Blog Bag: A Few Answers

by

I have noticed that the Blog Bag has become a repository for sarcastic and/or rhetorical questions about the football program, which is fine. A good place to vent. Of course, it makes for a brief answer session. So here’s what I’ve got.

Q: What are the football practices like, because the more I read and hear about them, the more I hear they are pretty relaxed and lackadaisical.
A: I can’t speak for the entire practice, because the media aren’t allowed to stay the whole time, but I do see a lot of smiles and hear a good bit of laughter. Part of that’s due to one of the team managers – everybody calls him “Stick” – who’s just a trip. I was a bit surprised, after the Kentucky loss, that there wasn’t a more somber atmosphere.

Q: Is the sound for the Jumbo-tron ready for saturday?
A: The video board – I’ve been reminded not to call it a Jumbo-Tron, because that’s not the brand they’re using – was being sound tested earlier this week and should be good to go.

Q: What is coach Sylvester Croom’s definition of “Finish”?
A: I know the question was asked in a somewhat snarky manner, but I imagine he would define it as I would define it: Giving as much effort and concentration at the end of a play, or a game, or a season, as you would at the beginning. But in State’s case, that hasn’t been enough.

10 Responses to “Blog Bag: A Few Answers”

  1. msu21 Says:

    Where are the rest of the questions and answers? Last I checked there were more than 3

  2. imabulldog Says:

    I was finishing up working with the team-when STICK came along.

    For those of you who want entertainment lookout for the skinniest Black guy you’ve ever seen. He runs out to get the tee, and during warmups he usually drops every ball and punt that comes his way. Extremely uncordinated.

    And you can thank Coach Phil Silva for the nickname. Best boss I ever had! Those of you who know Phil-can’t forget him, the Ragin Cajun’ himself, Mr. Grey Goose!

  3. Brad Locke Says:

    There were a few, like I said, sarcastic and/or rehetorical questions that nobody expected me to answer. There were probably a couple I simply don’t have answers to right now. I try to get as many of them answered as I can, but I can’t always get them all.

    I did answer the Feld and Garrett questions earlier this week.

  4. Brad Locke Says:

    Stick’s awesome. He gives all us media guys a fist bump at practice every day, then goes and fires up the team with some hilarious B.S.

  5. carwwest Says:

    yeah i see that guy getting the tee and i notice how skinny he is…that bothers me that the practices are so laid back…that might work in the NFL where the players have been through pretty much everything and are just getting ready for the game….college kids are still learning and need to be pushed, especially when the team is not performing very well…but the saying “you play like you practice and vice versa”, well does he really expect these kids a few years out of high school to just turn it on on game day??…maybe its different than what im thinking but i dont like to hear that…one more knock against crxxm in my book…

  6. msudawginbama Says:

    so, Bonner will spell Dixon? or vise versa?

  7. nocowbell Says:

    Hey ima, did you work with Joe Cowart? He is a friend of mine that worked for Phil. Hung out with the guy a few times he is a trip.

  8. nocowbell Says:

    Oh and Brad good question for ya, is this new punter that signed or verbally committed to state is he for real, has anyone seen him?

  9. imabulldog Says:

    hey cowbell, that name sounds real familiar, but I can’t put a face with the name. Phil is awesome

  10. Brad Locke Says:

    Hutchins is the real deal. Known about him since his days at Saltillo. He knows his stuff.

Leave a Reply

