McCorvey out for a week due to surgery

by

Mississippi State offensive coordinator Woody McCorvey will be out of service for a week following surgery earlier today.

MSU senior athletics director Mike Nemeth and team spokesman would not comment further and said the McCorvey family has asked that the reason for the surgery remain confidential and private.

The team was informed of the situation early this morning at a meeting.

“Wood informed me last Thursday of his physician’s recommendation to have this surgery done at this time,” MSU coach Sylvester Croom said. “We expect Woody to make a full and complete receovery from surgery and be back in the office by next Monday. In the unexpected event that he is not able to return, we will adjust as needed and will move forward with the game plan we have intact.”

McCorvey’s responsibilities will be spread among the coaching staff.

50 Responses to “McCorvey out for a week due to surgery”

  1. bigdraws Says:

    Insert terrible offense joke here ________________________________.

  2. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Let’s not.

  3. bigdraws Says:

    Best of luck to the McCorvey family.

  4. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Football Fans vs. Nuns

    There were these three guys at a football game and it just so happened that they were sitting behind three nuns. They couldn’t see really well over their habits, so one of the guys says, “Man, I wish I lived in Ohio, there are only 25 Catholics there.”
    One of the other guys says, “Well, I wish I lived in Idaho because there are only 20 Catholics there.”

    Then the last guy says, “Well, I wish I lived at Miss State there are only 15 Catholics there.”

    Then one of the nuns turns around and says, “Why don’t you go to hell – there are no Catholics there!”

  5. imabulldog Says:

    ooooh JB!!!

    Hope McCorvey is ok

  6. thingreenline Says:

    I guess they finally found where the creative playbook had been all along.

  7. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I hope Woody Mc is ok. I try to make it a point not to kick a man when he’s down. Could be a creative way to make an OC change without have to drop the hammer on him though, at the end of the season.

  8. farley662 Says:

    From what I’ve heard, it ain’t all Woody. Croom won’t turn him loose. And Woody sent me an email when Aedan was in the hospital telling me he was praying for him. He’s a great guy. Prayers are headed his way.

  9. dawgface52 Says:

    Well I certainly wish him the very best. I know most of us(MSU family) have not been happy with our offense, but we certainly hope he is well and regains his health.

  10. 2thdoc Says:

    Prayers to the Coach McCorvey and his family that everything turns out well.

  11. 1msucub Says:

    Three Bama players are riding in the same car. Who’s driving?
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    The cop, of course.

    Good luck Coach McC.

  12. nashdawg Says:

    The Lord works in mysterious ways! Prayfully, McCorvey will come through his medical procedure in good health…and in a better offensive, playing-calling mindset.:)

  13. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Nash, how is your dad doing?

  14. imabulldog Says:

    Why do all the trees in mississippi lean towards oxford….

    Cuz olemiss sucks! 🙂

  15. imabulldog Says:

    whats the difference between a porcupine and Vaught Hemmingway stadium?

    A porcupine has ‘pricks’ on the outside 🙂

    Sorry I had to

  16. nashdawg Says:

    Double g-man, we are trying to get him into Windsor Place in Columbus for 3 weeks of intensive rehab. (That’s all Medicare will pay for.) The home health care has run out. The next step is trying to get him off the feeding tube and some mobility where he can help us as we lift him. Right now, it’s 100% effort on our part…mom is tired and it’s straining her to constantly lift him. Overall, he is about the same.

  17. sidsatch Says:

    I saw where the rebs got some props on ESPN last night. They spoke of their longhorn transfer and the expectation of 7-8 wins. Did I hear that correctly? I only drank a few….

  18. farley662 Says:

    Forgot to mention, he was the only coach who checked on Aedan. Really meant alot when a man who I’d never met took the time to email me. Same with Byrne. He called and checked on him. It’s nice to know that some of the staff cares about the fanbase.

  19. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Sidsatch: I differ with that ESPN, ABC and Disney owned Donald and Daffy Duck network. They are so blind eyed that they cannot see the true picture of the Ole Miss Rebels. There vision is only animated. Those drinks that you were imbibing could not have “Bud Light”, because Bud Light make see and me believe a whole different picture of the Rebs. Eight wins and it could go higher depending on the breaks of the game. Satch, careful what you watch over the airwaves it could be brainwashing and you not even know it.

  20. rwriffe Says:

    Jimmy Barbee, What are you drinking? What is so much better this year than the team that went 0 for 8 in the SEC last year? Or are you just being the hopeful fan?:) Oh yea, the Nutt has taken the O’s place. maybe 5 and 7.

  21. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    rwriffe, all excited!!!! we ask you to get excited too!!!! joins us!!! But sorry to say the excitement dies out when that Dawg offense is mentioned. Our hearts go out, with sadness, to that great Dawg defense, who had to work so hard last season just to achieve a winning season and a Liberty bowl victory.

  22. rwriffe Says:

    LOL, I am excited about my dawgs. I’m just not sure what there is to be excited about in the grove.

  23. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Don’t forget in 2006, MSU won just 3 games before 8 last year without a proven qb. Based on that I can see the same with Ole Miss, especially if the qb is as good as advertised. I mean, they were close in several games a year ago. Just saying.

