You, ma’am, are an idiot

by

OK. As we tend to do a couple of times a year, we’re going to take a momentary break from sports.

This morning, as I was perusing CNN to find out who Barak Obama’s running mate might be, I came across this story about schools spanking wayward children.

And in this piece, Alice Farmer, an author and supposedly expert on discipline, is quoted as saying, “Every public school needs effective methods of discipline, but beating kids teaches violence, and it doesn’t stop bad behavior. Corporal punishment discourages learning, fails to deter future misbehavior and at times even provokes it.”

Really? Really? Again, really?

Well, allow me to pipe in.

I remember one afternoon during my 7th grade science class a friend and I decided we would throw paper balls as hard as we could to each other when our teacher, Roger Chism, wasn’t looking.

The problem, though, came when I misfired and nailed Coach Chism in the face just as he was turning around. Let’s just say my school didn’t have a problem with corporal punishment. Three licks later, I learned my lesson. It didn’t provoke violence within me, and I didn’t make that mistake again.

Same thing happened when I got bold enough to talk back to my dad during my early teenage years. Again, lesson learned. A very painful lesson at that.

The same type of lesson my son learned six years ago when I came home after work to discover he was practicing his golf swing on the hood of my wife’s car. He nailed the ball dead center into the windshield and shattered it. Needless to say, I had a pretty good aim moments later.

Is he violent? Nope. Nor is he a trouble maker.

And no. I didn’t beat him. And nor did I ever get a beating. They were just good spankings that definitely left a lasting impression. Sorry, Mrs. Farmer. There is a difference between beating a child and spanking them. A big, big difference.

But now, our extreme liberals say we shouldn’t do that.

You know what? Maybe that’s what’s wrong with society today. We’ve wussiefied our discipline to the point kids aren’t afraid of getting into trouble. There is no fear.

And it’s not just in the homes. We see it from our athletes.

Used to, if a player got in trouble, there was a severe suspension levied. Now, not so much. Coaches make so much money, they feel the pressure to win, even at the risk of keeping a troubled star on the team with very little recourse.

Spanking teaches violence? Whatever.

Remember, spare the rod and spoil the child. Well, into today’s translation it would read, spare the spanking and you get a spoiled brat.

In my own household, the wooden spoon was the trick. Most times, I didn’t have to use it. After a few discipline sessions, all I had to do was point to the spoon if trouble of a different nature arose. Trust me when I say that worked.

Some of you will disagree with me and that’s totally fine. But if your little Johnny comes to my house and isn’t respectful, don’t be shocked if he’s not allowed to come back.

Good day.

113 Responses to “You, ma’am, are an idiot”

  1. cowbellpresident Says:

    Kick his ass Seabass – Agreed

  2. bigdraws Says:

    You hit the nail on the head. It’s a family tradition in my family. You screw up, you pay the piper. Instead of a spoon my mom had a thick yard stick. After a few “sessons” all she had to do is smack it on the floor. We knew what that meant. She still has it to this day. Works with all the grandkids too. Heck, I still flinch when I hear that thing.

  3. thingreenline Says:

    Totally agree.

    And if Biden isn’t chosen as Obama’s running mate, I’ll be in total shock.

  4. thingreenline Says:

    I always got the belt

  5. bookerdawg Says:

    Wow…I was just having a conversation about this very thing this morning with a coworker.

    100% agreement here. Gutsy post in today’s society…but still 100% correct.

  6. thingreenline Says:

    Next topic for GG: How to rescue the polar bears

  7. farley662 Says:

    I’m calling the Department of Human Services on you. Poor lilellis. You try to whip Aedan and it’s on head!

  8. BirdZ! Says:

    I agree with farley. Spanking is wrong.

  9. farley662 Says:

    Let me guess, Proverbs? Spare the rod spoil the child? I don’t see how beating a child discourages them from anything. All it does is makes them afraid of you, not respect you. Raise the kid right and they won’t need to be beaten.

