McCorvey: ‘He Calls the Game’

by

So I finally asked the question many of you were wanting an answer to: How the play-calling process works. Coach Sylvester Croom took that question and ran with it for about three minutes. Laid it all out there. So I guess it was a good question.

The gist: Offensive coordinator Woody McCorvey calls all the plays, and Croom pretty much stays out of his way during an offensive series. Now, here is most of what Croom said today:

“He calls the play, I listen to it on the (headset). The way we operate is, in our game plan meetings, we go over every situation possible, every scenario we can think of, and we put the plays up on the board during the week, and if there’s something I don’t like, it ain’t in the game plan. We have about five plays for every situation. We go into a game plan, we’ve got a plan of attack, then if they counter, we have what we call primary and secondary plays. So if they do this, we’ll have something ready so we can go in and make an adjustment with this. So pretty much whatever he calls, I’m good with it, because if I didn’t like it, it wouldn’t be in the game plan.

“I usually let him know on third down, before he makes his call, if we’re going to go for it on fourth down. … There may be some times in the game when our defense may need a rest, I say, ‘We’ve got to run it every snap now, because we’ve got to keep them off the field, we’ve got to run some clock.’

“More what I do, I just remind him of the ones that have already worked well. … But he calls the game. When I was calling plays, I didn’t want anybody in my ear, and I don’t get in his ear. Now between series, that’s when we talk, all of us, all the entire offensive staff. J.B. (Grimes) might suggest something in the running game, Pat (Washington) and Rockey (Felker) may suggest something in the passing game. But when a guy’s going through a series, I don’t want anybody saying anything to him, because I want him concentrating on what he’s doing.

“One of the things I told him when I started, I said, ‘You will never have me second-guess a play during a game. Even if I disagree with you, I’m not going to second-guess you during a game.’ … I won’t ever question him in front of the other staff. Because I’ve called plays.

“The bottom line: If the plays are executed, they’re all good plays.”

20 Responses to “McCorvey: ‘He Calls the Game’”

  1. South Panola Dawg Says:

    CYA, Crxxms. Even if I believed you, you tied your fate to Wxxdy by bringing his sorry, only-drawing-a-paycheck [deleted] back for this season. Any other head coach would have canned Wxxdy after the Liberty Bowl, and pointed to the last 4 years of [deleted] offense. Hell, I’d be willing to bet most would have fired him after his 3rd season of 100+ ranked offense. But no, you give him a raise and an EXTENSION. Seriously, what kind of accountability for results is that? Crxxms must be Croomed.

  2. carwwest Says:

    the utterly disgusting word vomit that is crxxm’s interviews are starting to get very deep under my skin…how do you say 4 weeks ago you are calling the plays then say you have no part in it???….what an idiot!!….there is no logic to anything he does or says as a coach…if crxxm HAS to stay for another year, he will have to bring in a proven OC and if things dont change send him packing…i think we should send him packing after this year anyway, but LT wanted to get one last hoorah in and effed us….

  3. carwwest Says:

    oh and did i mention crxxm is a joke…

  4. sandjunky Says:

    why no follow up question??
    i mean hell, just 2-3 weeks ago he said he called the plays…..which one is it: Croom or McCovery???

  5. dawgface52 Says:

    A few weeks ago Croom probably said he calls the plays to take the heat off of his buddy. But that is the problem in a nut shell. His loyalty to Woody. And that may be the death of Croom.

  6. olemsufan Says:

    i wish Lee was calling our plays. he’s very bright. i hope Croom hires another OC in the offseason & lets him take control… do what he wants. we have some talent coming back on offense & a lot more scheduled to come in. its time for a change no matter how this season turns out. a change at OC might even bring Patterson back,, get some others to commit. some of them want to come to MSU but dont want the last 5 years of sucky offense. Please Coach Croom.
    go DOGS!

  7. townball Says:

    Can we hear some optimism?

    Crickets chirping…

  8. jcdawgman18 Says:

    Coach Croom never said he calls the plays, he said “I’m the offensive coordinator” to take the heat off Woody.
    Get you facts straight. Some of us are tired of the “utterly disgusting word vomit” that is a carwest post. You can join that club, too, South Panola Dawg.

