SEC Coaches Say …

by

Coach Sylvester Croom on today’s SEC coaches teleconference:

• On MSU’s pass rush, which has produced a league-low 12 sacks: “I’m not tworried about stats right now. At this point, you’re just trying to win a ballgame. Then after that, the season stats and how that washes out, we’ll see when the season is over with.”

• “I think this will probably be defining moments for our seasons.”

Kentucky coach Rich Brooks:

• “I believe we’re catching Mississippi State at times when they’re really putting things together.”

• On freshman QB Randall Cobb, who’s also played WR: “I wish I had about five of him. He’s really done a remarkable job for a true freshman, handling everything we’ve thrown at him and asked of him. He’s mature beyond his years.”

• On his defense: “I never expected something like last week. But when you get two punts blocked on the 3 and 6 (yard lines) to start the game, it’s kind of a tough scenario. But we are improved on defense. The one game notwithstanding, we are one of the best defenses in the league at this stage.”

And Alabama coach Nick Saban said he expects stud NG Terrence Cody to return by next week, against LSU. So he’ll be in fine shape for MSU.

5 Responses to “SEC Coaches Say …”

  1. maroon1white Says:

    Weather’s looking good for tailgating & the game saturday. I don’t know why I’m looking forward to the game, maybe its Ima’s “feeling” influencing me. We’ll see!

    Go State!

  2. tebmsu97 Says:

    I would worry less about the stats coach if we weren’t last or next to last in all of them.

  3. lollipopkid Says:

    On burning redshirts, Croom says he’s not worried about that, just worried about winning. On sack statistics, Croom is, again, not worried about that, just worried about winning. Only problem is we aren’t winning. There’s nothing dumber than the sentiment, “I don’t care about stats, I care about winning.” Stats are how you win. The team that wins the most games will have good stats. The team with poor stats will lose most games. It’s comments like these that make me think I could be an SEC head coach.

  4. thingreenline Says:

    The more Croom talks, the more he proves it was a mistake to hire him.

    After shootings in West Point and on campus, plus key players getting suspended for missing class, the “but we have more disciplined, good character players” theme is gone. They may not be as bad as Jackie’s bunch, but come on. Take a look at Dixon and tell me that guy doesn’t like to smoke him some weed every now and then. Jesus couldn’t come down and coach our team for a season and keep every corn-feed youth out of trouble.

    At this point, I wouldn’t care if the mayor from Detroit or the guy that killed the Jennifer Hudson’s family wore our jerseys — as long as they leave their drugs and guns at home.

  5. imabulldog Says:

    Thats right M1White, get that ‘feelin on’

    I’m the same way, I love to head down the road to Starkville. Don’t matter who we are playing, Love those Dawgs!!!

Leave a Reply