  10. 2thdoc Says:

    A rolled up DJ paper works well with my daughter…she hears me rolling it up and I hardly ever have to use it. That neighbors section is pretty thick sometimes so makes a good cracklin noise to get their attention.

  11. farley662 Says:

    Least you found a use for the DJ 2th. Our we donate to the Humane Society to catch the cat poop.

  12. BirdZ! Says:

    In this day and age, I don’t see why we need to resort to beating our kids to make them do right. Just bribe them with M & M’s, so they will be good.

  13. roastbeef1 Says:

    I disagree farley with the raise the kid right and they won’t need to be beaten statement. My father and mother both would whip me growing up if I did something wrong. Would I fear them? Only when I did something wrong but I also respected them. And yes, I was brought up right. I wouldn’t go party in high school or get in any type of trouble in school. I would go hang with friends after school and participated in sports and other extracurricular activities, but I wouldn’t drink or do drugs. Now here I am fixing to get a college degree.

    I think whippings/spankings what ever you want to call them are fine.

  14. theconquistador2 Says:

    Agree 100%.

    As Arthur Spooner (Jerry Stiller) said on an episode of King of Queens…”This belt’s not just for holding up my pants”

  15. bigdraws Says:

    And I don’t think there’s anything wrong with a little fear. Your their father, not one of their buddies. People like that just need to mind their own damn business and let everyone raise their own kids.

  16. shmuley Says:

    Only a fool dismisses proper discipline, which includes the well-placed, well-timed, properly administered scourge to the backside. “Whom the Lord loves, He disciplines, and He scourges every son he receives. Hebrews 12:4, et seq. Scourge = whip.

    Show me a “father” who refuses to lovingly discipline his foolish child with a scourging properly administered and I’ll show you a “father” who misapprehends what it means to love his son in the manner that God loves His children. You get precious few opportunities in this life to properly model the Love of God to your kids. It’s best to model the WHOLE picture, not just the aspects you think your kids will like.

  17. bleedmaroon Says:

    I was in youth ministry for 8 years and you can tell which kids parents spanked their kids and which ones didn’t. The kids who received spankings were more respectful, easier taught, payed better attention, and listed to you when you told them no meant no. Maybe it does put a fear into a child, but that same respectful fear is one that our Lord expects us to have of Him.

  18. muddawgs33 Says:

    BirdZ, I guess your kids would make good politicians then.

    Farley, having to spank your kids doesn’t mean that you aren’t raising your kids right. You also act like fear is a bad thing. I know I sure don’t. Fear keeps me from playing with snakes and alligators as well as playing in a busy street. I know it made me think twice about doing things that were wrong, when I knew the consequences where going to be a spanking.

  19. shaunbbassin Says:

    “You know what? Maybe that’s what’s wrong with society today. We’ve wussiefied our discipline to the point kids aren’t afraid of getting into trouble.”

    I have never seen it written or heard it said in those words but that dead on. I got the belt at home and the paddle at school, oh yea and the fly swatter or peach switch at grandmothers. Didnt make me aggresive or love them any less. Just knew what No meant.

  20. farley662 Says:

    You calling me a fool cause I don’t have a whooping stick that I brandish anytime my child might start crying at 3am in the morning? Some of you folks amaze me.

  21. 2thdoc Says:

    Along the lines of education GG, too many parents don’t want to take responsibilty for raising their kids right and in my opinion this should include a good ole butt whooping every now and then. Not to meet a quota or anything but when it’s needed. Alot of times when kids don’t mind, act crazy, fighting and biting other kids, screaming in a store unfortunately you will find a lazy parent close by who chose not to take the time to “instill” the rights from the wrongs. Just simple things like saying “yes maam” and “thankyou” take time to become habits but the kids that won’t do it when they are older were never made to say it when they were young. Blame it on whatever you want but I blame it on lazy parents for the most part.

