In Today’s Journal

by

Well, here’s the postmortem report:

The game story

A sidebar on Tech QB Jaybo Shaw

A notebook

My insightful, thought-provoking column; I managed to quote Shakespeare, Dr. Seuss and Toby Keith

26 Responses to “In Today’s Journal”

  1. thingreenline Says:

    Good stuff today, Brad.

    Do you think Crxxm will even take calls during his weekly radio show? Will Jack even want to sit with him? It seems Crxxm is sucking the life out of everything he touches lately.

  2. spaceghost1 Says:

    Great insight and thought-provoking stuff, Brad. Man, that has to be the first column I’ve read that references Shakespeare and Toby Keith. Way to go.
    How were you able to sit through the whole game without vomiting? Or did you vomit?

  3. Brad Locke Says:

    Thanks guys. I managed to keep breakfast down, but I still have a splitting headache from the beatdown the sun gave me.

  4. skydawg706 Says:

    407 yards – one touchdown – as Mister Spak would say “not logical”.

    Do any of you gusy feel AD sets to deep in the backfield on short yardage, or to deep period. Unless he has to hold up some for Carroll to do his thing.

  5. imabulldog Says:

    I agree Skydawg, but locations on the field have everything to do with the timing of each individual play- so in that case its play calling.

    As I said yesterday, there have been about 3 or 4 plays that woulda changed our ‘season’ if we just hike it to Carroll and let him fall forward. Teams do it to us twice a game, but I guess its not in our playbook

  6. imabulldog Says:

    well, just watchint the replay on CSS- I know, I know, virtual suicide!

    But its amazing how good we can look on both sides of the ball, but then look as bad on the next play

  7. imabulldog Says:

    Stats update!

    Offense- 94th
    Defense-37th

    Not bad for the D, especially considering the shot they took yesterday.

    I love seeing us run it, but it looks as if we need to be a 70/30 passing team. I never thought I’d say it, but tons of passing, along with the occasional draw??? Something to think about.

  8. thespear Says:

    Ima i think the draw has prob been one of our best plays the last couple of years. I think Ducre picked up several first downs on third and longs using the draw at Kentucky last year

  9. skydawg706 Says:

    If we survie LSU with out any key players lost to injuries……

    Taking State over Vandy.

    Going to be interesting to see how Dawgs stop Scott (LSU), and their QB Lee looked good…..nothing like having time to throw the ball.

  10. skydawg706 Says:

    CMP ATT YDS CMP% YDS/A TD INT RAT
    Wesley Carroll 51 95 528 53.7 5.56 3 6 98.2
    Tyson Lee 30 45 291 66.7 6.47 0 0 121.0

  11. imabulldog Says:

    we just need to use quick short passes like we did vs Tech, and occasionally use that draw and shuffle pass.

    We will be able to throw deep on LSU, becuz they blitz 5-7 sometimes, so the sideline deep will be open. Carroll will just have to stand in there and take it every once in a while, and all WR’s will have to bring in big catches.

    I actually think this is one LSU Off we can contain better than in the past.

  12. imabulldog Says:

    Oh yeah- and just like last year-

    How come Carroll isn’t running the ball? They’ve got to pit some read plays in there for him

  13. skydawg706 Says:

    Croom Comments:

    “We look forward to playing Georgia Tech this weekend. I think our players have been looking forward to this trip for quite some time now.

    All in all, I am very pleased with the improvement we have made from game one to game three. < Fan: How many more games is going to take Coach?

    We didn’t execute well on offense. That has been well documented and I think I have covered that enough. < Fan: But it keeps popping back up – hole getting deeper.

    I believe in what we are doing and if I believe if we execute what we are doing we’ll be okay offensively. < Fan: Coach that is the problem – unable to execute.

  14. skydawg706 Says:

    Post Game notes

    Skip down to CROOM Opening Statement

    http://www.mstateathletics.com/fls/16800/pdf/fb/fb_postgame_092008.pdf?SPSID=90889&SPID=10997&DB_OEM_ID=16800

    Only comment I have is I do not think it is Croom fault – once the game starts – cannot play the game for them.

