SEC Media Days: MSU Men

by

Some snippets from today’s interviews here in Birmingham. I’ll post something on the ladies later.

Junior Jarvis Varnado:

• On scoring more this year: “I’ve got to be in better shape. Last year, they just relied on me playing defense. Now I’ve got to play defense and offense. So just being in better shape than I was last year.”

• On the art of blocking a shot: “I try to keep mine inbounds, because if I can just tip block it and get it to a teammate, it starts the fast-break offense.”

Junior Barry Stewart:

• On newcomers: “We’ve got a great group of guys. They don’t mind taking constructive criticism. They don’t mind listening to each other.”

Coach Rick Stansbury:

• On Varnado: “He can score. But scoring there and scoring in the SEC are two different things, too. But no question he’s got a lot more scoring ability than people probably anticipate.”

• On freshman point guard Dee Bost: “I love Dee Bost. I love Dee Bost. He’s got a chance to be as good as we’ve had at Mississippi State. Not many holes in his game right now, except he’s a freshman, he’s about 163 pounds. Besides that, he possesses everything that I would write down I want a guy to have right now. He has some toughness about him, he can defend that ball, he can score it, he’s a terrific passer.”

I think he loves Dee Bost.

• On the departure of Ben Hansbrough after last season: “It wasn’t out of left field.” Was it really the facilities? “It had nothing to do with it. Nothing.”

9 Responses to “SEC Media Days: MSU Men”

  1. luckydog20 Says:

    I love me some BASKETBALL!!!

  2. carwwest Says:

    dee bost better live up to the hype…i cant wait to see him on the court…but i think someone else will lead us in scoring….im not a huge stewart fan, he misses a TON of shots for being a shooting guard…bad misses too…i think we are going to see a lot of people scoring a lot of points instead of one guy averaging 20+ a game…cant wait till the round ball starts, expecially with the way our football team is playing…

  3. shmuley Says:

    Hey, Mr. Gianthead, your colleague from that other newspaper threw in an update on the female basketballers in his blog offering. I know I speak for tens and tens of potential spectators when I say that you can’t give enough inside info on the sport of two-handed set shots, lay-ups into the bottom of the rim, and glorified rugby scrums in the paint.

  4. darkcooger Says:

    I find the Hansbrough comment interesting. I’m not surprised at all, but I’m curious what was really going on. I wondered if there wasn’t some contention between Ben and Jamont, Stansbury’s golden child who really didn’t deserve all the attention he got last season (he looked like he was trying to impress scouts rather than trying to help his team). There were several occasions where Ben would be wide open with a free look at the basket and Jamont would ignore him.

    But that’s just a guess. What’s the real story?

  5. olemiss1581 Says:

    The story is that the facilities really did have the upper hand in the departure. I know a friend who works with the team, and he said Ben would have stayed if he had a place to shoot ball during the summer. I wouldnt have stayed anyways, no future in a program like that..

  6. Brad Locke Says:

    Wow, didn’t know Starkville was so bereft of basketball courts.

  7. carwwest Says:

    that is a crap excuse…i dont know what the real story is but give me a break…it does seem like we lose a starter or important player every year though…kind of interesting…

  8. imabulldog Says:

    unlike y’all, 1851, we have more than two banners hanging from our ceilings- and ones not celebrating a loss to little Valpo.

    I’m sure someone like you knows more than we do- since you’re an Ole Miss fan and all

  9. imabulldog Says:

    Ben H. was a sissy baby anyway, probably cries all the time at night, in bed, all alone, in his Star Wars pj’s…like Olemiss1581

Leave a Reply