  22. Braves Dawg Says:

    the spankings flow freely at the tepee!

  23. 2thdoc Says:

    East Tupelo style.

  24. roastbeef1 Says:

    Farley, the first time little Aedan starts pouring kool aid all over the new carpet or something along those lines, I can’t see you putting him in timeout or saying “that’s no ok”.

  25. BirdZ! Says:

    Muddawgs33, I was just being sarcastic. I tried to make that obvious by

    1. Agreeing with farley
    2. Throwing in the M&M’s comment

    I think that a properly administered spanking is perfectly fine. I spank my daughter from time to time. I have made the mistake of spanking out of anger, rather than love. For that, I am regretful. My temper gets in the way of real discipline sometimes.

  26. bigdraws Says:

    No prayer in schools, no spankings at a bunch of em. Before too long they’ll get rid of text books cause the kids might get a paper cut.

  27. Braves Dawg Says:

    manners are also taught in my home. they need reminding, but they know when i say “use your manners” to say sir and mam, please and thank you. we remind them in public and praise them when they do it. they are only 3 & 4 but it will be second nature before too long. i hear they don’t make the kids say it in school anymore.

  28. bully4prez Says:

    “I think that a properly administered spanking is perfectly fine.”

    Thats what she said.

    LOL!!! nice one bird!

  29. BirdZ! Says:

    Is that another reference to me looking like Steve Carrell?!?!?!?!

  30. warbirdz44 Says:

    Farley, you couldn’t be more wrong. How can you say that spanking is wrong when every single example in this thread proves otherwise. Have you ever noticed that most school shootings happen up north in more liberal states? Why? Because parents/schools were too big a wussies to discipline their kids right while they were children. (And I do consider myself a liberal BTW, but this part of liberal belief is ridiculous IMO)

    BTW, on another topic, I start at Tulane this weekend so I might not post as much as I used to any more but I’ll still check in from time to time!

  31. 2thdoc Says:

    Good luck warbirdz at Tulane.

  32. bigdraws Says:

    good luck warbirdz, and try to stay away from bourbon st.

  33. imabulldog Says:

    GG, I saw where you posted this, we hear so much about this in the educational field. You can’t touch a child these days. Spare the rod, spoil the child…but again why should they listen to what the Bible has to say about that, the world ignores what it has to say about everything else.

    You can hardly give a child a pat on the back for doing good

  34. imabulldog Says:

    BTW, CNN is the perfect place to find PC junk like that

  35. bigdraws Says:

    I could never be a teacher. They’d have me mad enough to choke one of em. Kinda like Homer chokes Bart with both hands around the neck. “why you little….”

  36. imabulldog Says:

    I like that Braves, the tepee HA! 🙂

  37. oxfordrebel Says:

    Farley, if someone spanks their kid for just crying at 3 am, that’s wrong. If a parent spanks their kid for arguing and refusing to go to sleep at 3 am, and then cries to get his way, he needs a belt. I don’t see how you can’t see that.

    I guess we’re all wrong since farley is the only one that thinks that spanking is wrong. And I agree with roastbeef, when Aeden is 2 or 3 years old, and he addamently refuses to do what you say or he purposefuly does something he knows is wrong, I think you might change your mind.

    Liberals, geesh…

  38. warbirdz44 Says:

    Stay away from bourbon street? That’s crazy talk! 😉

  39. farley662 Says:

    Here’s an idea, let me raise my own son and you beat the shit outta yours. We’ll see how it works out. I can guarantee I’ll never take a belt to my kids. I started out just having a little fun with you guys. After hearing some of you, I can understand how people feel that way. There is never a situation when a kid should be hit with anything. Spoon, belt, fly swatter, etc. And when Aedan is 2 or 3 years old he will have been taught right from wrong and will not addamently refuse to do anything. You high and mighty conservatives make it hard to be a Christian. I’m a spirit filled person, but don’t want to be grouped in the same category as the gun toting, hate spewing, religious right. I’m done with this topic. The fact that I have people telling me how to raise my son pisses me off. You go through what i’ve been through and then come to me. Tell then, shut the hell up.