  15. rwriffe Says:

    I can’t beleive after what was witnessed yesterday that anyone would even remotely think that we can stop LSU and even be in the game. If we hold them to less than 40 I will be shocked. Our only score will come as it did Saturday against their 3rd string. That was the most pitiful display of football I have ever seen. Our problems are a combination of ZERO coaching ability and mediocre talent at one or two positions and ZERO talent at the remaining posititons. The two would be Pegues and maybe one lineman. THAT’s IT. Ene of story, game over. Most likely a 2/10 season.

  16. carwwest Says:

    i dont understand how anybody think we will be within 4 td’s of LSU….they are going to dominate us and yes, the players have to execute once they get on the field but a team is only going to be as good as their leader which is the head coach and we apparently dont have a very good one when it comes to offense or in game coaching….

  17. bamamanreturns Says:

    ok, folks this is a tad ridiculous, 3 or 5 plays away? If only Dixon didn’t line up so deep, we will be able to throw deep on LSU…thank you rwriffe for bringing some sanity here. Also, did you not know this was coming…listen to Croom…we just got to do what we do…don’t you get it he is even straight up telling you that he is going to keep doing the same garbage…

  18. bamamanreturns Says:

    Definitely not Crooms fault

  19. cnd46 Says:

    Oh, look who got the modem at the trailer park

  20. desertdog2005 Says:

    I am a Coach Croom supporter and he has let me and the rest of the Bulldog nation down. I did get on the wagon and really feel his time is coming to an end at State. He has done, I think, the most he can for our program. He has recruited well and if he retired after this season, the cupboard would not be as bare as when he took over the program. I am glad I did not buy the game….dealing with some serious kitchen plumbing issues on Saturday.

    Brad,
    Here is good question for Monday’s blog: Give a quick list of your top 5 or 10 coaches that you would want at State as the next Head Coach/Offense Coordinator. There are rules too: No current coaches from the SEC, but you can get assistant coaches from SEC. These should be possibilities not your dream coach. Here are my top 5:
    1. Chris Peterson/Bryan Harsin-Head Coach and OC of Boise State
    2. Lane Kiffin-Head Coach Oakland Raiders.
    3. Norm Chow-OC of UCLA, former OC of Tenn. Titans
    4. Kevin Wilson-OC of Oklahoma Sooners
    5. Gary Crowton “The wizard”-LSU OC consider one of the best OC’s in the nation.
    Let me know what you think?

  21. bantyrooster1 Says:

    I want them to please take a run at East Carolina’s Skip Holtz but only on the condition that he bring his offensive and defensive coordinators with HIM.

  22. imabulldog Says:

    First off, no one has said anything about a W or the game even being close vs LSU.

    I was only pointing out strengths I saw from the game- few but some.
    Not only that but pointing out anything that means some form of surviving a few games this year.

    Bamaman, enjoy your 3 wins, because yall are gonna get curb stomped this weekend, and Satan’s dream team will taste defeat, and definitely not for the last time this year.

    Btw, its mostly you Bummer fans who need a dose of reality, usually “moving on” from the Booger Bear.

    Maybe you could have decifered that if you were literate and had common sense

  23. bantyrooster1 Says:

    I’m done with state until Croom is gone. No more money for anything. When I get my alumni newsletter next time I’m going to put a note with it reading NOT UNTIL CROOM IS GONE and sending it right back to them. I love MSU but my love cannot overcome the sickness I have over our football program being in crash and burn status. We ARE THE LAUGHING STOCK OF NOT ONLY THE SEC BUT OF THE COUNTRY.
    Byrne is going to go down with the ship if he stands behind this mess and supports Croom. People, Croom has had opportunity after opportunity to build this program. All the great progress he made last season was forgotten with our first game of the season.
    Remember State: Not a dime until something is done to correct this lost program. It starts at the top with Croom. He cannot coach in the SEC. He should be a public relations person for the University because he’s very likable but he absolutely stinks at being the head football coach.

  24. Brad Locke Says:

    You’ll hate this answer, desertdog, but I’ll start pondering replacement only if/when Croom is gone. Or if/when I decide to call for his head. I’d feel a bit presumptuous, given my recent arrival to the beat, to get caught up in that yet.

  25. carwwest Says:

    that admirable BL, but you know deep down…you have your list…haha

  26. bantyrooster1 Says:

    we all have our list. Thank the lORD FOR THE LIST. It’s the only reason I can sleep at night.

Leave a Reply

