Dan Mullen Introduction

by

New MSU football coach Dan Mullen just finished meeting and talking to the fans here at the Templeton Athletic Academic Center. He will address the media shortly. Here are some excerpts from his address to the fans.

• “We’re going to grab that rope, we’re going to pull hard.”

• “I’m from Starkville now. I’m certainly happy I’m here, and I’m here to stay.”

• “You’re going to see a team that plays with relentless effort, relentless passion.”

• “You’re going to see a coaching staff that’s extremely energetic.”

44 Responses to “Dan Mullen Introduction”

  1. msualum01 Says:

    Did you guys know we have an ice hockey team? I’m not kidding!

  2. msualum01 Says:

    http://www.dawgicehockey.org/

  3. bigdraws Says:

    Yep, they played in Tupelo earlier in the year.

  4. msualum01 Says:

    I’ll probably be at MSU-Meridian tonight to welcome Coach Dan to the family. All alumni in the area need to try to attend if possible (yes, I know it’s going to be snowing).

  5. thingreenline Says:

    Brad,
    I know you’re aggrevated with me, but that’s ok.

    Couple ?’s:
    (1) Has anyone mentioned anything about Mullins looking a little Orgeron-ish? What is the intelect of this guy….hope not similar to The O. But, I doubt Chuck Norris would hire anyone that didn’t display common sense.

    (2) Has anything been said about what made Byrne go with Mullins over someone like the Wilson or anyone else?

  6. bigdraws Says:

    My dad and brother are going to the one in Tupelo. I can’t get outta work or I would too.

  7. bigdraws Says:

    1) I’ve heard that mentioned a couple of times. I hope that’s not the case. And as far as I know he doesn’t have a shady history like O did.

    2) I read somewhere that said Wilson turned us down first. Then Mullin took the job. May have been on one of Brad’s links a few topics ago.

  8. thingreenline Says:

    Thanks, draws

  9. www.tupelopix.com Says:

    Well guys, after watching the pep rally and press conference, I can tell you this. Any reference made comparing Mullen to Orgeron is absolute garbage. Mullen comes across as a very well spoken, inteligent and energetic person. He seems to know exactly what he wants out of a program, and exactly how to go about obtaining those goals.

    After listening to him talk, I got the feeling that he truly is ready to be a head coach. Only time, and his record, will tell if that is the case, but I’m trully happy to have him as our new coach. Bring on the Mullen era! Go Dawgs!

  10. msualum01 Says:

    In my opinion, one of the biggest components to Mullen’s success in the future is going to be recruiting. I feel like if he has the players he needs, he can win. If he doesn’t have the players he needs, it will be a lot harder to win. The incoming class of recruits looks strong, but it’s going to have to be strong year after year after year.

    I think it’s important to remember that we are all recruiters for MSU. We should keep that in mind when we are discussing MSU with our friends, our neighbors, and our colleagues. We need to present a positive outlook about the university as much as possible. I know I’m preaching to the choir already.

  11. knoxvilledog Says:

    msualum01:

    I agree with you 95%. However based on many comments I have seen on this blog and other blogs and internet boards, I disagree that you are preaching to the choir. There are many folks who need to pay close attention to your second paragraph.

  12. carwwest Says:

    tupelopix, didnt they have the new helmets at the pep rally or press conference??….at least thats what i was told….

  13. bulldogdug Says:

    Guys I went to pep rally here and the atmosphere was awesome. I am more excited than ever to be a bulldog!

    The new MAROON helmets look great. Coach said we would run spread on offense and defense will be fast and swarm to the ball!

    I encourage all who can to get out and show Dan the Man that we are behind him!

  14. www.tupelopix.com Says:

    Yeah I wasn’t there, watched it on M2M but he came in toting one of the new maroon helmets….

  15. markillas44 Says:

    anyone got a pic of the new helmet?

  16. bulldogdug Says:

    No pic but all MAROON with the MSTATE logo on both sides. They look good

  17. www.tupelopix.com Says:

    Who all is going to the Summit Center @ 3 P.M. here in Tupelo?

    I’m gonna try and attend and get few stock photos…..

  18. www.tupelopix.com Says:

    If the new helmet makes it to Tupelo, I’ll try to get a photo of it. That is unless Ninja Byrne has it under special ninja lockdown protocol or something.

