Recruits Speak on Croom

by

Much of this will be in tomorrow’s Journal, but I spoke with a handful of MSU commitments today: Meridian QB Tyler Russell, Meridian WR Chris Smith, Lafayette County QB Montez Phillips and Itawamba AHS DL/FB William Shumpert.

Smith and Phillips both said they will open up their recruiting again. Russell remains firm, for now. He spoke with assistant coach Reed Stringer today, and the departed Sylvester Croom spoke with him Saturday.

“(Croom) said he truly believes in the program,” Russell said. “There were some things that I guess didn’t really work out is why he had to leave or resign. That’s basically what he told me, and he said if I ever needed anything or needed somebody, I could talk to him.”

Russell has called up several fellow commitments since Croom resigned Saturday morning.

“We just talked about the situation, what’s happened up there. Right now I’m really not trying to focus on it, because we play for a state championship Friday.”

Said Smith, “I’m still thinking about going to Mississippi State. If they bring in a decent coach, I’m trying to look at their offense and everything.”

Phillips has waffled before on his commitment to MSU, and Ole Miss is definitely back in the picture now. “I just need to reevaluate everything and make sure I’m sure where I want to go before I make a decision.”

Shumpert said he’s still solid. “I don’t have any (concerns). I’m just going to see how the (new) coaching staff is.”

30 Responses to “Recruits Speak on Croom”

  1. ericintupelo Says:

    I hope we can hold on to Smith. Hell I hope we can hold on to most of our recruits. We have a solid class coming in if we can hold on. I just hope whoever we get as a coach can sell our program and have the energy and passion to hit the recruiting trail. I really don’t wanna lose Montrell Connor and I hope we can stay on Kendrick Hardy’s radar

  2. joekstewart Says:

    I truely believe that the new coach might possible need to be found by this Saturday. To many recruits on the line and what about the talent already here? Will they stay our go?

    I know firms work fast, but in today’s time (computers, text messaging, and etc..) State recruiting is in a very vulnerable place. We must work fast and efficient.

  3. cwbell Says:

    I think the recruits that really want to be a bulldogs will wait and see who we hire.We need to get this one right.

  4. thespear Says:

    Sounds like Tyler is quite the leader. I like the initiative he took to call other recruits. i think him and Smith could be a dynamic duo at the college level, too. I think once we have a coach named, perhaps more recruits had wished they’d signed with State

  5. joekstewart Says:

    I like Tyler: (1) he is tall, (2) he is a leader, (3) he is a good quarterback. We need some one like him and an offense designed for him.

  6. ericintupelo Says:

    Wyoming grabbed Missouri’s Offensive Coordinator who rivals considered the number 1 offensive coach in college football

  7. ericintupelo Says:

    Brian Kelly from Cincy has an interview with Washington later this week and even Fresno State’s coach has interviewed at Washington. If Washington can get names, then I see no reason why we can’t

  8. joekstewart Says:

    Hope we can find one quick before they are all gone

  9. lollipopkid Says:

    Washington won a National Title less than 20 years ago…

  10. ericintupelo Says:

    They also haven’t won a game all year and only have 7 commitments for next year

  11. gogawgs09 Says:

    The SEC just draws a lot attention plus with the new espn contract, there will be a ton of exposure. What coach wouldn’t want that? I think even though we are Mississippi State, we will get a top tier coach.

  12. ericintupelo Says:

    I just wonder with the new espn contract and all is State gonna get as much attention as some of the other schools. ESPN has never really been on State’s side. The year we started 8-0 we were never shown on SportsCenter or anything. Just a thought

  13. ericintupelo Says:

    Although we did get some tv time this year Auburn, Bama, La Tech, LSU. Might have spoke too soon

  14. jcdawgman18 Says:

    Smith is not truly reopening his recruitment. He is just waiting to see about the new staff. He is still committed.

  15. jcdawgman18 Says:

    He’s just saying IF he doesn’t like the coach, he’ll look elsewhere.

  16. Brad Locke Says:

    Smith: “Right now I’m going to go ahead and open up my recruiting.” But I’m sure that’s just in case he doesn’t like what MSU gets. A good hire should keep most of these guys.

  17. carwwest Says:

    brian kelly would be a huge hire…i would like pat hill from fresno state…i would like to have his handlebar mustache on the sidelines haha…

    but there are a lot of big names out there who are up and coming….i just hope byrne gets one….

