Rainy Tuesday

by

I’m sittin’ here in the coffee shop watching it rain. Guess I’ll have to drive to Starkville in this later. This probably means an indoor practice today.

Here is my thoughtful, incisive column for the week. Discuss. And what I wrote raises a question in my mind: Are your expectations for this team as guarded as they were after the Tech loss? Or, put another way, how much encouragement did you draw from Saturday’s win?

Check ya back after the 1 p.m. press conference.

32 Responses to “Rainy Tuesday”

  1. imabulldog Says:

    Good article Brad,

    I feel that we can be competitive, I am definitely confident in that. I just hope we find that point in the game where we have the opportunity to control the game- and that we capitalize on that moment and keep Auby at arms length.

    I think we need to force a TO in one of the first 2 possessions-and get a scoring drive off one of them. This would get the place rocking, and get the wheels in Tubyby’s head turning and debating which QB to use.

    CC said it, and so did the players-We have to play our best football

  2. BirdZ! Says:

    My expectations are always guarded, BL. I pretty much always expect the worst. Just a part of being a MSU fan, I guess.

    Don’t get me wrong, I still cheer just as loudly as the next guy, BUT…

  3. imabulldog Says:

    Brad can I be your assistant to your assistant? 🙂

    Sorry, had to try out the avatar

  4. imabulldog Says:

    which did not work, sorry

  5. imabulldog Says:

    last try

  6. 2thdoc Says:

    I felt like LaTech could possibly be a good team until they got scorched by Kansas. Then that let me know that State had a long way to go. SELA was like another scrimmage game but Auburn will tell me all I need to know even though Auburn is not what I expected them to be this year so far.

    Very guarded for me with a slim chance of pulling out the biggest game of our season trying to start out strong in the SEC West. Best case scenario is Auburn misses a FG in the 4th quarter to tie and State wins 17-14.

  7. meridiandog Says:

    Brad,

    I am elated about the Auburn Game. The hurricane has gone somewhere else, away from all of my brothers and sisters. Hopefully it will blast into a part of Texas where it will do minimal damage. The weather is expected to be beautiful in Starkville on Saturday. I think I’m going to make pulled pork BBQ for our tailgate group. If not maybe sausage and about “lembdyseven hundred” chicken wings. If they will do it, I may show up for both lunch and dinner. If I do that, I’ll need a 12 pack or two of diet dr peppers to make it until 6:00. Regardless, I have been dieting for the past three weeks and I will not use that word on Saturday.

    I have genuine love for those who will be under our tailgate tent, and expect to thoroughly enjoy their company. If others wander by, so much the better.

    Come game time, I will wander up to our seats and eat roasted peanuts and drink diet coke in the smelly cups, and cheer for the dogs. I will not be late for the game kickoff and I do not leave early, regardless. When the dogs do good things I will be happy. When they don’t I will be disappointed, but I do not yell at them.

    I will drive back home Sat night after the game and will teach my Sunday School Class on Sunday.

    How could the weekend be any better? If the Dogs win. As I see it, there is only one questionable thing, and I can deal with that level of disappointment.

    If you are a State player reading this – Play hard. We love you guys and enjoy watching you play. Remember one thing – Auburn can be beat – You can do it. And as for me, I love it when you guys whack Tubby and his Tubbites.

    GO DOGS!!

  8. thingreenline Says:

    I didn’t receive any encouragement after the win against SELA. We should have scored at least 40 against them. Points were left on the board, missed a field goal, pitiful clock mgt before halftime, and Dixon hasn’t gotten over 100 yards yet (that’s not his fault). I’m not going to say anyone needs to be fired; the offense seems alot more effective than it has been under Croom. But, we haven’t played a SEC team yet. I don’t think the D is as good as we had hoped, and the loss of Chaney is really going to hurt through the season.

  9. thingreenline Says:

    Oh, and one more thing, Sarah Palin is a right-wing nut!

  10. imabulldog Says:

    I like Palin, a whole lot more than McCain. I wish we had better candidates, but I’ll take anyone above Obama.

  11. thingreenline Says:

    It’s shady how they won’t let her be interviewed by anyone.
    She’s lying about her stance on the Bridge to Nowhere.
    She thinks the Iraq War is God’s doing?! Really?
    She doesn’t recognize the separation between church and state.
    Her biggest quality is that she’s hot. But crazy.

    Can you imagine what kind of snooze-fest a McCain/Lieberman ticket would have been? I actually used to admire McCain; now can’t stand him. His whole campaign is attack,attack, attack. He’s totally ignoring the issuses and trying to sway voters based on creating fear of the other candidate. Hey, who else is good at that…..Bush! And I am tired of the POW story….that does not make you a good president; I don’t care how you try to spin it. We’ve heard the story 100 times, we’re aware of it, now move on to the actual issues that voters care about.

  12. theconquistador2 Says:

    No encouragement from the SELA game. Why? Because we did what we were suppose to do and I saw the score of the LA Tech vs Kansas game. Like 2thdoc, I too was hoping that LA Tech was a good team, but Kansas shot down my hopes. We’ve still got a ways to go, but hopefully we’ll get there Saturday.

  13. thingreenline Says:

    I was originally for Biden during the primaries. But, if he didn’t get it, I was for McCain. I voted for McCain in the 2000 primaries.
    I remember a few months ago when I started to change my opinion on McCain. I starting reading about the temper he has. Not just out of his passion for his stances on issues (when he talks about them), but he holds grudges when someone disagrees with him. Again, that sounds just like Bush. We can’t have anyone in the White House that is closed-minded. We’ve had it for eight years already. If you can’t stand to have a group of people around you that have differing opinions, you’re not just hurting your administration, you’re hurting the country.