  19. bulldogdug Says:

    Gotta give GB credit, he did an awesome job!

  20. markillas44 Says:

    thanks dug…i didn’t hate the white helmets but my dad hated them, how happy he will be

  21. bulldogdug Says:

    It really looked great. The only thing I was disappointed in was the lack of players in attendance. Tyson Lee was only player I saw.

  22. markillas44 Says:

    thanks tupelopix…if we’re this excited about the new helmet the rest is gonna be wild – this is as excited as i’ve ever been as an MSU fan

  23. desertdog2005 Says:

    Most of players either should be studying or taking finals right now.

  24. sparty Says:

    i’m not one to usually spam the comments, but if you are interested in a huge Bowl Pick’em challenge with a prize, check out my site real quick..

  25. goldendawg Says:

    He says he isn’t one to “spam comments”, but he has been know to be dishonest….

  26. sparty Says:

    i was never dishonest.

  27. sparty Says:

    enjoy your new coach, great choice.

  28. eurekadog Says:

    It’s MULLEN. It is not MULLENS, nor MULLIN, nor MULLINS. C’mon, folks! Make an effort!

  29. goldendawg Says:

    Just a bit of sarcasm, Sparty. I’m sure your source was giving you good information and that a deal was close…
    No hard feelings here… But I wouldn’t travel to Idaho any time soon. LOL

  30. carwwest Says:

    http://sixpackspeak.yuku.com/topic/16835/t/Help-with-Helmet-Here-it-is.html

    here is the new helmet…

  31. carwwest Says:

    better than what we had but i dont know about the logo….

  32. sparty Says:

    they love me. especially the emailer that said they want to burn my body in the streets!

    in all seriousness. this move makes a lot more sense, i think. you need an offensive coach, and you needed someone who is already established with recruiting in the SEC. excellent choice.

  33. 2thdoc Says:

    Here are some helmet pics from six pack:

    http://sixpackspeak.yuku.com/topic/16835/t/Help-with-Helmet-Here-it-is.html

  34. gulfwaterdawg Says:

    For all those interested the pep rally and press conf available throught the Mstate home page.

    http://www.mstateathletics.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=16800&ATCLID=3631766

  35. farley662 Says:

    Got the new helmet up in the Van.

  36. omahadog Says:

    Great to see the excitement back when it comes to MSU Football. I think for the need, Dan Mullen was the best choice. We need energy, offensive genius, and great recruiting. Who will be the choice to head up the defense?

    We’re going to see a recruiting buzz like we’ve never seen at MSU. Look for the talented kids who have gone to Bama, LSU, and Florida, look at MSU. Mullen’s pedigree and what he can do for a player’s success speaks volumes.

  37. markillas44 Says:

    thanks farley…not sure if i like it or not but when mullen starts winning games it won’t matter…much.

  38. desertdog2005 Says:

    love the new helmet-look’s mean-like a dog in a fight mean!!!!

  39. warbirdz44 Says:

    Those new helmets look terrible IMO. I much prefer the white ones.

  40. maroon1white Says:

    Until I see the helmet in person…I’m not too impressed. It looks bland. The logo has no contrast to it. I’m eager to see it along with the new Adidas uni’s. Like markillas said if when we win I won’t care what it looks like.

    Does anybody know if CM & GB are planning on making a trip to northwest MS for a meet & greet in the near future?

    Go State!

  41. dannyripms Says:

    Look the helmet will look great with a little red on it, when our fired up boys get out there and bust somebodys gut open on the field. Go dawgs!!!!

  42. tennesseemarine01 Says:

    Blood makes the grass grow!

  43. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Hope you get that helmet thing settled before you meet that Great Rebel team again. I don’t think the Rebs will care one way or the another about the helmets that the boys from cow college wear.

    Once again, my congrat, on the selection of a new HC. I am glad to see him and his staff come to State, we don’t want to see another 45-0 Egg Bowl.

  44. carwwest Says:

    ok this is speculation but from what i hear, the one mullen threw up was a mis hap….

    this is “supposedly” the one… and i like this one a lot more!!!!
    http://www.bulldawgjunction.com/football/coachmullen/index.html

Leave a Reply

