Back Home & On the Links

by

Just got back in from Jackson. Tip: Even if your optometrist says it’s OK to do so, don’t sleep in your contacts. Oh, the burn!

Anyway, here is today’s story from MSU’s 74-68 basketball win over Nicholls State last night. The Bulldogs (8-4) are off until Dec. 30, when they host San Diego. By the way, MSU is inviting Mississippi middle school and high school boys and girls basketball teams to attend that game free of charge; same goes for the Jan. 3 game against Houston and the Jan. 5 game against Western Kentucky.

On the football front, here is today’s story about how new coach Dan Mullen is putting a staff together. He said we could hear of more hires this week, so stay tuned. And I’ll have more from Mullen later this week.

And this interesting tidbit: The State (Columbia, S.C.) newspaper has ranked the new Division I-A football hires, and MSU’s choice of Mullen comes in second behind New Mexico’s Mike Locksley. Which of the 17 hires was the worst? You guessed it: Gene Chizik at Auburn.

10 Responses to “Back Home & On the Links”

  1. benzadawgfan Says:

    Good to see Bulldog football on top of a list. I wonder what the Auburn fans are thinking about now? I hope coach Chizik has the same success at Auburn he had at Iowa st. I can’t wait to see our new look Bulldogs!

  2. deaddawg1 Says:

    Greg Byrne did a great job! My hat’s off to him. I would have preferred a proven head coach, but I’m happy with Mullen. The prospect of having an offence that can move the ball is exciting!!!!!!!!!! We’re on bottom and looking up, but I’m looking forward to seeing that change. Welcome, coach Mullen, we BELIEVE you can do it!

  3. maroon1white Says:

    New Year’s resolution…Upgrade season tickets!

  4. JB Says:

    Merry Christmas to the Mississippi A&M gang.

  5. thespear Says:

    JB, what’s with the A & M reference all the time? That name was probably even before your time!

  6. JB Says:

    Yeah thespear, I was just messing around the State folks. No harm intended. I do remember hearing about A&M. Hope its not offensive to you. I will stop using it. I have been a Mississippian for 75 years, and I will die a Mississippian. Ole Miss my #1 Miss State my #2, in my sports following.

    Merry Christmas to you spears and your family.

  7. joekstewart Says:

    There is a rumor up in knoxville, about State hiring a coach from my alma mater, Carson Newman.

    People don’t know that Carson Newman’s coach, Ken Sparks, is one of the most winningest coach behind the Bear. They have two maybe three national titles in Division AA.

    It seems Mullen is going after Div 2 Coaches.

  8. thespear Says:

    ha its cool jus messin with ya JB!

  9. imabulldog Says:

    Merry Christmas JB!

  10. Back Home & On the Links | MrSEC.com Says:

    […] 1st, 2009 2:00 pm ║ Posted By: MrSEC.com ║ Permalink […]

Leave a Reply