  40. bigdraws Says:

    Common now warbirdz. You got time to drink, you got time to blog.

  41. dustydawg Says:

    I think you are all missing the point, the lady did not say she didn’t enjoy a little spankin’ ’round the house. She just don’t want it bein’ done at scholl by someone else and her miss all the fun.

  42. tupelodent Says:

    In the words of Bill Cosby “Let the beatings commence”

  43. farley662 Says:

    As draws said, “People like that just need to mind their own damn business and let everyone raise their own kids.”

  44. bigdraws Says:

    And I stand by that comment.

  45. 2thdoc Says:

    Where you been hiding tupelodent? You must be getting fired up to see that offense “light it up” this year.

  46. shmuley Says:

    That’s some excellent self control there, Farley.

    And, I’m curious. Was it OK for the OB/GYN to induce pain when your child was delivered so as to encourage clearance of the lungs? Is it OK with you if my good friend hits his teenage daughter with cystic fibrosis in the back so she can breathe? Or are those also situations where it is “never” OK to hit a child?

    Raise your son however damn well you please. It’s your responsibility.

    But where do you get off flipping this around like you didn’t start it with your “calling DHS” bullsh!t?

  47. bigdraws Says:

    He’s been cleaning teeth. Unlike some dentists I know who fool around on the computer all day.

  48. tupelodent Says:

    2thdoc beats his kids so hard I can hear it across the lake

  49. tupelodent Says:

    I’ve been sitting back lurking, nothing to add about MSU. Just wait and see with the offense. We’ll probably suck but what else is new.

  50. BirdZ! Says:

    “He’s been cleaning teeth. Unlike some dentists I know who fool around on the computer all day.”

    or their iphone.

  51. corinthdawg Says:

    I have a six year old girl and a 20 month old son. I have seen too many parents say that they don’t spank, they send the kid to timeout. That may work for some, although I have yet to see it, but my kids do not respond to that (and I’m pretty sure most other kids don’t either). I think that when spanking your kids, it’s all about intent. I don’t intend to hurt them, physically. I intend on making a lasting impression on them so that they’ll remember the consequences.

  52. farley662 Says:

    That was a joke. Everyone knew it. And yeah, you got the point on the hitting thing. Good point about the self control. I only had everyone talking down to me. I’m supposed to be the good little b***h and take it. Sorry. You have put me in my place. So sorry.

  53. thingreenline Says:

    I take it that farley was one of the kids that didn’t get disciplined; and we see how he turned out…..

  54. shmuley Says:

    I can see your children will have an excellent role model.

    You were never spanked, were you?

  55. farley662 Says:

    I got beat by an alcoholic.

  56. thingreenline Says:

    There’s a difference in teaching your kids right from wrong through “persuasive” guidance and beating the crap outta your kids when intoxicated.

    And if that’s true, how come you’re not anti-alcohol?

  57. muddawgs33 Says:

    “And when Aedan is 2 or 3 years old he will have been taught right from wrong and will not addamently refuse to do anything.”

    Thanks for the laugh… I will tell you what, if you can get your 2 or 3 yr old to know right from wrong and not adamently refuse anything, then open a school up and I’ll send you my kids to teach.

  58. thingreenline Says:

    I think King Farley went to his room to pout

  59. BirdZ! Says:

    I think too many of you turned this into a personal attack (on both sides), rather than simply stating your opinon and having a rational discussion.

  60. Gregg Ellis Says:

    BirdZ, I agree.

    I was hoping for civil discussion. I should have know better, but hey, whatcha gonna do.

    So please, just state your opinions without attacking others for their view. I know, I know. I started it. Still . . .

  61. meridiandog Says:

    I saw that story too:

    If you take away the option of whipping, how do you discipline?

