A Formal Introduction

by

Good gosh, is it only Tuesday?

It has been a crazy, exciting two days. Day 1 in Starkville went well. Met some nice folks – hope I remember their names – and got the lay of the land. Since taking over for Gregg on Monday, my feelings have swung between excitement and nervousness. The dominant emotion now is excitement, and I expect it will remain that way.

I was walking across campus today, taking in its sprawling beauty – there’s just something about a college campus – and felt like I was in the right place.

Anyway, yes, farley, I was born in Oxford and lived a while in Ruston. Ironic, no? I’ve been with the Journal since 2002 and would like to stay here a while. I love the area, I love my state.

What I have learned by observing Gregg’s coverage of this beat – and it’s been driven home thanks to the blog – is that this isn’t “my” beat. I can’t do this job alone, and I’m not doing it just for me. I have a university and a broad, passionate fan base to answer to. My goal is to provide fair, thorough coverage, without being a homer. There is a fine line between being a cheerleader and an advocate. I wish nothing but the best for MSU and its people, but I won’t be one to sugarcoat whatever misfortunes may befall them. I think that is the approach Gregg took, and he set a fine journalistic example.

I have covered high schools for several years, but never a college team exclusively. I have no doubts I can make the transition; my main concern is getting settled in during the most hectic time of the year. But it’s also a fun time of year, so I’m sure my stress will be counterbalanced by the joy my job brings me.

Another thing Gregg did well that I want to emulate is the way he weaved himself into the MSU community, and that begins by building relationships. I look forward to getting to know Sylvester Croom and the rest of the coaching staff, Mike Nemeth and his athletic staff, the players, and you. I’ve come to appreciate the passion and knowledge y’all bring to this beat. (Huh? There’s what on my nose? Hold on …)

One more thing I bring to the table, and I might actually surpass Gregg in this department: my giant noggin. A 7 1/2 cap size, baby. And that’s with a shaved head.

If you’ve got any questions, I know you won’t hesitate to ask. Talk to you tomorrow.

29 Responses to “A Formal Introduction”

  1. farley662 Says:

    That’s a noggin! Welcome aboard Brad. As long as you’re not a Gene Phelps rah rah rah’r and Kyle Veazey “I wish I was in Oxford’r”, you’ll be ok by me.

  2. chrisfromcorinth Says:

    Ok, Locke-smith. I’m gonna give you a shot. Don’t want you to be a homer. Give us what we don’t have access to and a lot of times we’ll pull this train. But you gotta get in the mix. That’s how GG made this thing what it is.

  3. thingreenline Says:

    See Brad, if you give the parrot a cracker, he can’t wait to keep talking. But if you ignore him, he’ll go away for a while.

  4. themaroonandwhite Says:

    what farley said.

  5. thingreenline Says:

    What is this, Chris, the freaking mafia?

  6. farley662 Says:

    Do you have to be an ass all the time TGL? I’ve never said a cross word about you. Never. The last week you’ve taken every opportunity you can to bash me. If you feel so strongly, do it in another fashion. I’m not arguing with anyone anymore. Stop being a dick for no reason.

  7. farley662 Says:

    Correction, not until the last week have I said anything negative about you. I have this week. Won’t lie.

  8. thingreenline Says:

    I’ll admit, I’ve been on a mean streak lately.

    farley and “not arguing” in the same sentence. I seriously doubt that.

  9. farley662 Says:

    I’ve got enough going on in my life right now to worry about crap like this. I’ve done my best to let it roll of my shoulders. I’m not trying to argue, I just want you to stop bashing me for no reason. I have not called anyone out like you’ve done me in a long long time. Go through what I’ve been through and it changes you. I still have a wild, opinionated streak, but it’s not as out there. The best interest of my family is all that matters. Whatever I’ve done to offend you, I’m truly sorry.

  10. Clubfoot Says:

    Embrace your “normus noggin” I got ya at 7 3/4. Good luck with this group. I have been reading for a while and frankly farley, intimidates me.
    Good Luck with the new job.

  11. farley662 Says:

    Sorry to you too foot.

  12. thingreenline Says:

    I check this site to read, and ask questions, about stuff pertaining to State athletics that I would ordinarily not get the opportunity to. Excuse me if I’ve grown tired of the same old antics from someone who obviously has nothing better to do than constantly whine and complain like a four-year-old.

  13. Clubfoot Says:

    just kidding, hang in there man

  14. farley662 Says:

    I apologized, nothing more I can do. Guess it’s fun to kick someone while they are down.

  15. thingreenline Says:

    I’ve grown to be a firm believer in karma. I’ll leave it at that.

  16. farley662 Says:

    Come on over to my site and continue this.

  17. thingreenline Says:

    ? I don’t go to that site.

  18. thingreenline Says:

    I got a better idea. To to the van, but be sure to take a rubber hose and enough gas to make it idle for 3-4 hours.

  19. 2thdoc Says:

    It’s not karma…that’s a pretty low blow.

  20. thingreenline Says:

    The bar for being unnecessarily mean has now been reset. I’ll call it a night after that. I’m missing Rachael Maddow’s hot lesbian ass do commentary on MSNBC anyway.

  21. dadawg Says:

    And so it begins….

  22. Dapper D Says:

    WTF….personal attack, dude……walk a mile in the man’s shoes before you do that!

  23. nashdawg Says:

    Ugh, Bradley…this blog is getting out-of-control! Man, you’ve got to stay on top of things.

  24. bigdraws Says:

    The first post and this happens. We’re fixin to have more rules than the bizz buzz on here.

  25. Braves Dawg Says:

    play nice!

  26. imabulldog Says:

    I don’t believe in karma…(said in that little, soft, Jim Gaffigan voice)

  27. shmuley Says:

    Shaved head 7.5, huh? That’s a d@mn huge gourd.

    I’ll call you Hydrocephalocke.

  28. dawgface52 Says:

    Again, I welcome you Brad. As you can see, there are a lot of young immature college kids here. At least that is what they act like. I guess that is the norm at most sports blogs though.

    I look forward to your coverage of the Dogs. 🙂

  29. oxfordrebel Says:

    Hey Brad, congrats on getting this job, I know it must be very exciting. Although I technically probably shouldn’t even be over here, I like to offer my share of critique for MSU athletics and have honestly always liked the commrodery over here. If you think what happened last night was a fight, just wait. All you gotta do is offer an opinion piece on anything other than sports and see what happens (ie: “You Ma’am Are An Idiot” post)

    Looking forward to seeing your offerings to the board, and welcome.

Leave a Reply

