On the Links

by

Good morning, faithful readers. A beautiful day for driving, which I’ll be doing shortly after lunch. But first, to the links:

• My story on MSU’s offensive line and its troubles.

• And from our friends at The (Baton Rouge) Advocate, a story about a very optimistic Brandon McRae, the State WR. One thing I like about this kid, he’s always upbeat.

• And here’s an Advocate story on the huge task facing MSU’s defensive line.

I will post the Blog Bag answers later this evening, after I have arrived in Baton Rouge and sufficiently stuffed myself with the finest in Cajun cuisine. So have an excellent Friday, and if you’re going to Red Stick, I’m told by a Cajun friend that Hwy 16 at Amite is a good shortcut between I-55 and I-12. Of course, he could’ve been messing with me.

28 Responses to “On the Links”

  1. bigdraws Says:

    “I’m told by a Cajun friend that Hwy 16 at Amite is a good shortcut between I-55 and I-12. Of course, he could’ve been messing with me.”

    Or he could’ve said something completly different. Who can understand that crap?

  2. lollipopkid Says:

    I used to be upbeat too. Following this team has slowly killed my soul.

  3. msu21 Says:

    I’m anxious to see which QB will get majority of the playing time.

  4. carwwest Says:

    yeah i dont know who will get the majority of the playing time but i dont like the 2, now 3 QB system in any offense….crxxm playing all three is just retarded….if he really wants lee to get some experience and see who is our QB, then start lee and let him play the game…i dont think lee is our guy but im tired of detsroying carroll’s confidence with him looking over his shoulder every single play…crxxm doomed carroll when he came out and said lee would get playing time before to first game…carroll played well last year and you reward him by saying a 5’9″ juco who has been on the team 2 months will take snaps from him…poor coaching decision…another very stupid coaching decision is taking carroll out of the game against la tech and GT then ask him to start the next game, thats just toying with a 20 yeard old’s confidence and judgment….there was talk about relf not being on the team much longer a little more than a month ago and now they are all going to play??…this is a poor excuse for trying to coach and these are just some examples of how crxxm has messed up this team this year….

  5. glraisdinthsouth Says:

    5′ 11″

  6. carwwest Says:

    according the who??…ha bottom line is the guy is short….but like i said if you want to see what he has got play him for a game and let him throw a pass that is longer than 8-9 yards….

  7. glraisdinthsouth Says:

    To me. He is related to me. I don’t think he has had much of a chance to show what he has got. Do you?

  8. bigdraws Says:

    In your face carwest!!!

  9. BirdZ! Says:

    glraisdinthsouth, I think some of Tyson’s relatives sit a few rows behind me at the home games.

  10. glraisdinthsouth Says:

    what section

  11. bigdraws Says:

    He’s in section E. Same as me.

  12. BirdZ! Says:

    Yep, E. Just high enough above draws where I can’t reach him with a cup of ice.

  13. imabulldog Says:

    You play the best player- period.

    Who cares about whose put in their time, you play the best player. And the way this season is going we atleast need to try something new.

    Like I said last week…
    Lee moves around in the pocket better, he makes better decisions, throws the ball away when he needs to, can scramble and make plays with his feet, and not only that but can make the quick short throws we need to move the ball.

    I also think Carroll will start, but we’ll see Lee by the 3rd possesion. Its so funny to me that this was not more of an issue this week, more discussed so to say.

    Lee should be the qb

  14. BirdZ! Says:

    I’m afraid it won’t matter who plays this week, ima.

  15. imabulldog Says:

    I know, but we gotta see what he can do, and I think he’ll impress.

    Lee reminds me of the Henig we all wanted, smarter, more athletic, strong arm, scrambler, less of a gun slinger

  16. carwwest Says:

    ha you got me….but like i said, if crxxm wants to know what he is all about, start him and let him play…all this changing is not good for any QB or offense….i see what you are saying ima but if you are going to start carroll, dont sit there and say hey you are going to start but not going to play very long…if crxxm thought lee was the better QB then he should have started him….but this whole crap about starting carroll then pulling him is only hurting the team…i dont care who the QB is as long as we win some games…all im saying is crxxm handled this terribly and carroll never had a chance because of the way crxxm had him looking over his shoulder…and when lee comes in, they never throw the ball over ten yards…i dont think it matters all that much because i dont think the 2 QBs are very different from one another but stick with one for a game and go from there, stop changing them every other quarter….

  17. BirdZ! Says:

    Ever notice that MSU is always playing two QB’s? Some teams do it to see who the better QB is. Seems like we do it to see which one sucks the least.

    I know they’re all talented and they’re out there trying their best, but just once I’d like to have a top notch QB. How long has it been now? 20-30 years? 40?

  18. 83bulldog Says:

    Draws, if your looking for a short cut, take the Liberty exit in McComb, go through Liberty on Hwy 48 to hwy 569. 569 turns into Hwy 67 in LA which takes you to Plank road and I-110 in Baton Rouge.

  19. glraisdinthsouth Says:

    Section b. I just hope if Tyson plays the O line does not get him killed.

  20. imabulldog Says:

    I agree guys, I don’t think he should start one with the intentions of pulling that player, but rather choose one and play him the whole game, and that’s what I want, Lee for a whole game, just one, test him out 🙂

    Birdz, maybe Russel will be our guy

  21. msu21 Says:

    Russell will be our man!

  22. bigdraws Says:

    83bulldog Says:
    September 26, 2008 at 3:03 pm
    Draws, if your looking for a short cut, take the Liberty exit in McComb, go through Liberty on Hwy 48 to hwy 569. 569 turns into Hwy 67 in LA which takes you to Plank road and I-110 in Baton Rouge.

    Thanks man, but I ain’t going to BR this weekend.

  23. msu21 Says:

    Have we hired Major Applewhite yet?

  24. bigdraws Says:

    Nope, but we’ve already hired a major applehead. Badumbmp!!

  25. carwwest Says:

    when we hire major orangeblack, thats the day i will call for byrne’s head…

  26. RoastBeef1 Says:

    Major Applewhite is who you guys should hire when Croom is gone. Knows the game and would bring youth and excitement to the program. Don’t know exactly what’s not to like about him, but that’s a totally different story.

    As for Lee, he’s the best QB and should be the starter. I don’t believe he’s 5’11” though. I’m 5’10” and would walk by him on campus. We’re probably the same height or I might be a tad taller. Height doesn’t matter too much though when the shorter QB does the job better.

  27. carwwest Says:

    i dont want that much youth in our program…i want a head coach, not a RB coach from the NFL and def not a RB coach from the university of texas…there are head coaches at different schools in smalled conferences that we could get and should get…no more inexperienced experiments….

  28. mathistondawg Says:

    I also would like a guy that is in shape – that will be the one leading the team onto the field rather than the last one out. I will never forget the last time I saw Spurrier at MSU, he ran out first and slapped his players as they passed him on the sideline. He is a motivator – leader by example. I want to see someone excited to be in Starkville.

Leave a Reply

