On the Links

by

• Here is my main story from yesterday’s press conference. And here is the notebook, in which coach Sylvester Croom addresses that “I’m the offensive coordinator” comment he made.

• Also, from The Advocate in Baton Rouge, a story on LSU receiver Brandon LaFell, who caught the winning touchdown pass against Auburn last week.

• And here’s a look at how LSU needs to stop big plays in the passing game.

I’m trying to catch up with the Tigers’ start running back, Charles Scott, for a story to run in Thursday’s paper. And as I mentioned earlier, I’m working on a piece on the MSU offensive line, for Friday.

I will check back later after the SEC teleconference.

22 Responses to “On the Links”

  1. themaroonandwhite Says:

    I think they’ll probably be successful in stopping the big passing plays against us.

  2. bigdraws Says:

    Got my UT tickets in yesterday. Who would’ve known both teams would be this down.

  3. goldendawg Says:

    1st key to stop big passing plays: Schedule State

  4. bigdraws Says:

    Or play a team where the OC looks more like Morgan Freeman than a football coach.

  5. maroon1white Says:

    Big, we’ll be at the TN game too. We’re leaving from Starkville that friday morning the 17th. Hopefully we’ll get there in time to swing the sticks. Have you heard what time the kickoff is supposed to be?

  6. bigdraws Says:

    Right now it hasn’t been announced. Where are yall playing golf at? We’re heading up there on Thursday. Our tailgating crew is going and we rented an 18 man cabin. Playing golf in Gatlinburg on Friday, going to the game on Saturday, then coming back sometime after lunch on Sunday. I can’t wait.

  7. maroon1white Says:

    Just started looking for a course this will be our 1st trip to Knoxville. Any suggestions would be great. We’re staying 5 miles from the stadium. We hope to be able to play friday, we might have to stop half way and play since we’ll lose an hour by the time we get to Knoxville. Maybe we could meet up with your crew to tailgate?

  8. bigdraws Says:

    I’ve never played up there before. I think the one we’re playing at is actually called Gatlinburg Golf Course, shocking I know. As far as tailgating. I got on the UT boards asking questions a few months ago. It doesn’t sound like there’s much tailgating room around the stadium itself. The only other time I’ve been up there we arrived by boat. 250 State fans parked right in the middle of the Volunteer Navy. What I’ve found out is that on Cumberland Rd. “the strip” as they call it, has a bunch of pay lots. We’re prolly gonna try that. It’s a good walk to the stadium but could be as close as you get. We’ll be tailgating though and you’re more than welcome to join us. And if you have a better idea, I’m all ears.

  9. maroon1white Says:

    Thats cool. I think we might hit a Robert Trent Jones course on our way up. As far as tailgating I just started my investigation into our possibilities. I appreciate the invite, maybe we can swap #’s. For us, if nothing else we’ll find a bar to tailgate at till kickoff. It would make my planning a little easier if I knew what time kickoff is. If we’re the Raycom game then it really won’t matter, but if we’re a night game thats different.

  10. bigdraws Says:

    If you’re looking for a good watering hole to stop into near the stadium I suggest Calhouns. Decent food and plenty of tv’s. And the beer is ice cold.

  11. maroon1white Says:

    Thanks I’ll keep it in mind.

  12. bigdraws Says:

    It’s right there by the river too. Short walk from the stadium.

  13. cnd46 Says:

    I like Calhoun’s, it’s right by the river

  14. imabulldog Says:

    you guys will like Knoxville. Awesome place except for all the orange and rocky top.

    When you meet true UT fans, you’ll find they are pretty cool.

    The stadium is awesome. Good atmosphere, but nowhere near as loud as Auby or LSU

  15. glraisdinthsouth Says:

    Game is at 1:00. Where is a good place to stay??

  16. bigdraws Says:

    I’ve been there already ima. I agree about the fans too. Very classy. I’ve also been to Auburn too. Auburn’s got great fans but the place ain’t that loud. Florida is the loudest college stadium I’ve been to prolly, and the fans are some of the rudest I’ve ever came across. KC Chiefs is the loudest stadium I’ve been to, period.

  17. imabulldog Says:

    Draws, I can tell you that from the field though, its the loudest besides LSU.

    I remember one time when Cadillac broke a 70 yd run vs us, and by the time he reached the 50, I looked at a coach beside me-who was already yelling “Extra Point, Extra Point”… I could not hear him and we were shoulder to shoulder, I could only read his lips.

    That joint can rock

  18. carwwest Says:

    im going to the tenn game too…the fans remind me more of our fans actually…pretty nice and polite…it is a pretty cool atmosphere…and that stadium is LOUD during big games…probably wont be as loud for our game becausee both team kinda suck…well we really suck but anyways…we are heading up there friday morning…doubt we’ll hit up the links just because we are meeting a few people up there and i doubt my dad will want to spend anymore money…im trying to go to all the sec stadiums with him before he gets too old to enjoy himself…but if you havent been to knoxville before, you should enjoy it…i like it there…

  19. bigdraws Says:

    Maybe it was just the time you went or something. I was there last year…I know, they lost. They went ahead for awhile though. Not that loud compared to other stadiums I’ve been too. Especially Arrowhead.

  20. bigdraws Says:

    I’m also going to Bama this year. They get pretty loud too.

  21. imabulldog Says:

    UT is the perfect team to sneak up on, I think they suck this year personally.

    I picked us to beat them earlier this yr

  22. rwriffe Says:

    maroon you will be better served to stop at the RTJ courses on your way up. Most of the better Knoxville courses that are open to the public are on the north and east side out of the way for coming in from the SE.

Leave a Reply

