Cookin’ Up Some Links; Plus, Predictions

by

Ah, ’tis Egg Bowl Eve. Or, if you prefer, Thanksgiving Day. The respective teams’ game plans are in the oven, and we can’t wait to see which coach has cooked up the best one.

OK, enough cheesy puns. Check out today’s Egg Bowl stories:

• MSU senior free safety/kick returner Derek Pegues reflects on his career and how an off-field mistake keeps driving him.

• From the other side, Ole Miss players bemoan the way they lost last year’s Egg Bowl. Offensive tackle Michael Oher called it “disgusting.”

So there you go, my friends. A little something to whet your appetite. Sorry, couldn’t resist. Just hope I can resist seconds at lunch today. OK, I’ll stop now, seriously.

Coming up in tomorrow’s paper, all sorts of stuff, including: the GameDay section; a look back at the 1998 and 1983 Egg Bowls; and a story about Raycom’s farewell SEC telecast.

And don’t forget to turn on the radio at 4:30 tomorrow to catch the Bulldog basketball team in action against Washington State in the Legends Classic. I’ll have a story on Rick Stansbury‘s boys in Friday’s paper, too.

Since I will be out of pocket the rest of today – at my grandparents’ house – we’ll go ahead and make this the official Egg Bowl prediction thread. I think MSU can keep it close into the fourth quarter, but the Ole Miss line play on both sides will prove too much.

My prediction: Ole Miss 28, Mississippi State 14.

Happy Thanksgiving!

21 Responses to “Cookin’ Up Some Links; Plus, Predictions”

  1. oxfordrebel Says:

    This will be close to the 03 game. If all we had was an offense to rely on, I’d say this would be a close game, but our defense is playing out of its mind right now, especially LB and line play. Secondary is still susceptible but much improved.

    33-10, rebs

    Happy Turkey Day all.

  2. imabulldog Says:

    one game I can be biased and feel good about it 🙂

    24-17 Dawgs.

    I expect our D to show out vs a great Rebel Off., forcing critical turnovers, minimizing mistakes on O, and Piggy will find the endzone in his last game…I HOPE

  3. carwwest Says:

    i think it will be close in the first half like our usual games but once nutt makes half time adjustments and we dont, i think they run away with it…

    32-13 webels…..

    Happy thanksgiving guys!!

  4. claytaylor32 Says:

    I’m going with 28-24 MSU. Go Dawgs!

  5. jonnychapps Says:

    Got to go with the Bullies on this one. (Not on paper, but in my heart! Ha!)

    The Def will do an outstanding job causing 2 turnovers and Croom makes the adjustments needed to keep our Off. in the game. (Maybe looking for a ‘good’ ending for next year?)

    MSU – 21
    Ol Misery – 20

  6. tcfan Says:

    The homerism on this board is amusing.

    Ole Miss 34
    MSU 10

    I liked Gregg Ellis, but he was the biggest homer on this board. Preseason didn’t he predict 8 wins and quote “bank on it”. LOL, that prediction boded so well with the University they offered him a job. J/K.

    LOL, Brad you do a good job. I’m an Ole Miss fan, and you and Parrish are the best beat writers in the state IMO. You both are not partial and will give praise when due and will tell it like it is when people don’t want to hear it, which is the definition of what a beat writer should do.

  7. carwwest Says:

    im sorry chapps, you just took yourself out of the serious column when you said “Croom makes the adjustments needed to keep our Off. in the game.”….croom has not made adjustments EVER…..

    tc state could have easiley won 7 games this year if we didnt have a so called coach holding us back….

  8. tcfan Says:

    Carwest, I think this State team was capable of six, but that’s it. I can’t name you an offensive player besides the QBs (Lee and Carroll) and the RBs (Dixon, Ducre). There was the talk of that WR Arceto Clark.

    I just don’t think the firepower at receiver is there for State. They also need a decent QB. I think Lee is good for short routes, but long balls, not so sure.

    Obviously, coaching matters a lot, and you make a good point. Just look no further than Ole Miss this year.

  9. imabulldog Says:

    Dude are you serious, we coulda won 3 more on accident.

    But thanks to Stringer and Wxxdy

  10. imabulldog Says:

    and excuse the Homerisms, but this is our blog, we aren’t running our mouth on PA’s site or here, and last time I checked the history behind the Egg Bowl is underdog/spoiler wins

  11. carwwest Says:

    yeah tc, croom cost us the la tech and auburn game easy…and if he would find a freaking kicker by the KY we would have easily won that game too…im just saying a good coach would have gotten a lot more out of this current team…

  12. mathistondawg Says:

    somehow we get it done tomorrow. 14-10 dawgs. C’mon, we had no offense last year and won. I just gotta believe. Maybe Stringer and Woody at long last pull out all the stops against ’em

  13. BirdZ! Says:

    OM 31
    MSU 0

    Will be ugly for us, I’m afraid.

  14. imabulldog Says:

    all I got to say is how sweet would this be…

    We beat UM, hopefully bad, but I’d take a 1 point win. THEN they get the Liberty and lose to someone like Tulsa. All of a sudden 9-4 is in the rear view and 7-6 sucks!

    We’ll see, not talking smack- just what I want to happen 😉

  15. tcfan Says:

    Last time I checked this site is PUBLIC domain.

    Homerism, for me, would be HUGE underdogs coming on here talking. We’re huge favorites. The line started at -13 this week, now the line is at -18. I’ve heard for the line to move a point, the overall bet amount has to be $500,000 per favored team. That’s a lot of of people betting the Rebs. That tells you something, everybody except the Bulldogs believe the Rebs are going to win.

    Just as you guys beating us the way you did was good for us in the long run (Nutt > Orgeron), maybe we can do you guys a huge favor tomorrow. I hope not ;). I think Croom is a good man, honestly, just not a great SEC head coach. He’ll never admit to his wrong.

    My adjusted prediction since the rain won’t be bad from what I hear:

    Ole Miss 41
    Miss St 17

  16. imabulldog Says:

    it is completely PUBLIC, but we have the right to pick our team the same way you do. If you don’t think we know the worlds against us tomorrow- here’s a newsflash Obama is Freakin president. Holy Crap- that’s what I said 😉

    I’m sayin its our site, it’s the last game, no room for ‘homer’ callings.

  17. carwwest Says:

    i never hope state loses, especially to ole mrs, but if thats what it takes for croom to leave then i guess let it happen…im just so tired of him….i hear we gave about 2500 tickets back to ole miss and we only sold like 3000…seems like i am not the only person who is fed up with croom….if croom is not fired, look for there to be a lot more of this and a big decline in tickets sales next year….

  18. toddy22 Says:

    That is a shame to hear if it is true. There is nothing like a show of no confidence like not showing up for the biggest rivalry of the year. I think the game the Rebs played last year where the crowd was only 13k was a huge nail in O’s coffin.

  19. jonnychapps Says:

    Hey West, don’t be so fast to take me out of the serious column. You can’t tell me you haven’t seen weirder things happen with this team. Listen, I’m not saying that Croom would make changes. But anytime we play Ol Missy I have to believe that we could pull something out, whether we do or not…….I think we all know the answer to that….. Ha!

    Good luck MSU.

  20. mathistondawg Says:

    If a win by u of m ushers croom out, then so be it. I still believe he is a wonderful person, just over his head. We need someone with head coaching and/or div I experience. We have made offensive plays just as boneheaded as coach “o” this year and it hasn’t put him on the hot seat. I think he will be back for one more year regardless of what happens today.

  21. dawgface52 Says:

    This is a game where anything came happen. But I just don’t see anything good for the Bullies today. OM 34 State 10

Leave a Reply

