Vandy-MSU: Pregame Notes

by

• A few lineup changes for MSU: On defense, Kyle Love starting at DT in place of Jessie Bowman, and Karlin Brown replacing Terrell Johnson at WLB. On offense, Jamayel Smith for Aubrey Bell at WR, Eric Hoskins for Brandon Hart at FB.

• For Vandy, Justin Wheeler for Jamie Graham at WR, Adam Smotherman for T.J. Greenstone at DT.

• Conditions: Clouds moving in, but no rain in the forecast. It’s currently 77 with an expected high of 81.

• This is MSU’s second day game of the season. The Bulldogs lost the first one to Georgia Tech, 38-7.

Rafael Palmeiro, the former MSU baseball standout turned major leaguer turned steroids pariah, is here today being inducted into the MSU Sports Hall of Fame. He just got a huge ovation. Former footballer Hoyle Granger is also being inducted.

• Vandy is 1-5 in Starkville all-time.

32 Responses to “Vandy-MSU: Pregame Notes”

  1. morecowbell Says:

    How does attendance look?

  2. Brad Locke Says:

    Not exactly packed. Lot of empty seats on the east side. Can’t really tell on the west side, because that’s where the press box is, but there are some empty seats on the north end of this side.

  3. nashdawg Says:

    Brad, I can do without this type of language. Especially from a Miss. State beat-writer!

    “• Rafael Palmeiro, the former MSU baseball standout turned major leaguer turned steroids pariah, ….”

  4. 2thdoc Says:

    Good win and defense played awesome. McAdam’s…not so much.

    Here’s a pic of the video board and some sweet matching jerseys from a Vandy couple:

  5. skydawg706 Says:

    West side upper deck was almost empty, but lower decks were full.

    I sat on the east side – upper deck—-I thought there was good number of fans.

    Like Doc says it was a good win—looking at the stats the defense shutdown Vandy big time.

    Fans (noise level) was a factor…..love to be on the field to hear what it sounded like.

    To win more games our offense line has to improve.

  6. luckydog20 Says:

    “Rafael Palmeiro, the former MSU baseball standout turned major leaguer turned steroids pariah”

    Why the HELL you have to say it like that? You do not have to be a jerk about it. You could have just said “Former MSU baseball Great” and left it at that.

    Brad I don’t know what has been up your butt lately about MSU but you need to fix it. You use to be a good writer, now get back to it!

  7. RoastBeef1 Says:

    Are journlists not paid to be objective? Hell, you guys know who he is and about 99.9% know who the guy is and what happened, don’t see why stating the obvious gets you mad.

  8. bigdraws Says:

    I agree with the other guys. No need for that. It’s his day, let him enjoy it.

  9. bigdraws Says:

    The reason the west side upper deck was empty is because that is the visitors section. Vandy brought nobody. Pregame show said they only sold 500 tickets.

  10. Brad Locke Says:

    If I were in MSU media relations, I would’ve left out that part about the steroids. But since I’m not worried about MSU’s image, or the image of anyone connected to MSU, my concern is to paint the complete picture. I’ve got nothing against Palmeiro, but the fact remains that he cheated and then lied about it. Just like McGwire, Sosa, and the rest of those players that gave baseball a huge black eye.

  11. bigdraws Says:

    Do you honestly think we don’t know that?

  12. bigdraws Says:

    “I’m not worried about MSU’s image, or the image of anyone connected to MSU”

    So what you meant to say is, “Up yours Gregg!!” What an ingrate.

  13. Brad Locke Says:

    No, I said what I said. I’m not in the image-building, or image-tarnishing, business. If I were, I wouldn’t be doing my job as an objective reporter.

    And sure, I know you know about Raffy’s past indiscretions, but you also knew he was an MSU star. And if you were at the game, you also saw him get inducted into the HOF. Heck, guess I shouldn’t have mentioned him at all, since everybody already knew all that.

  14. Brad Locke Says:

    Why even cover the freakin’ games, especially if they’re on TV? Everybody knows what happened, right? Why report the obvious? I’ll just stay home and play with my kids every Saturday.

  15. bigdraws Says:

    Sounds like a good idea to me.

