Oh, So Close; Plus, On the Mullen Links

by

I caught most of the second half of the Mississippi State Lady Bulldogs’ game with No. 13 Tennessee last night on TV. Very impressed, I was, but I had this feeling that Tennessee would find a way to pull it out at the end. Sure, the “Baby Vols” are young – one senior, zero juniors – but this is still Tennessee we’re talking about. So I just figured that by game’s end, MSU would be 0-for-29 against Pat Summitt‘s squad. Unfortunately for MSU, I was right.

Freshman Shekinna Stricklen scored the game’s final seven points, including a big 3-pointer, as UT won 63-56. Stricklen scored 15 points; junior Chanel Mokango led State with 15 points, seven rebounds and seven blocks. John L. Pitts was on the scene. The Lady Bulldogs (13-4, 1-2 SEC) will now hit the road for games against Kentucky (Sunday) and LSU (Thursday).

As for the men, they’re at home tomorrow night against Vanderbilt (7 p.m., Fox Sports South). I’ll have an advance in tomorrow’s paper.

On the football side of things, new coach Dan Mullen wrapped up his five-city tour yesterday with stops in Hattiesburg and Gulfport. Here are the stories from the respective newspapers that cover those areas:

Coach supports in-state contests (Hattiesburg American)

Head Bulldog gets love from pack (Sun Herald)

9 Responses to “Oh, So Close; Plus, On the Mullen Links”

  1. imabulldog Says:

    Man, every time I read something on Mullen, I feel like a kid on Christmas morning…

    I can’t wait for fball to start back up! Hopefully Signing Day will be enough to tide us over til the Spring Game

  2. maroon1white Says:

    I’m trying to find the link, but I read a blurb on an ESPN blog last night. The writer said he had a feeling Cameron Newton (former UF qb) is transferring to a Texas juco school planning on transferring after a season to State to be with Mullen. If I can find the link I’ll post it, but for now thought that might be an interesting topic to discuss.

  3. maroon1white Says:

    found it. Its not much but its an interesting concept.

    http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/blog/index?entryID=3835807&name=feldman_bruce

  4. 2thdoc Says:

    Ima, everytime I read something about Andy Kennedy I shake my head in disbelief.

  5. imabulldog Says:

    Me too…..whatta perfect jerk 🙂

  6. imabulldog Says:

    me too…whatta perfect Jerk 🙂

  7. imabulldog Says:

    Sorry it posted twice, I was yelling ethnic slurs and hitting my laptop

  8. dogman25 Says:

    H’burg American is filled w/ post to the article about Coach saying he is supportive of playing in-state contest… BL get on the phone w/ “Dan the Man” tell him to make this happen so we can finally shut those Golden Buzzards up… I sick of hearing we are scared to play USM… “Lets Get It On”…

    GO DAWGS!!!

    http://www.hattiesburgamerican.com/article/20090116/SPORTS/901160336/1006

  9. benzadawgfan Says:

    I’d love to play ’em, but they’re gonna have to give us 2 for 1. They’d probably make more $ in one game with us than playing their usual opponents 2 home & home series. I couldn’t believe they expanded their stadium. There were still seats there that had never seen a butt!

Leave a Reply