    Oh I forgot this excellent method.

    “Now Johnny, you don’t want the world to be disappointed in you, do you? Why don’t you take a three minute time out and think about that?”

    Works for me (not).

  62. phillydawg Says:

    I actually created an account just to respond to farley. It is ludicrous to think anyone on here is advocating beating a child and to continue to suggest so, farley, is nothing less than foolish. Everyone on here is talking of d-i-s-c-i-p-l-i-n-e and believe me there is a difference. You go ahead and raise your son the way you see fit, no one is denying you that right. But know this: your pie-in-the-sky ideal that when Aedan is 2 or 3 years old he will have been taught right from wrong and will not addamently refuse to do anything” will come crashing to the ground many, many times throughout your life. I will promise you that. Children need, and crave definitive boundaries and if you think a “time-out” is anything more than a line in the sand you are sorely mistaken. As a Christian I will be praying for you and your son that you will not face many of the trials I am most certain you will if you do not wake up and face reality.

    God Bless.

  63. thingreenline Says:

    ……..? Unless I’ve missed something, I’m not sure where the conversation supposedly got out of hand. I’m comparing this with all the previous discussions that have been on this site.

  64. BirdZ! Says:

    thingreenline, right about 11:52 and 11:57 am today.

  65. farley662 Says:

    Guys, I’m sorry if I attacked anyone. As far as trials and tribulations go philly, we’ve shared enough for a lifetime in the 8 weeks he’s been alive. You guys try having to worry about your child living and dying from the day he was born and try not having a more liberal view of spankings. I am thankful everyday that I have him. If the doctor would have not caught his heart defect even an hour later, he would have died. I’m still having to prepare for another major surgery in about six months. He has to have a full open heart repair. Stress is hard to control when you know that is on the horizon. I lost my temper and am sorry. We are over $300, 000 in debt from the “minor” heart surgery he had. I’m sure some of you either did not know of the situation or just plain don’t care. The fact that my character was judged, thats up to you. I try everyday to be the man my son deserves. I try everyday not to break down and cry because I’m worried about him. Anytime he’s asleep, I catch myself stirring him because I’m afraid he’s not breathing. The fact that we are worried how we are going to pay hospital bills, buy his $400 a month medicine, $75 a week supplement to make him gain weight starts to take a toll. I only hope I can be the father he deserves, not the one so many of you are convinced I’m doomed to be.

  66. bully4prez Says:

    i just have a problem with my kid whipping me. i don’t think that’s right.

    and birdZ pecks his kids.

  67. thingreenline Says:

    Yeah, that’s pretty personal, but I’m was meaning that I’ve seen past discussions get a lot more heated and name-calling than this. Politicians get more offensive than this. Oh well.

  68. bully4prez Says:

    crap. that was bad timing. I didn’t see Farley’s post before i posted mine. my bad.

  69. thingreenline Says:

    yeah, bad timing on my part, too

  70. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Oxfordrebel, it could have been a bad time to visit the Dawg kennel today. Gregg threw in a bone today and those dawggies are ripping it to pieces. I will agree with most of them, my mother had a peach tree growing in the back yard with not many limbs attached. She remove those limbs and used them on me. I appreciate what she did and loved her very much for impressing up me that I should have been a good boy.

  71. thingreenline Says:

    Way to go GG. Why don’t you bring the up the topic of a woman’s right to choose tomorrow?

  72. bully4prez Says:

    Jimmy B, everybody here knows you whip your great-great-great-great-grandkids. and everybody knows the Sgt. Major whips you.

  73. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Then I will start displaying my McCain for president again.

  74. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    bully man, you are not suppose to tell that.