  16. nashdawg Says:

    There are several posters on this blog that I like to read their posts and have somewhat of a dialog with at times, i.e., ‘Draws & others. But reading Mr. Locke’s words and “hearing” his disdain attitude toward a former Diamond Dawg, lessens my desire to continue following this blog. Objectivity is not the issue…”slighting” a man on a day that he is being recognized and inducted into the MSU Sports HOF is absolutely unnecessary.

    Tks, ‘Draws…I’ll catch you on down the road.

  17. bigdraws Says:

    Best of luck to you and your dad, Nash.

  18. Braves Dawg Says:

    That statement was as objective as one might expect from the National Enquirer. Did you expect everyone to have a hardy laugh over your ill fated attempt at humor? I suppose so, if your target audience is the Ole Miss readers of this blog.

    Objectivity, pppfffftttt.

  19. Brad Locke Says:

    Wasn’t trying to be funny, Braves Dawg. And yeah, it was objective, because it was putting Palmeiro’s career in the proper context. Or are you and nashdawg both gullible enough to believe that Raffy really took a B-12 shot and not ‘roids? You probably believe Barry was truthful about the flaxseed oil. Take off the Maroon-colored glasses, my friend.

  20. bigdraws Says:

    Look BM. I think the point is, you made a snide comment about a beloved alumni and you expected everybody to just sit around and take it. No need to talk down to the readers like you are doing. And yes, that was a snide comment. This is borderline name-calling on your part. Completly bush league of you to say that.

  21. bigdraws Says:

    Now, go ahead and blast me for being a homer or whatever you want to do. I’m done with your ass.

  22. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    “I suppose so, if your target audience is the Ole Miss readers of this blog.”

    Well this Ole Miss Fan did predict as State win over Vandy. Miss State 17 andy 14.

    Thanks, Brad, we think that you are doing a great job. JB

  23. bigdraws Says:

    JB, I’ll be talking to you on Pa’s from now on. At least he knows how to be objective without insulting people.

  24. Braves Dawg Says:

    What does maroon colored glasses have to do with Bonds, or are you just palying the steroid card to change the subject? Like has been stated earlier, everyone knows Raffy got busted. I believe you to be grandstanding.

  25. Braves Dawg Says:

    Another thing McCain, we aren’t friends by any stretch.

  26. Brad Locke Says:

    No, I wasn’t being snide. I think I would know what the thinking was behind my comment. And it was this: I didn’t want to be accused of glossing over Raffy’s past with steroids. The fact is, he is a pariah for taking steroids. Wasn’t snide. Sorry you feel that way. You’re wrong.

    The truth is the truth, whether any of you can see it or not. I’m done defending myself. This is ridiculous.

  27. msudawginbama Says:

    Raffy did what he did. Will Clark should be more celebrated, in my opinion.

    anyway, it looked good for the coaches to find a spot for little karlin brown in hindsight, huh?

  28. bigdraws Says:

    That would be like if Om brought back Eli before he won the super bowl and Pa said. “Om brings back Eli Manning who is best known for being a crybaby on draft day so the Chargers would trade him.” I don’t know if your trying to be TJ Simers or some kind of shock value reporter or what. But you have totally lost my respect this morning. Not with the comment but how you have treated your readers with lack of respect. You sir, are a self-absorbed horses ass.

  29. msudawginbama Says:

    good god. why is this such a big deal?
    Raffy played a long time ago. think about how bad the football team was playing a few weeks ago. everyone on here was bashing every decision. i think brad did a good job covering the rough spots. if anything, he sugarcoated what little success there was, and acknowledged the short comings (or abject failures) without harping on them.

  30. bigdraws Says:

    Had no problem with the article bama. Quit putting words in our mouths. No problem with him being criticle either.

  31. bigdraws Says:

    I’m done arguing about this. You’ve got your opinion, I’ve got mine. I just think there’s ways of going about stuff without being disrespectful. To famous alumni and your readers.

  32. dawg138 Says:

    As a kid, there was no bigger fan of Raffy. I still have the newpaper clippings in the attic from every game he played at MSU. That said, I believe he used performance enhancing drugs and I believe he perjured himself before Congress when he said that he didn’t. Regardless of what you believe about his innocence or guilt, it is obvious that the steroids issue has made him a pariah, which is defined as an outcast. He certainly disappeared from baseball in a hurry. I thought Brad’s comment was just stating the obvious and would have been included in any objective article. Either way, I doubt it ruined Palmeiro’s day.

Leave a Reply

