman from a small school. It’s a tough adjustment and more than likely he’ll be redshirted. That certainly worked well for Robert Elliott.

Is Adidas a new sponsor and who is Croom voting for (farley662): No. They’ve been around for a few years. Sorry, I don’t talk politics with Sly.

12 Responses to “Answers to the blogbag”

  1. farley662 Says:

    PA asks everyone he talks to these days GG. They all voting for Obama.

  2. Gregg Ellis Says:

    I made the mistake of not proofing before hitting the “publish” button. My apologies. I’ve gone back and made all the corrections I could.

  3. oxfordrebel Says:

    Yep, he’s asked all 2 of them so far farley, 🙂

    Nice write up in the paper a couple weeks ago Gregg about the blog, I almost choked on my Coke when I saw the title and who was in the photo. I haven’t had internet for the past 3 months since having our little one so I’ve been out of the circle completely.

    Farley, hope your little guy is doing well, we’ve been praying for him.

  4. darkcooger Says:

    Gotta love the Indians for giving our towns and counties such hard-to-spell names, though in this case, I guess we can blame the Polish. “Kosciusko,” for what it’s worth, but I think Shuqualak is the worst.

  5. bigdraws Says:

    I got “Gautier” for most deceptive sounding name. Pronounced (Go-shay). Oxreb, congrats on the little bundle of joy. Didn’t you guys move to Manscratchy though? Need to change your name. I’m thinking “scratchyreb”.

  6. farley662 Says:

    Thanks OR. Just messing with GG. He’s jealous of PA after all.

  7. oxfordrebel Says:

    Gonna take a raincheck on scratchyreb, but you’re right, I do need to change my name, just don’t have the patience to figure it out…

    My grandparents live in Mantachieopolis draws, papaw gave us an acre and a half to move a double wide on to, so we’re working on living the true redneck lifestyle, all I have to do now is build the redwood deck…

  8. bigdraws Says:

    I like mantachie OR. Work with a bunch of folks from over there. And I dug this one up for your wife, LOL. Enjoy my friend.

  9. bigdraws Says:

    Did you know? Sammy Kershaw’s son played golf at MSU.

  10. oxfordrebel Says:

    lol, i was wondering if anyone would catch what I was getting at, and no, I didn’t know about his son playing golf

    And the video was way to clean-cut to go along with the actual nature of the song, the real-life version would be shot at this place:

  11. bigdraws Says:

    But where’s the red wood deck??? I’m out yall.

  12. oxfordrebel Says:

    It’s in the backyard, a mini-deck…

Leave a Reply

