Welcome Back, ’98

by

As you probably know, there will be a reunion of the 1998 MSU team that won the SEC West title. The players and coaches will be available for photos and autographs before the game, and they will be honored at halftime. Some of the names we know are coming:

• QB Wayne Madkin

• RB Dicenzo Miller

• DE Cornell Menafee

• DE Edward Smith

• QB Matt Wyatt

• SS Ashley Cooper

• RB James Johnson

• Coach Jackie Sherrill

There are more, but that’ll do for now.

18 Responses to “Welcome Back, ’98”

  1. imabulldog Says:

    Discenzo has always been my favorite

  2. carwwest Says:

    thats a great list!!….i might get them to sign a football just for sentimental value….i grew up watching them play and ashley cooper used to be my favorite player, my puppy to be is going to be named cooper…haha yeah i know im lame…..

  3. carwwest Says:

    discenzo is the most underrated RB state has ever had i think….he and norwood are my favorite RBs…

  4. BirdZ! Says:

    Cool. I’ll have a better view of them than I did at the Georgia Dome, no doubt. Great experience, but geez my seats were high.

  5. OleBull Says:

    Don’t think the re-union of these ex-players and the Old Coach will carry much weight in the outcome of this game. Unless they could be sneaked into the game. The grapevine in the swamp has it that Auburn is all fired up for this game in rememberance of last years game.

  6. msudawginbama Says:

    this was the team i saw my freshman year @ State. man, did i get spoiled.

    i still remember the stadium echoing: ” Jay- Jay Johnson!!!!!”

    all the heart-attack wins… the “We Want Wyatt” chants…

    Ashley, Pig & Pork Chop. whatta defense…!

  7. msu21 Says:

    Geeeeeeeeez OleBull…we get the point about Auburn is fired up over last year! You don’t have to say it in the next blog that is posted either….let it go! I bet any State fan with common sense understands that Auburn will have a chip on their shoulder. Find something new to talk about! As for the reunion goes….I’m really glad this is taking place. Ashley Cooper was pound for pound one of the best hitters I’ve ever watched in person, and I miss JJ’s ball flip when he reached the endzone!

  8. tupelodent Says:

    I hope these guys can inspire our football team. We need all the help we can get.

  9. OleBull Says:

    The old coach may even bring a couple of young bull and have a “band–ing” exercise for half time show.

  10. 2thdoc Says:

    JB? Is that you with a different name again?

  11. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Hay, doc, I have been out politicing today at Wal-Mart. Hope things going good for you and family. Hear Draws has new addition. Wished him and family well on PA1.

  12. dawgatauburn Says:

    What a great year ’98 was. I will never forget the GA dome and how most of the stadium (except for the MSU endzone) was quieted for 3 qtrs…then they had a miraculous 4th. I was just listening to the radio at Auburn. The hosts are viewing this game as a warm-up for LSU, where they can “work the kinks out”. Hopefully we can still sneak up on ’em. I need a win so I can torment my students…start each class by ringing my cowbell.

  13. lollipopkid Says:

    Best State team ever. Even better than the 10-2 team in 1999. ’98, ’99, ’00 were my first three seasons at MSU as a student. 2001? To quote my favorite Bluth, “I don’t want to blame it all on 9/11, but it certainly didn’t help.”

    I saw every game (home and away) in 2001 and MSU’s record when there is a patriotic tribute before the game is not pretty.

  14. lollipopkid Says:

    And they ought to invite Ricky Williams so he can apologize to all the defensive players he humiliated in the Cotton Bowl. I think 8 guys got carted off because of Ricky in that game.

  15. imabulldog Says:

    By the way… Has anyone mentioned Auburn is gonna be pumped up for this game 🙂

  16. bigdraws Says:

    Watching the Rutgers game tonight. Russell athletics commercial represents MSU basketball several times.

  17. 2thdoc Says:

    ima, did you hear Auburn is gonna be pumped up? I hear they will be pumped up.

  18. imabulldog Says:

    Holy Crap!!!

Leave a Reply

