Time for me to say good-bye

by

At some point in all our lives, we reach that proverbial fork in the road. Do we go left, or do we turn right. Of course, Yogi says to just take it.

Sorry, Yogi, it’s not that easy. At least for me.

For those of you who have encountered that fork, you know the difficulty and emotions that come with facing such decisions. For those of you who haven’t, well, just wait. Inevitably, the day will come.

Well, sports fans, my day has come.

This morning, I made one of the toughest decisions I’ve ever had to make. I handed over my resignation to the Daily Journal.

After 10 years here at the word factory and with a company that’s been like family to me, it’s hard to imagine no longer seeing my name on top of stories and no longer coming to work with some of the most talented writers in the business.

And trust me when I say that every day since Feb. 15, 1999, it’s been an honor and privilege keeping you informed on the comings and goings of everything I’ve covered, whether it’s been the Tupelo T-Rex, Tupelo High School, all the other high schools I’ve been fortunate to visit, Ole Miss or Mississippi State. It’s a privilege I’ve never taken for granted.

Sure. Some of you are jumping up and down with joy that I’m leaving. But hey, at least you read, and at the end of the day, that’s all I could ask for.

But if there’s a facet of my job I’m going to miss the most, it’s the blog. Who would have thought that a couple of years ago when I was first introduced to the blog and told to embrace it.

I can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed checking this site at least 20 times a day and seeing what you all have to say and think. Of course, there have been times that I have been scared to look. Last fall. Cops. Ring a bell?

Needless to say, there are no words that can express my gratitude to you all with how everyone came together when Farley’s son, Aedan, was born with his heart defect. Remarkable. Even to this day, I’m still amazed by the support you all showed. It was human kindness at its greatest.

I know, I know. You’re saying, “Well, if you’re resigning, where are you going?”

Hey, good question.

Actually, not far.

This morning, I was offered a job at Mississippi State to oversee the men’s basketball media relations department. I couldn’t be more excited. I’ve been looking for an opportunity to get back into the field for quite some time, and God opened the perfect door for me.

It’s the best of both worlds. I stay in sports and I get to work at Mississippi State. Guys, life is good, and I know I’m blessed. I keep expecting the world to come crashing down, because I know I don’t deserve my good fortunes.

At the same time, I know it’s going to be a crazy year. My wife is a teacher at Church Street Elementary and is under contract through next semester. Because of that, we won’t move to Starkville until the summer. I never thought I would leave Tupelo, but this is just an opportunity I can’t let pass.

As for this blog and Mississippi State coverage, it will now fall into the trusty hands of Brad Locke. As of now, I’m no longer covering MSU. However, I will help Brad with the transition this week, and officially conclude my duties as a beat writer Saturday in Ruston helping Brad get acclimated to a college beat on deadline. Hopefully, you guys will welcome him with open arms.

Again, I can’t tell you enough what a privilege it’s been to be your beat writer and blogger. It’s surreal to sit here and write a farewell to you all, despite the fact you guys love to make fun of my “big head.”

But I won’t be far away, and when you see me on campus and at basketball games, please make a point to say hello.

What a ride and journey it’s been.

God Bless,
GG

85 Responses to “Time for me to say good-bye”

  1. farley662 Says:

    Congrats GG. Been hard keeping this one quiet all day. Now to all you SOB’s who keep giving me……………..Just joking GG. Can I get a Go State now?

  2. 2thdoc Says:

    Gregg, you are the best and will be missed on here. I know life has some good things in store for you.

  3. rwriffe Says:

    Good for you Gregg. We’ll miss you. I’m glad you’re taking a job with our beloved Bulldogs. I hope things work out for you no matter where lifes road takes you.

  4. Braves Dawg Says:

    It’s been a great pleasure GG. At least now you can participate in avatar days!

    Go State! You got a good one!

  5. themaroonandwhite Says:

    Congrat Gregg…Feel free to give Mr. Locke my email. I’d be glad to remake him a header to his specifications. I’ll remake the current one for temporary use and email to you. Also, I make my home in Starkville. Let me know if you need anything…always looking for good folks to talk sports with. Again, congrats. I just took had to deal with that fork myself and am very happy so far.

  6. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    The best to you Gregg on your new jouney, may God bless you and family. Jimmy Barbee

  7. BirdZ! Says:

    Congrats GG. Best of luck. We’ll miss you, buddy.

  8. skylerdog Says:

    Congratulations GG! I’ve enjoyed your blog and I’ve been reading your articles in the DJ forever. I know you will do a great job for State. God bless you and your family.

