SEC Teleconference: What’d We Learn?

by

Jack doodly. Just got off the SEC teleconference, and I think Sylvester Croom‘s segment lasted all of two minutes. Maybe three, but half of that was answering a question about Auburn’s defense.

I had no questions myself, which is unusual, but I guess I got all my answers yesterday. Croom basically reiterated what he said Tuesday about the similarities between Vandy 2008 and MSU 2007, because that’s all he was asked about aside from Auburn. Here’s the only halfway quotable thing he had to say.

• “We turn the ball over too much, we have way too many penalties. We’ve had too many missed assignments and haven’t paid attention to the details. We’ve had more factors, we’ve had more injuries than we did last year. But the biggest thing is, we haven’t done to this point the things like Vandy, like we did last year, the things it takes to win games. It starts with discipline; it’s a lack of discipline.”

Anyway, more later from other SEC coaches, along with this week’s SEC power rankings.

6 Responses to “SEC Teleconference: What’d We Learn?”

  1. carwwest Says:

    everything he just said in that quote…who’s shoulders does that fall on….just maybe the HC??…just maybe??

  2. bantyrooster1 Says:

    Here’s what we learned……Croom still doesn’t get it. He makes excuses after excuses then backs those up with even more.
    Tired of this game.

  3. imabulldog Says:

    I kinda feel the same way about some of yall-yada yada yada yada yada yada.

    I may be positive, unlike 95% of the blog, but Im not repetitive, so I guess like CC, yall might need to come up with some new material. At least he’s got an excuse, he’s a coach and there are only a few things you can talk about-so it sounds the same, as does every coach’s interview.

    And I don’t really care if my optomism drives yall nuts, all the negativity I hear from yall-gets old too.

  4. bigdraws Says:

    Dude, I think it’s great you can stay positive, but damn. He’s been there for 5 years and we aren’t much better, refuses to do something about the offense, etc. etc. I personally think we hired this guy to keep from getting some serious probation. Probations over, he ain’t improving, and it’s time to move on.

  5. carwwest Says:

    yeah draws, that is why we hired him…if you believe otherwise, you are just kidding yourselves…it was a public relations hire, if it worked out then great, if not…well at least we gave him a chance…

  6. dawgx Says:

    My biggest problem with what coach Croom said was that “It starts with discipline; it’s a lack of discipline”. I agree with him, but isn’t he our great disciplinarian? I want MSU and CC to do well, but we need to take stock and make some huge evaluations at the end of the year! I think if defense plays well we hang with Vandy.

Leave a Reply

