On the Opinionated Links

by

First, per y’all’s collective suggestion, I will not have an Election Day thread today. However, I’d like to see how Bulldog Nation voted, so please see the above poll.

I’ve already cast my ballot, after first spending 25 minutes at the wrong precinct. I feel I was able to make a sound, educated decision, especially after watching SNL’s Presidential Bash last night. And I got free Starbucks to boot.

Anyway, here is today’s opinion offering. Enjoy, discuss.

And from the (Mobile) Press-Register, Tommy Hicks writes about how LSU fans can’t wait to host their former coach and his No. 1-ranked Crimson Tide.

As for the biggest SEC news this week, here is a column from the Knoxville News Sentinel’s John Adams on the Phillip Fulmer resignation.

As for my upcoming plans, I will head to Starkville shortly. I’ll be working on a football recruiting update, and I’ll also talk with baseball coach John Cohen and a couple of players for a story on the Diamond Dawgs later in the week. And even though there is no press conference today, I’ll have a football story of some sort for tomorrow’s paper.

Now, don’t forget to vote.

13 Responses to “On the Opinionated Links”

  1. maroon1white Says:

    BL, I don’t believe you would think State would have a chance to win the next 3 games if we were 6-3 (La Tech, Auburn, Kentucky). If everything was going great that might be boring to write about.

  2. Brad Locke Says:

    No, if MSU was 6-3, I’d be writing about their ability to win games in the fourth quarter. And I’d pick them to beat Arky and Ole Miss.

  3. maroon1white Says:

    …OR to squeak by opponents with mediocre offensive ability?

  4. deaddawg1 Says:

    If we were 6-3, I wouldnt care if we won the next three or not

  5. mathistondawg Says:

    I think we can beat arkansas – in a squeaker. Bama will get their revenge due to the way we have beaten them the past two years, and then we play ole miss. They are a good team but streaky. I sure hope we catch them on a bad day, although they are playing well. I think Nutt has done a great job there, I enjoy his attitude and how excited he is on the field. Sure wish we could see some of the same on our sideline. Or even Crxxm leading the team onto the field. Usually he drags out near last.

  6. imabulldog Says:

    the only Faith I have left, is that Bama is ‘overly’ one dimensional, and can be stopped and upset. The only question is- can we?

    …Doubt it.

    All 3 of our final teams are the top 3 on my Hate list, so I’ll be feeling great at the end of the season. I hate losing to those 3

  7. imabulldog Says:

    the whole demeanor of our team is ‘butt draggin, mopey, head down, defeated’

    I won’t change, I can’t stand the way this season turned out

  8. carwwest Says:

    if i had a coach that never showed excitement about anything and i knew was never going to get me to the next level in the sec, i would be mopey too…yeah, we had somewhat high expectations coming into this year, but even now i don think they were irrational…

    i said 7 wins and judging by the talent we have and the way some other teams in the sec are playing, i still think with a “decent” coaching staff, we could have gotten them but who knows…i do know we will never be a middle of the pack team with crxxm here…nothing has changed, we still got players getting kicked off the team and players going to jail so lets not act like crxxm is just the saint of all saints…not to mention his double standards but whatever…

    the dawgzillatron is FREAKING AWESOME though…only if we had a coach to get the ball to our playmakers so they could watch themselves run into the endzone…

  9. carwwest Says:

    oh and arkansas and ole miss are playing leagues above us right now…i will be very surprised if we win another game…im not trying to be negative, just realistic and it sucks cause like ima said, these are the three teams i hate the most…

  10. thespear Says:

    don’t think it will happen, but what if a number 1 bama fell to State, wait a second, i think i have heard of that happening before…….

  11. bantyrooster1 Says:

    If State ever gets back in the Football business, it’ll be when Coach Croom has been shown the door. I’ve really enjoyed the discussions on here this season. It’s been a great place to get those frustrations out in the open. I apologize if I’ve offended anyone with my opinions. I can’t help my feelings, hell I’m a Dawg fan, it comes with the territory.

  12. carwwest Says:

    oh by the way BL, GREAT ARTICLE!!!…keep up the good work!!!

  13. imabulldog Says:

    Banty, I feel ya’. I started this year with great expectations, now look at us.

    I will tell you this tho, we have the talent to win games, we’ve blown 3 this year we shoulda won…which leads to poor coaching. We need change. There’s no way we can compete til we get the coaches in here that can win. And know what it is to win.

    I’ll give CC, one more with new OC, but for some reason I see a Cutcliffe situation on the horizon, if so, then whatever, because if he’s not willing to make changes then oh well

Leave a Reply