  9. carwwest Says:

    congrats GG!! i can honestly say this site is the only reason i “blog”…..thanks for everything and i wish you and your family the best….

  10. dawgface52 Says:

    Congrats GG! That should be a fun job. Will miss you here however. Best wishes and hope to run into you some day on campus.

  11. dadawg Says:

    Congrats GG. God bless you and your family. I hope you get to see more soccer games. Believe me, family is the most important reason to make a decision such as this.

    I enjoyed the blog, and I enjoyed your writing. Hey, you can now root for the DAWGS without having to remain impartial.

    Good luck, and GO DAWGS!!!

  12. dc31 Says:

    Dude

  13. nashdawg Says:

    Hey double-g man, any possibility that you will be continuing a blog with your new position at MSU?

    Sure will miss you here at this blog, but congrats to you and your family on your move to Starkvegas!

  14. bulldoggirl Says:

    Congratulations, Gregg! Sounds like a great opportunity. I’m sure you and your family will love Starkville.

  15. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    Hate to see you leave Gregg. I have been around since the beginning on the DJ site when everybody was bitching anonomously through the transition to wordpress and everybody had to be somebody. Had never been on any blog before and have enjoyed every minute of yours. It’s actually made me one of the most unproductive people in the joint but who cares, right.

    Glad you are part of the family officially now. Thanks to you I have been introduced to a lot of good people. Teach Locke all you can. But I think it’s official you will have no time for fantasy football.

  16. roastbeef1 Says:

    Congrats Gregg and good luck with your new job

  17. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    It takes a hell of a lot guts to leave what you know and enter the unknown. That’s something that I hope to be able to do one day. I admire you Big Head.

  18. Gregg Ellis Leaving Daily Journal - Mississippi State Sports Blog Says:

    […] State beat writer Gregg Ellis of the North Mississippi Daily Journal announced on his blog today that he has turned in his resignation after 10 […]

  19. jeremyflint Says:

    Congrats Gregg! Hate to see you leaving the DJ. I have enjoyed your blogging about State sports.

  20. jcdawgman18 Says:

    Congrats, sir. Maybe I’ll see you around.

  21. thingreenline Says:

    Congrats, GG. I know how crazy work hours can take their toll.

  22. trapper97 Says:

    Congratulations, Gregg. You’re going to work with some great folks in that office and around the league. Best wishes in this new chapter of your life.

  23. bigdraws Says:

    So long buddy. Been fun talking back n forth with ya. Best wishes and God bless.

    Sincerely,
    The underwear family
    Big Draws, Big panties, and Lildraws (soon to be one more)

  24. Tom Says:

    Good for you Gregg. I haven’t commented a lot as of late. Trying to cut back. But, I still read almost all of your posts, especially your hoops posts. God bless you brother.

    Of course you can still log on and comment on your buddy Brad Locke’s blog… if you have time. Just a thought.

  25. bigdraws Says:

    Almost forgot….

    and Barkingdraws, and swimmingdraws.

  26. A New Opportunity « Inside NeMiss High School Sports Says:

    […] a new position at the Daily Journal: Mississippi State beat writer. The estimable Gregg Ellis resigned today to head up MSU’s basketball media relations department. We’ve known this was a […]

  27. theconquistador2 Says:

    Congrats on the new job. At least you’re giving Brad plenty of time to get adjusted before football season starts ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. ericintupelo Says:

    Congrats to you GG and I wish you well in life and all that you do. I truly have enjoyed reading your blog every day and you will be missed. Take care

  29. toddv Says:

    Gregg,

    You’ve done an outstanding job at the Journal. Thanks for all the hard work. Best wishes to you and your family at MSU.

    Todd Vinyard
    Online Editor

  30. bleedmaroon Says:

    Thanks GG for all that you do and all the hard work and the late hours you’ve put in. you’ll be missed. good luck and may God continue to bless you and your family.

  31. Shane Says:

    Good luck and GO DAWGS!

  32. oxfordrebel Says:

    Wow, I’m a little stunned right now.

    Congratulations Gregg, this site has been very fun even for me. I know I don’t post on here that often, but I’ve been reading this blog before you ever came over to wordpress. Good times…

    Hope the best for you, and don’t step in too many cowpatties in The Pasture (aka Starkville) ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. oxfordrebel Says:

    And you need to have your own blog now…just sayin

  34. bigdraws Says:

    oxfordrebel Says:

    August 26, 2008 at 12:18 am
    “Hope the best for you, and donโ€™t step in too many cowpatties in The Pasture (aka Starkville) ”

    Coming from a guy who lives in Mantachie. Go figure.