  24. rwriffe Says:

    I know that with both of our programs there is a fine line between being 8 and 4 or 4 and 8. I’m just poking a little fun at JB. Trust me, I realize that we could have easily been 6 and 6 or worse last year if not for the defense. A lot of things went our way especially on defense. I also realize that Ole Miss could have a lot of things go their way this year and have that same type year. I just have to gouge a little for fun.

  25. farley662 Says:

    I’m more confident OM will be better than I am in our chances this year. We were also close in several games last year and just don’t right lucky in 3 games.

  26. farley662 Says:

    down right lucky. Man, it’s been a long Monday of dogging the dawgs!

  27. rwriffe Says:

    I still have the opinion that we will continue improving on offense and feel the defense will shine. I may be proven wrong but with the improvements in the talent level we can be top tier of the west division once again. I’m not nieve enough to believe that we will be playing for the west title yearly. But I feel that we can be in it any given year on a regular basis as can Ole Miss. Especially with Nutt at the helm. This year however, with them having a new coach and him needing time to get them firing on all cylinders I feel that our chances for continuing to get better are more likely than them having a 8 win season.

  28. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Don’t be a dogger, Farley.

  29. rwriffe Says:

    nieve, is that right? I’ll have to check 🙂

  30. farley662 Says:

    If they win 8 games this year and he doesn’t win coach of the year, I’m picketing and singing Kumbaya while holding Pete Boone’s hand.

    I’m trying to be positive GG. It’s hard when you don’t have faith in the main man. You and I have talked about this face to face. I just believe he was a tad lucky and a ton unworthy of the praise. Not sure what the hype is all about.

  31. rwriffe Says:

    Farley, I don’t necessarily buy into all the hype that some offer but Croom had to bring us back from the dead. I mean from the worst shape we had been in for a long time and he has done it through a lot of adversity and is doing his best to do it right. It’s tough recruiting kids to Starkville and Oxford and coaches for either of our teams have their hands full putting winning programs together. I don’t know, maybe I want a winning program so bad that I have blinders on. I hope not.

  32. farley662 Says:

    I agree rwriffe. Guess I just miss Jackie. Never a dull moment with Jackie. Liked his personality better. Croom is a little too over bearing at times. But, I don’t root for the coach. I root for State. Or, as some have told me, I can’t root for State if I don’t have a man crush on Croom. Guess I can’t be a Democrat since I’m not voting for Obama. Dang life and all it’s rules!

  33. rwriffe Says:

    I have to admit that I was a huge fan of Jackie. Even though it was no secret that trouble followed everywhere he went. I really had blinders on when it came to him. But as much as people put a lot of stock in a coach “doing it right” (which I am guilty of) winning tends to make you overlook those negative things. I just hope for MSU that Croom continues to make them toe the line and still be able to recruit and compete for west titles. I really like the fact that he truly seems genuine in his Love for MSU. I mean how many coaches cry after a game the way he did after the Ole Miss game. Man, you have to love that.

  34. rwriffe Says:

    Oh, Farley I forget where but I saw that video the other day of Jackie and Tommy West having words after one of the Memphis games. It was funny.

  35. farley662 Says:

    I loved how Jackie had no problem taking a dig t a rival. the fact he always called OM Mississippi made me happy.

  36. rwriffe Says:

    he pretty much didn’t give a crap. He caught a lot of flack and when it came he would fire right back. I miss him but man he just lost control there the last few years.

  37. bigdraws Says:

    He did good until he let the inmates start running the asylum. He totally lost control of the program. And yes, I was a big fan of him.

  38. carwwest Says:

    i like jackie a lot but that was the down fall of his career at state…he lost the repsect and control of his players….no one can say jackie didnt know how to coach though….the man won a lot of games in his career….for what its worth tommy west is a good guy too….he recruited me and offered me a scholarship when all the other schools gave up on me after i tore my leg up…..tommy west i think would be a very successful coach at a bigger school…..

  39. bigdraws Says:

    I think when your the Memphis coach you have to take chances like that on players.

  40. Gregg Ellis Says:

    carwwest, I like Tommy West a lot, but I think the fans at Clemson might argue your “successful coach at a bigger school” theory.

  41. carwwest Says:

    ha yeah but he wasnt just a dud there though…he had a few winning seasons…..i dont think he is just a gem of a coach but he is honest and seems like a good man….

  42. Gregg Ellis Says:

    He’s by far my favorite coach to ever interview. He’s a straight shooter, and I like that. And he’s funny.

  43. farley662 Says:

    Any word on Coach yet GG?

  44. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Whatcha mean, farley?

  45. farley662 Says:

    How is Coach McCorvey doing? You honestly didn’t think I was talking about that “other” coach did ya?

  46. Gregg Ellis Says:

    From what I’m told, he’s doing good.

  47. farley662 Says:

    Good.

  48. farley662 Says:

    So, what’s wrong with him? Figured you might be in a more sharing mood. You tell ole boy to go to hell this morning?

  49. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Nah. I’m more in the integrity mood. I was asked by his family not to disclose his medical condition, so, I’m going to honor that request.

  50. farley662 Says:

    Good for you.

Leave a Reply