  18. kstorey395 Says:

    Ole Miss has to be licking thier chops right now. Eight wins, a good bowl waiting in the wings, Sneed has two more years to develop in that offense, and all of Mississippi State’s recruits are up in the air right now. If I was a top athlete in the state, unless I was born and raised a State fan, I would seriously look at (and it pains me to say this) Ole Miss.

    We need a name…..a big name…..really fast!

  19. s084swd Says:

    I’ve heard that Dooley from LaTech is being considered. I just looked at some information on LaTech’s website and I can see why. I know he may not be a big name (YET), but he could be one in the making. When Saban was at LSU, Dooley was his assistant head coach. Dooley then went to the Dolphins for a couple seasons. Lately, it looks like he’s been doing well as head coach and athletics director for LaTech. He looks to be a good coach and what may be more important a good recruiter. Recruiting is a big part of any successful program. Anyway, I guess we’ll see what we got in the next few days. Lets hope it’s a good one.

  20. kstorey395 Says:

    We need a bigger name than Dooley. If we can’t get Holtz, Kelly, Fulmer, or Tubberville, Croom should have stayed.

    We need a name that makes a statement the way Jackie Sherill’s name did.

  21. msualum01 Says:

    We need a coach that can win ball games. Plain and simple. The rest will take care of itself.

  22. carwwest Says:

    kstorey, dooley would be better than fulmer….fulmer is tooooo much like croom, plus byrne said today he wants a coach who will have an expanding offense…fulmer doesnt fit….plus he is not good for us…

  23. thespear Says:

    “plus he is not good for us”
    Wow, great logic there!

    I’m not necessarily crazy over the Fulmer idea. But the fact is, he has sent word of his interest. I have some inside folks that say Byrne is very open to the idea, so i would not rule it out.
    I like Fulmer just because he HATES bama, haha
    Let’s hope Tubbs is available…. man that would be like pouring gasoline on the state ole miss rivalry

  24. db33 Says:

    Chris Peterson tops my list, and don’t think he’s ungettable. He & Byrne are friends from their days at Oregon. And he makes roughly HALF what Crook did.

    After him Id look hard at Tulsa’s Todd Graham & Cincy’s Kelly.

    We can do better than Dooley & Skip Holtz. Holtz??? No way.

  25. Link Digest 12/1/2008 Says:

    […] Recruits Speak on CroomMuch of this will be in tomorrow’s Journal, but I spoke with a handful of MSU commitments today: Meridian QB Tyler Russell , Meridian WR Chris Smith , Lafayette County QB Montez Phillips and Itawamba AHS DL/FB William Shumpert . Smith and Phillips both said they will open up their recruiting again. Russell remains firm, for now. He spoke with assistant coach Reed Stringer today, and the departed Sylvester Croom spoke with him Saturday. “(Croom) said he truly believes in the program,” Russell said.… […]

  26. bleedmaroon Says:

    I dont think Holtz is the answer either, come on guys we need a PROVEN head coach. not one that was fired cause he couldnt win in the acc (bowden) or one that can just compete in the wac(dooley) or cusa(holtz). I know fulmer was let go at UT but look at what he has done, he just had them in the conf champ last season where they gave the national champ LSU all they wanted. The guy has the big name and can get good coaches surrounding him and can bring in some good recruits. I mean what young coordinator wouldn’t want a chance to learn form Phil? We could eventually set ourselves up for one of those successor type deals when Phil retires and if he had a big time assistant.

  27. darkcooger Says:

    I don’t understand all the people wanting Tuberville. That’s not a decision I could EVER support. The guy is a top-tier asshole and I’d rather MSU not be associated with him.

    I’m not wild about the Fulmer speculation, but I do have to admit that he has a good history. He could be the sort of name that we need, though I do think we can do better.

    I have confidence in Byrne to do what’s best for us.

  28. db33 Says:

    Fulmer?? Old school offensive line coach that’s conservative run first on offense? Are you kidding me? Haven’t we been there done that!?!

    I can’t believe Tuberville’s even being discussed. Despite the fact he is a total jerk and hated by most in Bulldog land, he’s set to make $3.3 million next year at Auburn and has a $6 million buyout. We can’t afford him.

  29. carwwest Says:

    im not trying to take away from anything fulmer has done but i think this team needs young energy and innovation…fulmer is not that….byrne said he wants a more expansive offense and when has fulmer ever done that??…i do agree we need a proven head coach but i would rather get a head coach on his way up than on his way down which i think fits fulmer and bowden….

  30. Top Posts « WordPress.com Says:

    […] Recruits Speak on Croom Much of this will be in tomorrow’s Journal, but I spoke with a handful of MSU commitments today: Meridian QB […] […]

Leave a Reply