  35. tupelobizbuzz Says:

    We’ll certainly miss him here at the Daily Journal. He’s a class act, and we couldn’t be happier for him.
    Gregg – good luck from bizbuzz – we know you’ll have the time of your life.
    And if you need a cowbell, we can take care of that for ya.

  36. olemiss1581 Says:

    Dont let the door hit you on the way out. We loved reading about State but you pumped them up like they were national champions, Parrish is the MAN!!!

  37. bigdraws Says:

    GG, nevermind Om1581. He got his “friends” butt plug lodged in his ear this morning. He had to get it removed with a plunger. I think some of the feces may have suctioned back into his head.

  38. Braves Dawg Says:

    good lawd!

  39. dawgbones Says:

    Best of Luck Gregg, we will be seeing you down there. Go Dawgs!!!

  40. dawgintheswamp Says:

    Good luck GG, hope everything will continue to go well for you and your family.

    “He got his โ€œfriendsโ€ butt plug lodged in his ear this morning. He had to get it removed with a plunger. I think some of the feces may have suctioned back into his head.” = Best line ever heard

  41. tupelodent Says:

    Congrats Gregg, have fun in StarkVegas.

  42. imabulldog Says:

    NNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    GG, you will be missed friend. You got where you are today because you are excellent at what you do my friend.

    Have fun in Starkville. I know I would ๐Ÿ™‚

    You will be missed.

    This sucks!

  43. djrebel Says:

    Gregg, I hate that you’re leaving. Can I have your laptop?

    — PA

  44. rwriffe Says:

    olemiss1581, you my friend are simply wrong. Gregg’s coverage of MSU sports has for the most part been spot on. I have always felt that he did as good a job as possilbe when writing about MSU sports. I feel that you are mostly talking about football when you mention the national champion thing and it would have been real easy for him to be negative during his tenure covering MSU football. Considering the product he has had to work with he has in my opinion done an exceptional job. Always saw and wrote about the positives without going over the top and realistic in his coverage around the obvious problems during his time.

    I have a feeling that you see a train (MSU Football Program) coming that just isn’t going to be derailed that will be a major thorn in the ole missy faithful’s side for some time to come and just don’t know how to deal with it.

  45. rwriffe Says:

    That’s funny Parish. Or is it Parrish? ๐Ÿ™‚

  46. dawgintheswamp Says:

    It’s Paris

  47. rwriffe Says:

    Well, I really screwed that up. Just goes to show you how little time I have spent looking at OM coverage LOL. Sorry Paris!

  48. luckydog20 Says:

    Gregg,

    Good luck, God Bless, & GO DAWGS!!

  49. olddognewtriks Says:

    Gregg,

    Over the years I have watched you gain the respect of both the people you covered and your readers. Both as a person and as a reporter. Thanks for your hard work. Best wishes on your new opportunity. You will be working with a great group of people at MSU.

  50. fan4croom Says:

    Gregg,

    I have really enjoyed your blog. MSU wins again!!! With the hiring of Coach Croom to start, next Greg Byrne, next John Cohen, and now GG, MSU is on a roll. I know you will do some great things at State; what a good day to be a bulldog.

  51. tcfan Says:

    Good work Gregg. You’ve done a great job at the DJ and your new job is a reflection of that. May God Bless You in the future!

  52. fan4croom Says:

    We are glad to have you Brad Locke; however, you have some big shoes to fill.

  53. rwriffe Says:

    dawgintheswamp, you were wrong. I had it right with Parrish.

  54. dawgintheswamp Says:

    I was just giving PA1 a hard time

  55. rwriffe Says:

    When you first posted I thought: am i crazy or did I just miss it that bad.

  56. meridiandog Says:

    Gregg:

    First of all, Congratulations!
    You’ll love MSU – I’m certain you already do.

    We’ll miss you. Although I have only posed for a few days, now, I have read your blog for quite a while.

    Here is a plan.

    Start your own blog and then post link to it here.

    There are so few good blogs for the DOgs (you and KV at that other paper). “If you do it, Many will come.”

    It would be a good hobby for you, and nice for us.

    And, Good luck with the new job, Brad. We’ll see you here, soon, we hope.