    Now, similar things are being said about Palin. If you don’t agree with her, she’ll shun you. What about the Alaska highway patrolman she tried to get fired and is now under investigation over it?

    If you put her zero foreign relations experience with McCain’s pitiful economic knowledge, you’ll have four more years of the downward spiral we’ve been in.

  14. lollipopkid Says:

    My left eyebrow is more qualified to be President than Obama. Let’s keep the discussion on MSU football. TGL, if I want your opinion on politics, I’ll give it to you.

    I think Auburn is in the state as last year’s game. We’ve certainly got a chance to win. Execution is the key. You can’t blame coaches for fumbles and dropped passes. I thought the play calling was inventive (especially that double-reverse flea-flicker) against SELA but the execution was mediocre at best. I think Auburn will win, but I wouldn’t be shocked if the Dogs made it 2 straight.

  15. 2thdoc Says:

    No offense TGL, but I’ll stick to the sports on this one for Locke’s sake so he doesn’t end up with a 200 comment political topic.

  16. thingreenline Says:

    Ok

  17. bigdraws Says:

    I hope it gave our offense a little confidence. I really think if we’d have had our usual special teams guys in for the la tech game we’d have won. May be raining on Saturday. I’m not sure how that will play in. Auburn looked pathetic when it was raining last saturday. Just sayin.

  18. goldendawg Says:

    tgl, disagree with you on politics but agree with you on football.
    I’m afraid Saturday will be a long day.

  19. bigdraws Says:

    I hope it is a long day. I’ve got a lot of beer to drink Saturday.

  20. cbizzle08 Says:

    When the game first got over I was a little upset that we didn’t put 50 on the board. However after I thought about it I am glad we didn’t try to run the score up, because if they had and we lost another important player we would all be in here complaining about.

  21. imabulldog Says:

    I could care less about politics, anyone who is at the level any of those people are be that Rep. or Dem., have some how schemed their way to the top. Do not like politics! And as a Christians, I feel we are supposed to give our votes and take a step back. Politics can be such an ugly arena. Christ said it himself, my fight is not of this world, it if were…you know the rest.

    Back to Sports!

    BTW guys, Kansas was a lot better than us last year, how do you not expect them to beat LA Tech worse than us. I expected us to beat La T like most of you, but La T even being competitive vs Kansas-seriously???

    Come on guys

  22. quark20 Says:

    For those of you making comments about La. Tech vs Kansas and such, remember this:

    Several years ago we beat a good Florida team despite how bad our team was. Yet, we still won because we were up for that game and they weren’t. The rest of our games didn’t matter. Same goes for La. Tech. They were up for our game, while we weren’t. Once that game was over, they returned to their normal level, as I’m sure they were not excited about traveling to Kansas last weekend. So don’t compare our talent level to La. Tech when we all know emotion plays just as big a role as talent, and sometimes more. Just my two cents for the day…

    For me, I’ve said all summer that 1) We should all be afraid of the La. Tech game for the reasons said above and 2) Auburn will be the first real test to how good a team we will be this year.

  23. imabulldog Says:

    thank you Quark- I love it when people use common sense to evaluate a situation.

    We have to be pumped for Auby, time to turn back to our ol ways of being the place that ranked teams fear to play

  24. theconquistador2 Says:

    I didn’t expect LA Tech to beat Kansas, but I was hoping they could hang to make me feel a little better about that loss. Some of you read way too much into things.

  25. imabulldog Says:

    I just said be competitive, which I knew they wouldn’t off of home turf

  26. meridiandog Says:

    Man I’m confused.

    I looked at Auburn’s roster and I don’t see this Obama guy anywhere. Does he play line? Running back?

    :o)

  27. tupelodent Says:

    I’m with draws, I hope we have good weather because I plan on bringing some cold beverages. As for the actual game, I hope we show up and play hard. If we do we could keep it close. If we turn it over in the first quarter the blowout could be on. Hope not though.

  28. 2thdoc Says:

    you bring the lemonade, I’ll bring the sweet tea, and draws bring the root beer

  29. tupelodent Says:

    Hey Lamont, where’s your
    Parking pass we could share some food and lemonade. Ive got
    that Samford and Son song in my head
    now.

  30. skydawg706 Says:

    I am still scracthing my head about the LA tech game – watched high lights on you tube – LA Tech wanted to win more.

    I hope we start on solid and not sputter like we usally do before we get warmed up or whatever we go though first few mins of the game.

    Like others have said this is the real test for both sides of our lines, and guys in the booths – making the calls. Hope our guys do not beat them selves by making dump penalities – hang on to the ball.

    Concern – our offense line.

  31. skydawg706 Says:

    Politics —-

    I think it would be a good idea to have a “None of the Above” choice on the ballots.

    If the canidates do not get the majority votes – chunk’em – do it all over again – make’em run to represent the people vs themselves/small interest groups.

    Also put a time limit on length of campains, like 6-8 months.

  32. spaceghost1 Says:

    I’m not into asking what if, but the truth is if Pegues had played we would’ve beaten LaTech. It’s as simple as that. He’s our best player and we are a better team with him in the lineup than what was shown during that debacle. He wouldn’t have muffed a punt inside the 10. He took the blame for the loss. With that said, losing Chaney hurts, and I’m afraid Auburn’s running game is going to show us how much it hurts.

Leave a Reply

