Blog Bag: Halloween Edition

by

Wow, only one football question this week, and I’m afraid I don’t have an answer, BirdZ. I didn’t notice your question in time, but with an off-week coming up, I’ll try to remember and ask about that day off. Sorry.

Had a bunch of baseball questions (thanks, biloxi13). Got a good interview with coach John Cohen, though I somehow failed to ask him specifically about his hitters.

BASEBALL
Q: Ask Coach Cohen to asses the depth of his pitching staff and to break down how his starters stack up and how his closers/late inning pitchers will be able to hold on to leads.
A: Cohen: “If we can’t get 80-100 innings out of Ricky Bowen, I think we’re going to struggle. I think Forrest Moore has a chance, if he’s throwing strikes, I think he’s got a chance to be a real factor for us, potentially as a starting pitcher. I think Michael Busby is a young man who’s starting to figure things out on the mound, and I think he’s got to roll. I think Greg Houston is a young man who’s going to have a prominent role for us out of the bullpen.”

Q: Also, how have the players responded to his workout regimen?
A: Cohen: “I think they’re taking it very well. We’re at the end of fall right now, we’ve been doing it since August. I think there are parts of it that have been a little bit exhausting for them. But I think they’ve kind of grown into it.”

Q: Have the hitters taken well to his teaching methods?
A: Cohen: “It’s just a great help to me, certainly the first time in my coaching career when I’ve been somewhere and I have a pretty good idea of what’s happened before. … All of us, except for the six new players we have, played for Ron Polk. And I think that’s been very, very helpful in a lot of ways.”

Q: What is the status of a catcher that can handle pitchers and run the game? Big hole for us last year.
A: Cohen: “That’s an issue for us. We really don’t know who’s going to win that battle just yet.” He added that Cody Freeman and Scott DeLoach are in the running, but he’s also trying out some middle infielders behind the plate.

Q: Who is his favorite Mstate back-up catcher?
A: I didn’t ask this question, because I figured the answer was … biloxi13?

Q: How has his family adjusted to Starkville?
A: Cohen: “It’s not a difficult transition for me at all. … In the history of this university or in the history of this town, I can’t think of a better time to live in Starkville. I think it’s been a little bit more of a transition for my wife, my children, because they’ve never lived here. But they’re adjusting fine, they love it, and we’re having a good time.”

BASKETBALL
Q: Do you think Dee Bost is going to be the real deal this year?
A: He’s only a freshman, but he’s an older freshman thanks to that year of prep school. From what little I saw at the scrimmage, he’s got the tools that coach Rick Stansbury has spoken about. An intrasquad scrimmage is one thing, SEC play another. But I expect him to contend for league freshman of the year honors.

Q: Did the scrimmage Saturday indicate that Ravern Johnson and Bost are ready to lead the charge, or did the way the scrimmage was played lead to the inflated offensive numbers?
A: Johnson was aggressive and showed great versatility when it came to scoring. Neither he nor Bost are short of confidence. I certainly expect some rough times with such a young team, but they could surprise some people.

2 Responses to “Blog Bag: Halloween Edition”

  1. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Brad don’t worry about BirdZ, he is one of those Werewolves that makes the appearance at Halloween.

  2. 2thdoc Says:

    Yall gotta see these video board pics from last night. Still a few of the units not on yet but that thing is massive. Massive is an understatement but very impressive:

    http://sixpackspeak.yuku.com/topic/12666

Leave a Reply

