On the Links, Off to Baton Rouge

by

I’ll soon be hitting the road to Baton Rouge for tonight’s game between Mississippi State and LSU. But more on that in a moment.

The big news of the day comes out of Tuscaloosa, where Alabama senior guard Ronald Steele announced he’s ending his injury-riddled career. The good news is that he’s already got his degree, so best wishes to him as he moves forward in life. As for what this means in relation to the current season, it obviously hinders Alabama’s chances of fulfilling preseason expectations. Which brings us to tonight’s game in Baton Rouge.

MSU (13-5, 3-0) battles LSU (14-3, 2-1) at 7 p.m. First place is on the line, although it’s still early, so I expect these two teams to be neck-and-neck the rest of the way. But the West is still pretty open, and Alabama can still make some noise. Here is my story previewing today’s game. And here’s a story from our friends at The Advocate. No TV for this one, so follow my updates on here and/or on Twitter.

Also in today’s Journal was a football recruiting update. Obviously, coach Dan Mullen is doing a great job on that front, if rankings are to be believed. As you’ll see in the story, I caught up with a couple of MSU commitments, East Webster’s Johnthan Banks and Meridian’s Chris Smith. A couple of more thoughts from those two on what why Mullen’s been successful in his recruiting efforts.

• Banks: “Good players are gonna follow good coaches.”

• Smith: “Where he came from and the offense that he’s bringing, I think we’ll have a lot more people committing to Mississippi State because of him.”

11 Responses to “On the Links, Off to Baton Rouge”

  1. jonnychapps Says:

    Hey Brad! Thanks for this site, I am on it all the time.

    Just wanted to pass on to you and all the MSU fans on this site a football helmet I modeled after the new concept for next year. You can view it here.

    http://www.jonnychapps.com/?p=158

    Take care and keep up the great work!

  2. imabulldog Says:

    Thats pretty cool Chapps

  3. mississippipitbull Says:

    Loving that maroon BABY!!! Doesn’t make sense how those rebelites are already hating on the future success and recruiting isn’t even over. My co-workers are talking about Marlon Brown to Ole Miss I looked his “list” and their like third on the damn thing. So I’m like we’re not on any lists we have commits. May not be money in the bank but it’s a statement. And that would be a nice helmet with the bulldog face in the mississippi state circle logo. Or maybe the cowbell one. Stay up, BL.

  4. mississippipitbull Says:

    Someone please help me. I tried of the pink shapes. I want my bulldog where the pink is. Who can help me?

  5. BirdZ! Says:

    clear your browser history.

  6. The Prez Says:

    Bird helps everybody. Even rebelites!!

  7. maroon1white Says:

    USM has got to be hate’n us right now. Their two best recruiters gone in less than a month, OUCH!

    I wonder if Hughes can pull a recruit or two we need our way before Feb 4th? I heard he was recruiting Pat P to USM. I also heard State is trying to get Pat to change his official the 30th from TN to Starkvegas.

  8. carwwest Says:

    hughes and knox…two better known for their recruiting than coaching….hope this getting a ton of recruiters works on the field as well as off….

  9. Tom Says:

    Brad, I’m guessing that by putting the dogs at 13-5, **4-0**, you are marking down LSU as a win for the Dogs! Awesome! I love the optimism.

  10. leeearl Says:

    hehe, Tom, I was going to point out the same ‘4-0’ SEC record…hope BL is right! Go Dogs!!!

  11. Brad Locke Says:

    Sorry, typo. Fixed.

Leave a Reply