  75. jbuzz74 Says:

    Hey guys, im a campus minister at MSU’s meridian campus and have read all the remarks being said. Farley, you have been in my prayers. I have a 5 month old son named Samuel who i would die for and can understand some of what you are going through just not to your extent. Every parent deserves the right to raise their children, and every child is different and should be handled differently. But every child is born with a sin nature and they will make poor choices just as we all have. When those choices are made it is our God given responsibility to discipline our children. The discipline can take many forms, but in all those forms love must be the driving force of the discipline. It is no different than how God deals with his children. there were times in my life that the “spanking” was needed. There were times when it was not. I believe no child should be beaten, but that is a long way from a spanking to discipline your child out of love. It is my prayer that we can all find the most effective way to discipline our children, each one special, each one different. For some spanking may be something that is not needed, but if it is let us not spank out of anger but out of love and then take the time to explain that when we sin there are consequences. It is a lesson we should all learn and one we should be reminded of often. God bless, Go Bulldogs

  76. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    jbuzz God Bless you. Could you move your ministry up to Starkville campus.

  77. theconquistador2 Says:

    So, how’s the weather in North MS? How bout them Cubs? Only 10 more days till Ruston.

  78. jbuzz74 Says:

    JB, i wish i could, that would be a dream come true, but God has me here

  79. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    I understand, God Bless. Jimmy

  80. jbuzz74 Says:

    And farley that was not directed just to you, hope it didnt seem like i was

  81. thingreenline Says:

    theconquistador2, it has looked like it would rain all day, but hasn’t done so. At least not in Tupelo.

  82. shmuley Says:

    Farley,

    Didn’t know about all that. Hey, my prayers go out to you and your family.

    Certainly didn’t know we were talking about a 2 month old child either. No child under the age of 12 months should be spanked in the traditional sense. Ever. I want to be clear about that. I thought we were talking about a child that has the capacity to willfully disobey.

    And, buck up. You’ve got the capacity to be humble, so the Lord is free to pour grace on your situation. Romans 8:28.

  83. muddawgs33 Says:

    Same here Farley. Didn’t know the situation, but I understand where you are coming from. My prayers are with you and your family and I know God will keep his hand on your family during these troubling times.

  84. Gregg Ellis Says:

    Ha, thingreenline. After today, not sure I need to do this again. I’m whupped. Oops. Wrong word to use today.

    I will say I’ve enjoyed everyone’s thoughts today. Sometimes, it’s just fun to talk something other than sports.

    I do worry about posting such blogs. And I certainly don’t want to come across as selfrightoues. Just a change of pace. In my profession, that’s hard to do. Everywhere I go or anytime I meet knew people, they want to talk about sports. And it’s hard to change the subject most times.

    Hope you all understand.

  85. bamaman Says:

    I know this is off-topic, but does anyone know what is going on with the jumbotron at MSU? Will it be up before the first game or is it a longer term project. Also, is it going to be just on one column ? I walk past it yesterday and I couldn’t tell what it was going to look like when its done.

  86. Gregg Ellis Says:

    They hope to have it done. The screen will stretch from one end of the building to the next. Trust me, it’s going to be big, bamaman.

  87. thingreenline Says:

    I think it would be kinda interesting to pick a day of the week to delegate as “controversial topic day.” Gay rights, abortion, the war in Iraq, is it safe to sleep with a chick from Ole Miss…..you name it.

    Good times.

  88. BirdZ! Says:

    The goal is for the MTSU game. There is a pic in the link below.

    http://www.mstateathletics.com/ViewArticle.dbml?SPSID=90889&SPID=10997&DB_OEM_ID=16800&ATCLID=1505675

  89. BirdZ! Says:

    Good one, TGL.

  90. Braves Dawg Says:

    LOL TGL!!!!

  91. thingreenline Says:

    I doubt the scratch-n-sniff test is sufficient in making that determination. You just never know these days.

