Dan Mullen & Greg Byrne Quotes

by

First, some quotes from new MSU football coach Dan Mullen.

• On the offense: “We’re going to find a way to take all these great athletes in the state of Mississippi, get them the ball in space, give them opportunities, matchups across the field to do amazing things with that ball. Let them have those one-on-one matchups that we can win and put our team in the best position to be successful.”

• On the defense: “We’re going to be an aggressive, attacking defense. It’s going to come at you from all different directions.”

• On his involvement in the offense: “Offensively, I’ll be very, very involved in the offense, even though my No. 1 goal is going to be coaching special teams. But I will have a lot of input on the offensive side of the ball. And I’ll make a lot of suggestions in the play-calling even though I feel it’s best that my focus being on the effort my team plays with and make sure we have great special teams, but I’ll have somebody else calling plays for the most part.”

• On recruiting in-state: “We will get in every high school in this state before we even worry about recruiting anywhere else to make sure those players know have a home here, and they can represent the state of Mississippi in playing at their state university.”

• On a foundation: “I know the last couple of years they’ve played some great defense here. So for us, that’s the foundation that we’re going to start with. We want to play great defense. We’re going to build this program around a great defense.”

• On preparing to be a head coach: “I’ve always had a big file at home of different things that I’ve seen at different programs that I said, ‘When I become a head coach, this is something I will do.’ As many things in there probably as, ‘This is something I definitely won’t do.’ That plan has been put in place for quite a while. Now that I’m here, I finally get an opportunity to implement it, and I’m really excited.”

Now, from Athletics Director Greg Byrne.

• On the search: “The search was broad in nature. It was a true national search. We had a lot of candidates. But it became very, very clear as soon as we sat down with Coach Mullen that he would become the next head football coach at Mississippi State University.”

• On hiring a life-long assistant: “We want somebody coaching our football program at Mississippi State that’s on his way up, because that’s the way our program is. And Coach Mullen fit the bill in every aspect of what we were looking for for our program.”

• On Mullen fitting the desired profile: “We wanted somebody that we felt could handle the Xs and Os side of it as well as anybody could out there, and also somebody that had a passion for recruiting and had the energy level to really just dominate recruiting in the state of Mississippi in all aspects.”

22 Responses to “Dan Mullen & Greg Byrne Quotes”

  1. coldleftovers Says:

    Brad, after your most recent twitter, I would like to thank you for proof reading your blog posts before posting.

    Keep up the good work.

  2. msualum01 Says:

    So, if Mullen isn’t going to be making the offensive calls… I’m real curious to know who the OC is going to be.

  3. joekstewart Says:

    I like what he said and gave focus too, SPECIAL TEAMS. Urban coaches special teams at UF and it has paid off well. As the same with Jackie in the late ninties- Kevin Prentess, and the great Scott Walker

  4. imabulldog Says:

    I love this guy already

  5. The Prez Says:

    i heard Coloradoreb was going to be the OC. but that was from a source of mine who had a source who knew CRebs college roomate who had a source who told him his best friend from high school had a source somewhere in the administration who’s kid’s 3rd grade teacher’s husband had a source that told him about the OC job.

  6. thespear Says:

    That’s a more reliable source than Colorodoreb’s source, obviously!

  7. msualum01 Says:

    Just got back from Meridian Coach Dan Rally. Pretty exciting. Ninja Byrne was there too. Both of them talked about why Byrne chose Mullen and why Mullen chose Miss. State. Pretty good answers. Should be an interesting season in ’09.

  8. imabulldog Says:

    Well, I’d have love to have been in the airport and at either rally. That’s the only downside to living in Memphis. Just can’t wait til next year, but really can’t wait til spring practices, and get a good look at his system

  9. diamondawg23 Says:

    Does anyone know if Russel was at the rally at Meridian

  10. msualum01 Says:

    I think Tyler is practicing for the Miss./Ala. All-Star game. Coach Weems (Meridian High) was there.

  11. jcdawgman18 Says:

    Tyler is in Mobile for the MS-AL game. His family was there. However, he could not have attended anyway as it would have been a violation.

  12. maxdawg Says:

    I went to the Tupelo rally. Heard a rumor that Bumphis was there. Someone said they talked to him. Maybe Tyler’s parents were at the rally in Meridian.

  13. maroon1white Says:

    I thought Bumphis was in Mobile practicing for the MS/AL All-Star game how could he be in Tupelo too? Is he that fast, lol.

  14. kstorey395 Says:

    I anxious to know who he brings in for OC too. I am pleased with the fact that he takes special teams seriously. It’s paid off at VT and Fla, so maybe it will work for us too.

  15. dadawg Says:

    There’s a new sheriff in town….

  16. kstorey395 Says:

    I’m anxious…stupid me!

  17. imabulldog Says:

    Well we know UF was after Bumpis, itd be nice to intercept him- because we know that he and Coach have probably crossed paths. Anyway, I love the joke he made about his future Off. -“coach, what will your offense be like?” Coach:”well, the 1st 3 plays of the season are gonna be 3 straight off tackle runs!” That’s hilarious. Classic- take that Sly

  18. imabulldog Says:

    I didn’t appreciate CC taking shots at us or GB

  19. rwriffe Says:

    I’m glad he’s gone and he was a terrible game coach and too stubborn to see and accept the facts where some of his staff was concerned. I am with you IMA as for his taking the shots he has. However, I think we all must admit that the same stubbornness helped to clean up the program from where it was. Like anyone he is probably a little hurt by all this and we just have to take the high road and understand. This to shall pass for him and in the future his tenure will be seen as one that probably was best for the time at MSU.

    With that being said and as I’ve continued to follow Mullen’s hire I am really, really excited at our chances to return to some degree of competitiveness. I am a realist and know that it will take some time (not 5 years) but man, is this not exciting when you hear him talk about the offense. We may lose a lot of games next year but I bet you one thing, we will be at least in the top 80 in offense and that is major at this point. Oh yea, and in those loses we will be in the ballgame.

  20. ericintupelo Says:

    Muschamp is rumored to be the new coach at Auburn. It was on SportsCenter

  21. bigdraws Says:

    I also heard it on foxsports radio this morning. Football expert on there said it was “imminent”.

  22. msudawginbama Says:

    they’re reporting that on the aubie ISP radio this morning, too.

Leave a Reply

