Stansbury’s Voice Still Heard

by

UPDATE: Stansbury was released from the hospital this morning and plans to make the Cincinnati trip.

With coach Rick Stansbury in the hospital with a viral infection, MSU’s basketball team has carried on as it prepares for Thursday’s game at Cincinnati. Stansbury is doing his best to help, as I write in today’s Journal. No word yet on if Stansbury will be able to make the trip – the team leaves today – but I’ll keep you posted. By the way, I’ll be hitting the road after lunch today.

Today is signing day for junior college players, and I’ll keep you up to date on that as well.

In women’s hoops, MSU remained unbeaten with a victory over Southern Miss. Up next for the Lady Bulldogs is a trip out West to Utah for a pair of games this weekend.

4 Responses to “Stansbury’s Voice Still Heard”

  1. desertdog2005 Says:

    Brad,
    This article ticked me off! I felt it was worth sharing the ignorance of the CBS writer. It has to do with the hiring of Mullen. http://www.sportsline.com/collegefootball/story/11173939

  2. bigdraws Says:

    I like this line from your article desert….

    “Last time I checked the SEC isn’t getting any easier and Mississippi State has one winning season since 2000. ”

    In which 5 of those were coached by a black man. Just sayin. Guess he forgot to mention that point.

  3. BirdZ! Says:

    Also from the article written by the moron:

    “Mississippi State gave up on Sylvester Croom, the first black head coach in the SEC,”

    I like how he throws in “gave up”. Yeah, we gave up on a coach who brought us one winning season out of five and refused to “give up” on his offensive plan and inert a new one until he was at the point of resigning.

  4. darkcooger Says:

    Agreed, BirdZ. I’m sick of MSU being criticized for replacing Croom. His job was to win football games (ostensibly; you could easily argue that it was also his job to redeem a soulless program, which he did), and he wasn’t doing it. He lost his job.

    I have certain responsibilities in my job. If I don’t meet expectations, I’d get fired too, and I’m pretty sure my employer wouldn’t give me a $3 million parting bonus for my failure.

    Croom’s gone because Croom didn’t win football games. The fact that he’s black doesn’t matter at all. These critics should have spent some time in Starkville over the last few years to see the Croom-love and maybe they’d understand that we never cared that he was black.

Leave a Reply

