Pernell McPhee: ‘I’m a man of my word’

by

I caught up with MSU signee Pernell McPhee a moment ago. McPhee, a 6-foot-4, 270-pound defensive end from ICC – dude’s a monster – is one of eight signees to enroll early. He did not sign right away, having decided to consider other schools, like Michigan and Alabama, after Sylvester Croom resigned. But he ultimately decided he should keep his commitment to MSU (a quote on that below).

He just got into Starkville last night. So here’s some of what he had to say:

• On the advantages of enrolling early: “Getting a feel of the defense and what type of program you’re going to be in and what type of coach he is.”

• On sticking to his commitment: “To tell you the truth, I’m a man of my word. When I committed and said I was going to come, I felt I should stick with that promise.”

• Impressions of Dan Mullen: “He was the most energetic coach you probably could meet.”

• On Mullen’s 4-3 defense: “He wants us to get after whoever we play.”

• On what’s possible: “He’s going to bring speed up here, lots of speed.”

23 Responses to “Pernell McPhee: ‘I’m a man of my word’”

  1. farley662 Says:

    Yeah, except for the whole testing the waters with every other SEC school to see if he could get a better offer. He’s a man of his word the same way Croom was a man of character.

  2. RoastBeef1 Says:

    You guys are lucky to get a guy like Pernell. The guy is an absolute monster. The only reason he didn’t go D1 earlier from what i understand is that he started playing football during his junior or senior year in high school and didn’t get that many looks. Y’all can correct me on that but that’s what I heard. I sat next to him at the IAHS/Shannon game a few months back and there’s no fat on him. He also has a great work ethic from what I understand. I’d be more excited about seeing this guy play next Fall than Russell or possibly Bumphis.

  3. maroon1white Says:

    Oh how I enjoy even with the excitement of the new possibilities there is always somebody who has to bring out the negative. Why not enjoy this and the things to come, or keep it to yourself?

  4. benzadawgfan Says:

    farley, you probably left the arkansas game after we went down 14 zip. Why dis a new signee? This guy can be an impact player for us now. I’m sure he got other offers, but he did what he said he was going to do. Croom may not have had the results we wanted on the field, but if you saw the whole egg bowl, our entire team was on a knee praying for Mcrae when he broke his leg. Can you imagine that happening with the bunch he inherited from Jackie? He didn’t win as much as any of us would have liked, but he deserves respect for turning our program in the right direction. He also was ready to take the blame for any shortcomings, his or others. That is character. Real easy to take shots at others from the comfort of a screen name.

  5. imabulldog Says:

    Simma guys, before we have another Ima vs Roastbeef part II…

    Just get the talent in here, and ‘coach’ em please. Anyway, I’m just glad that we got a recruit that was possibly wanted by other good teams, and had options-but chose to come to us. Kinda rare these days.

  6. farley662 Says:

    Actually didn’t bother to come at all. Had something more important going on. And Croom is a fat lazy clueless bastard.

  7. maroon1white Says:

    Do us all a favor then, and don’t come to anymore sporting events we don’t need your “support”.

  8. imabulldog Says:

    Oh crap

  9. mississippibulldawg Says:

    Just to hear the word speed from a recruit makes me have goosebumps. Speed. Just had to say it again. At this point in the game you don’t have a choice but to take what is laying on the table and folks I am excited. Tyler Russell is reportedly calling Chad Bumpis telling him to come to state. We are getting great recruits. GO STATE.

  10. benzadawgfan Says:

    attaboy farley. I’m sure you realize how your comments reflect your intelligence and class. I only hope you show more respect to the people you come into contact with daily. Of course its kinda hard to insult someone and keep your promotion to the drive-thru. You didn’t bother to come? Or was it I can’t afford a ticket? Pull your house to Oxford!

  11. farley662 Says:

    My son was having his second open heart surgery in six months 2 days before the game jackass. Have had season tickets for 5 years now, and my house is already in Oxford. Make the hour and a half trek every Saturday. This same Saint Croom you boys love so much blasted us after he “resigned.” The fact is is the man was and always will be a position coach at best. I know that actually having an opinion is taboo in certain State circles, but I have and will always express it. Nice little jab about working fast food and owning a trailer. Never heard that before.

  12. carwwest Says:

    i never understood the whole croom love fest myself but oh well….

    the arkansas game was meaningless….i didnt go but i live 5 hours away and i had made a ton of trips already…season tickets plus a few away games…

    mcphee’s comments are that of a young guy trying to make a good impression on his new home….it does not bother me that he took other visits…ive learned that i cant as crazy anymore when people commit to a school then dont follow through…its just the way it is now….he is going to be a good player for us and i the fact that he talks about speed makes me happy that we finally have a coach that understands college football….

  13. midnightdawg Says:

    Farley- seems you baited benzadawg a little bit. Don’t think he’s been around the blog long enough to know what’s been going on with your family.

    That said, I hope your son is continuing to improve. He continues to be in my family’s daily prayers.

    GO DAWGS!

  14. msudawgs64 Says:

    hey farley, how’s your boy doing after the surgery? I read about him many, many blogs back when Ellis was still writing it but never posted but do want to say he will be in my prayers as well. I have a 9 month old and a 2 year old and I don’t know what I would do if anything happened to them. God bless.

    oh and the Croom nightmare is over, the experiment was a failure and now it is time to move on. I could post ad nauseum on his failures but you fellow State fans already know them, if you don’t then it is time to take off the maroon blinders.

  15. benzadawgfan Says:

    farley, Sorry to hear about your son, I hope he is doing better. I am not saying that I think Croom is a great coach, or I didn’t want him to be fired, only that he is a good man. We can agree to disagree on that. If you liked my ‘little jab’ you should buy the book 101 Insults and Momma Jokes by Carrot top. I will refrain from making futher derogatory personal comments about others. Seriously dude, I know some folks who are in a similar situation with a child, and I hope that everything goes well. Your son and family will be in my prayers.

  16. benzadawgfan Says:

    Yes, I have only been reading/posting on this blog for a few weeks. I never would have said any of that had I known your situation. I feel horrible about that. Get that book and throw an insult/momma joke at me and we’ll call it even.

  17. bmoy Says:

    Open mouth, insert foot. haha and Farley, I had no idea about your son either. I tell myself everyday that when something goes bad for me, somebody else has it worse. Well, today, it’s farley’s boy. He will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  18. imabulldog Says:

    Yo mama so skinny she could could hang-glide on a Dorito!

    Just playing…:)

    I’m glad I came to see the light about mid-season, thanks to DawgX and Car, now I’m CROOM FREE! And you can be too…

  19. imabulldog Says:

    for $19.95

  20. benzadawgfan Says:

    open mouth isert foot ha ha? easy for you to say…… I wear a twelve. I am waiting to see what else I get for my $19.95 if I call right now.

  21. imabulldog Says:

    You get an SEC Championship in the next 3 years!

  22. farley662 Says:

    No problem benz.

    Aedan is doing great. Improving everyday.

    Nice yo momma joke ima. I’m so white, when Katrina hit i went out and bought a tv.

  23. maroon1white Says:

    Well I threw the gasoline on this fire so I feel responsible to bury it. Farley, I hope your son recovers to full health. I also hope you & your boy can attend every home game this year & our team has a winning season so that your days will be brighter. We as State fans have alot to look forward to this season so much most of us can’t help our excitement. I know I feel that way. I guess what I’m trying to say is we can only make Bulldog Nation stronger if we’re all together.

    Go State!

Leave a Reply