  92. therickmister Says:

    I saw that someone mentioned “spare the rod and spoil the child”. Proverbs actually says “he that spares the rod hates his child”. However, the term rod in wisdom literature does not always mean a beating with a stick, but discipline in general. Just as Christ disciplines His children with the “rod and staff”.
    I am not saying that it cannot mean capital punishment, but just that it does not automatically parallel the term “rod” with a beating. We need discernment when and when not to use capital punishment as a form of discipline.

  93. thingreenline Says:

    You ever see the SNL skit where the guy tries to make points in a conversation well after the subject changed?

  94. Braves Dawg Says:

    capital punishment? nobody is talking about getting a lethal injectio here. glad i’m not your kid! LOL

  95. bigdraws Says:

    “theconquistador2 Says:

    August 20, 2008 at 3:46 pm
    So, how’s the weather in North MS? How bout them Cubs? Only 10 more days till Ruston”

    It’s raining, screw the cubs, and we better not blow it.
    PS
    Beat them kids!!!!

  96. Braves Dawg Says:

    LMAO!

  97. therickmister Says:

    Yeah, sorry meant corporal punishment… thanks for pointing that out

  98. nashdawg Says:

    I had a 10th grade teacher, Coach Noe, who would start the class every day by taking two guys…Tony & Andy…and give them a paddling. This went on for some time weeks. He was a very big man and the power in that paddle created quite a bang on their rear-ends. These guys were big-time cut-ups. It got to be a highlight of the day for the rest of us in the class. Not advacating such a thing in today’s society, but the funny thing is…Coach Noe is still talked about today in our class reunions. (He has since passed away) It’s called respect, even under such humorous and crazy tactics as this. Ummm….must be something to this discipline thing.

  99. Braves Dawg Says:

    the chair! give em the chair!

  100. thingreenline Says:

    If I had kids, I’d pull out their toenails.

  101. bigdraws Says:

    Mine said Hotty Totty one time and I shaved her head and tatooed a swastika on her head. Not really. I spank her so she don’t act like that.

  102. dawgteacher Says:

    I am a new teacher in NE Mississippi (my 2nd year) and I have always said I would never spank a student…until last year. I only had to do it once – it solved the problem – AND it straightened up the WHOLE class!

    I also make my students say “yes maam/sir” and “please and thank you”. (braves dawg)… I believe every teacher at my school does this! And I just love it. They are only 5 years old but I believe now is the best time to start.

    p.s.- I was spanked as a child…
    Go DAWGS!

  103. dawgx Says:

    Farley I pray for your family daily! May God Bless Aedan and heal his little body. As a father of a 4 month old I know the love you feel everytime you look at him.

    As for the spanking theme…we do spank our oldest son when it is required, youngest is only 4 months old…he will no doubt get his share too. But, we don’t beat him, we simply lovingly correct him. Obivously there are differences of opinions on this subject. It is up to the parents to determine the correct way to properly discipline their children…but discipline is a must however it is done.

  104. jbuzz74 Says:

    Hey Gregg, there was nothing wrong with posting this blog, The problem is not the topic, it is the shortcomings of our words. You as a journalist, and myself as a minister, we have to be wordsmiths. We have to choose our words carefully to fully communicate what we want to say. The problem here is that on a blog the words are void of the nuances of speech such as tone and sarcasm, and we don’t have the aid of body language to help determine if something is said in jest. This just leads us down a bad path that should never trod. Dont steer away from the difficult, just challenge us to be better wordsmith.

  105. skylerdog Says:

    Hardly ever post… had to chime in here. GG 100% correct. There is a major difference between beating your child (abuse) and spanking your child (discipline). I grew up knowing that if I got into trouble I would get to pick out my own switch. Let me tell you people something, the majority of criminals fall into one of two categories. Either they got abused (beat) or they did not get disciplined (never spanked) while growing up. No, I didn’t say all criminals and no I didn’t say all children that got abused or not disciplined (spanked) end up being criminals. AND quit saying spanking is beating, thats like saying going to jail for public drunk is the same as being sentenced to death. Arggggh, some responses on here got me steaming at the way our society is changing, just wait until the next generation turns out. Good luck telling a child to sit in the corner for timeout after throws a rock in the neighbors window. Don’t you understand as a mature adult that children’s minds haven’t developed into an adult yet. His/her conclusion from the previous example will be… hmmm so I can do what I want and the only thing that will happen is that I have to stop playing video games for thirty minutes, what can I can do next. Way to go Parent of the year. I’m done.