  9. carwwest Says:

    ha some of us are tired have having the offense of a bad middle school football team…

  10. rwriffe Says:

    jc, i have been a croom supporter from day one. However, you must admit that croom has made some awful game time decisions this year and any heat he is receiving is deserved. I don’t agree with the name calling but his loyality to McCorvey is starting to take its toll. I’ll give them the first 3 years due to the situation but to stay #100 + ranked in offense out of 119 teams is inexcusable. One of two things is not working. Either the OC or the offensive scheme itself. Likely in this case it’s both. For Croom to have a chance to stay Woody has to go. No if’s ands or buts about it.

    We are an SEC school and should be able to put a better product on the field. I haven’t looked at the stats from decades past but I doubt there has been any worse five years from an offensive standpoint in MSU history.

    I’m not taking up for anyone here. I just see their point. I have been a die hard MSU fan my entire life that I can remember (51 years) and I am sick to death of the @#$@ that our coaching staff calls an offense.

  11. rwriffe Says:

    By the way, I will be in Knoxville tomorrow night right in the middle of a sea of orange pulling for our Bulldogs. Just an hour and a half drive for me.

  12. imabulldog Says:

    You want optomism- You got it!!!

    -Hey boyz, been busy today, hadnt had a chance to post. Which probably makes a lot of yall happy.

    But, Woody is gone at the end of the year. Like I said, he’ll use the ‘health’ excuse, even if its not serious.

    For now, lets get off of this negavivity trip. We just beat the #13 team in the country, and we can easily be on a 3 game roll going into T-Town. BUT, we need to get behind our boys, and the coaches.

    Dawgs win 24-12

  13. carwwest Says:

    i think everyone is behind the boys just not the coaches…i’ll be at the game this weekend cheering on my dawgs and i hope we pull out the W but it wont be easy…riffe, i wish i had an hour and a half, i got 6 and a half hours to go…leaving at 5:30 tomorrow morning…

    but i will have to see crxxm take us on a run before i can believe it will happen because i think the longest streak we have had under him was last year with wins over tulane, auburn, and gardner webb…but who knows…oh by the way, anybody see the gardner webb-GT game a few weeks ago?? 10-7 and missed a chance to tie with a missed field goal at the end…i wonder what they did on defense??…

    but tenn is bound to have a good game sometime soon, i just hope it isnt this weekend…

  14. Brad Locke Says:

    Croom said before the Tech game he would call plays if needed, but McCorvey insisted on doing it himself.

  15. darkcooger Says:

    My take is that the system Croom described is a good one because it leaves the OC free to concentrate on the game and shows that the head coach has confidence in them to do it right.

    However, that system only works so long as the OC is actually doing the job well. If the play calling is sucking, then the head coach HAS to intervene, even in the middle of an offensive series. That’s what timeouts are for (that, and giving your fired-up offense a chance to score late in the first half).

    Personally, I thought the play calling against Vanderbilt and LSU looked a little better. Maybe that’s just because the offense performed the plays better, I don’t know. It’s still weak by SEC standards, but any improvement at this point is good. I’d still like to see a new OC next season, but I’m less completely against McCorvey at this point.

  16. imabulldog Says:

    Cooger, the play calling did look better

  17. ericintupelo Says:

    The one thing that bothers me is that Croom said our defense is tired now so lets run the ball every snap. I understand run some clock but lets try to score some points and a nice long drive helps and running it every snap won’t get it done even tho thats State’s bread and butter. AM i the only one that let that statement get to me? I agree tho that State can beat Tenn and that Woody will step down. I still don’t know if the West Coast offense is right for us but we sure don’t have the players right now to run a Spread offense

  18. buzzardroostus Says:

    As long as the offense is not working everything Croom says bothers me. I’d just like to see our team become more vertical offensively. Against Auburn and Vandy we didn’t even test them deep down the middle of the field. And on running plays our strength is between the tackles, not running outside. If we could hit a couple of passes between the hashes it would help to open everything up. And every coach should have at least one deep pass per half in his game plan. We’ve not seen one since the SE LA game. Even the large gains have been in front of the safeties when caught. But, I’m sure the coaches are scared to death of throwing INTs. It would be nice to see something other than a run up the middle or a pass in the flat on 1st down. 3rd down needs something other than a draw as well. Problem is those plays work just enough that they keep calling them.

  19. bantyrooster1 Says:

    A good coach makes changes when something doesn’t work. A bad coach will refuse to make changes, even when something hasn’t worked right for 5 years. Not hard to figure out which one we employ at State.

  20. bulldog22 Says:

    Croom does make changes

Leave a Reply