    GO DOGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  57. joekstewart Says:

    Hate to see you go, I am a die-heart MSU fan. I read everything there is on MSU. And so far your articles are the best I have seen. Your opinions are dead on. I live in Knoxville, TN- the heart of big organge. I read your columns online and blog a time or two. You were good.

    But you have an incrediable offer. I am jealous of that. Good Luck and Go Dogs.

  58. bigdraws Says:

    Hey Joek, I’ll see ya in October. Can’t wait for that one.

  59. bamamanreturns Says:

    Congrats and good luck…see you in Starkghanistan…but you’ll keep the blog up, right?

  60. farley662 Says:

    Ok, so the new guy was born in Oxford and graduated from Ruston High, yes that same Ruston. And he’s a Cardinals fan??????? Damn!

  61. bigdraws Says:

    Steeeeeeeeerrrrriiiiike Threeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!

  62. farley662 Says:

    When’s the first column?

  63. Catfish Says:

    The partys is over – time to go to work.

  64. thingreenline Says:

    It’s probly not gonna be like it was with Gregg, boys and gals. I think I remember him posting something on here maybe twice, but it was a while back.

  65. thingreenline Says:

    I think Matt Wyatt should start is own site. I think he checks this one constantly anyway.

  66. bigdraws Says:

    You ever listen to Wyatt’s radio show tgl? I’ve heard Locke on there a few times.

  67. thingreenline Says:

    I’ve heard it a couple times, but I usually forget when it’s on and what channel.
    Not a big terrestrial radio listener anymore.

  68. bigdraws Says:

    I hear ya. I actually enjoy it. Get’s you up to date on juco, high school, and of course state and om. Also has a hunting and fishing segment.

  69. thingreenline Says:

    I’d like to try the place where he does the show from. I haven’t even eaten at The Grill yet. But, I’m little weary on eating there now. I ate at The Grill in Starkville two weeks ago, and my girlfriend was sick the next morning. She had the chicken strips. Then, the next week, two of her co-workers got sick after eating the same thing at the one in Tupelo. Makes you wonder about where they get there chicken from.

  70. thingreenline Says:

    Ok, Brad, it’s time to get off your ass and post a new board. It’s not like you just found out yesterday about the change. Now give us an update on what Croom said today, pronto.

    Just kidding.

  71. bigdraws Says:

    I’ve eaten at both places. I’ve always enjoyed it. You wanna get sick while your eating out, try O’charley’s. I still think they were trying to kill me. Worst I’ve ever felt in my life.

  72. maxdawg Says:

    Hate to see you go GG you will be missed. I think Wyatt’s show is on miss 98 – 97.5 Thingreenline.

  73. maxdawg Says:

    I forget from 5pm to 7

  74. plantdoc Says:

    GG congratulations on your new job. Thanks for the memories.

  75. Brad Locke Says:

    Guys, let me say how touched I am about all your comments. My ego is bigger than my head. As I said in the post, it was a great ride and I’ll be checking in every day reading and seeing what you all have to say.

    And now I can officially say, Go Dogs!

    Oh, and Brad, get to work.

  76. cnd46 Says:

    Good luck GG, hope to see you on campus sometimes

  77. olemiss1581 Says:

    Well th stock of the Daily Journal just went sky high!!! Brad, good luck, trust me its not that hard to cover MSShoe sports. But at least they got a guy that knows what hes doing. Gregg fits right in, down there in the middle of no where. They will need all the help they can get from the recruits Stansbury looses. Maybe he will help Hansborough pack his bags….good luck Gregg, you wont need it

  78. rwriffe Says:

    1581, you are an ass!

  79. bigdraws Says:

    He’s just mad that gregg is headed to the perrenial SEC west champ.

  80. Braves Dawg Says:

    and the oxford area is some sort of sprawling metropilos.

  81. warbirdz44 Says:

    Wow, I miss 2 days on here and miss the big news. Good luck GG!

  82. olemiss1581 Says:

    Well the Oxford is on the way to memphis, Tunica, Tupelo, Jackson, and has endless routes that go through it. What does StarkHELL have? The indians??? lol You guys over there have to set out to get to State. Its on the way to nowhere, whoever goes there is a nobody, and it looks like just a bunch of people running around wearing the same color as sh%#…And it also looks like the State of Mississippi just up and decided to build something somewhere out in the middle of nowhere. Look at the bright side, west point is a growing area…..(laugh laugh) Like I said, middle of nowhere

  83. bully4prez Says:

    you laught a lot

  84. bully4prez Says:

    you laffed a lot

  85. bully4prez Says:

    you laughed a lot

Leave a Reply