  106. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    Damn, good job Gregg.

  107. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    I will say this though. I was whipped, not beat not spanked. I got whuppings. Most times deserved. Did the same as you GG, thougt my pops couldnt tell me what to do and went the a wall damn near.

    Farley, apply for finacial assistance. It help buddy. Not a pride thing.

  108. rwriffe Says:

    Good piece Gregg. I agree with you on this one. I had many spankings as a child and remember some more than others. Rest assured I deserved more than I got. That being the case I couldn’t have any more respect for my parents than I have and couldn’t love them any more.

    Whether someone spanks their child or not when they need it is not where I am the most concerned. I am concerned with the fact that a lot of parents today are not teaching their children the respect they should have for others. Particularly their elders. Things like Yes Sir, No Sir, Yes Maam, No Maam, Thank you and many other forms of respect. Ultimately these problems are due to the breakdown of the family unit. More children are being raised by their Grandparents and teachers more so than at home. And that’s a problem. I feel that if they were being taught right at home the school spankings wouldn’t be as much of an issue.

  109. oxfordrebel Says:

    farley, didn’t mean to step on your toes man, was just making what I thought was a light-hearted jab at you for your different views. If it didn’t come across that way, I apologize. You do have the right to raise Aedan however you deem fit, and I’m sure you’ll do a great job.

    Liberals, they’re so whiny ( 🙂 , joke)

  110. vroya Says:

    When raising my children, 99% of the time, “The Look” was more than enough to keep them in line. But, occasionally you would have to show them that you mean business. My personal rule for spankings was if they were doing – or did something that could injure themselves or others – like running away from me into the street, or playing with the stove or electrical sockets, then I felt it was better I gave them a small amount of controlled pain (read spanking), to keep them from being hurt worse in the future.

    All said – between my five children, I only had to resort to spanking maybe 20 times in 20 years and in my mind it was absolutely necessary. My kids are grown up now – and even joke about those times now. Spanking them – and telling them why they were being punished didn’t harm them or our relationship. Instead, they understood that it was out of love, and they loved me back. Sometimes it took a day or two – but it almost always strengthened our relationship. They now have good kids (that have been spanked from time to time) too.

    I was also an abused child Farley – there is a major difference between loving punishment and abuse. Proper discipline is a necessary part of growing up. Some people never do – and they are still being disciplined. Otherwise we wouldn’t have jails and prisons. Just think of the chaos that would happen if we removed all discipline altogether. We’d be back in the stone age in no time flat.

    Anyway, that’s my .02 worth.

  111. bitchspot Says:

    I agree with you completely, we’re raising a generation of wimps who can’t take responsibility for their actions. I went to a private school and they had no problem pulling out the paddle and whacking kids that deserved it, or taking the ruler to the back of your hand if you acted up in class and because of it, not many people did.

    At home, my mother’s weapon of choice was one of those oversized red plastic baseball bats that they give to little kids to play with whiffle balls. It was too big to cause any real damage but it hurt like the dickens and I sure didn’t do anything that got me swatted twice.

    Today, we have kids that threaten to call Child Protective Services if you even look at them funny. What a bunch of spoiled wimps.

  112. nashdawg Says:

    We have states, like the volunteer one above us, who will take your kids away from if they are spanked/disciplined!

  113. dawgx Says:

    Nashdawg…I live in the volunteer state…and I spank my son. Also my mom is a teacher in rural area of TN and they are still allowed to paddle students!
    That may not last long though…

Leave a Reply

