Blog Bag: The Answer

by

Wow, are things that bad? I had just one question in the Blog Bag this week, and it was about basketball. Carwwest asked:

Riley Benock has the sweetest looking shot on the basketball team in my opinion from what I have seen. What is keeping him from shooting more?”

Good question, my friend. I wish I’d seen it before Monday’s press conference. To be honest, I’d feel a little silly calling up Rick Stansbury just to ask that question. But here’s what I do know:

In 32 total minutes of exhibition action, Benock, a sophomore, was 0-for-6 from the field, all on 3-point tries. Maybe he’s adjusting to the new 3-point line. He hit a team-high 42.4 percent of his 3-pointers last year, but he averaged only eight minutes a game. With Jamont Gordon and Charles Rhodes on the floor, and Benock being a freshman, I’m sure there just weren’t a ton of opportunities. I imagine he’ll get more playing time and more chances to shoot this year. It should be noted that Benock only averaged 12.6 ppg in high school but was strong in several areas, including rebounding, passing and defense.

4 Responses to “Blog Bag: The Answer”

  1. bigdraws Says:

    “I’m sure there just weren’t a ton of opportunities. ”

    I remember the one chance he was given against TN. Had an open jumper to take the lead at the end and travelled.

  2. Brad Locke Says:

    There you go. Obviously, I didn’t see much MSU basketball last year.

  3. shmuley Says:

    Riley Benock = APR assistance.

  4. carwwest Says:

    thanks BL, i dont think he will be an all around great player for us or anything but i remember how sweet his shot was last year and seemed to shoot better than hansborough and gordon from beyond the arc…i remember that tenn game…i dont really think he will ever be more than a spot up shooter but those can come in very handy i basketball if they are consistent….i was just wondering, thanks BL…

Leave a Reply

