Bulldogs Off, Gottfried Out, Recruit In

by

Mississippi State’s men don’t play again until Saturday. As I write in today’s Journal, they’d rather be playing this Wednesday. As it is, the Bulldogs (14-6, 4-1 SEC) are off until Saturday’s home game against Ole Miss. You can catch the Rebels on ESPN tonight against Kentucky, which MSU plays next Tuesday. Could get ugly tonight.

Concerning the big SEC news of the day, here is Kevin Scarbinsky‘s take on the Mark Gottfried “resignation.”

On the football recruiting front, Joe Stewart, a receiver/kick returner from Dutchtown, Ga., has Mississippi State high on his list. So says the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. He likes that spread offense of Dan Mullen‘s. And one I simply missed – recruiting is not my specialty, nor should it be – but Taylorsville receiver Billy Hamilton committed to State and also plans to play for new baseball coach John Cohen. Also, we learn that MSU is out of the running for Noxubee County receiver Pat Patterson.

14 Responses to “Bulldogs Off, Gottfried Out, Recruit In”

  1. mississippipitbull Says:

    Good we didn’t need him anyway, when you got the talent we got coming in. Spreads dangerous regardless. I believe Chris Smith might turn out better than him. Chad’s going to be everywhere. The atheletes we have are stars on O and D. I think we need just one great or at least alright CB coming in but we like 4 or 5 safeties coming in. I know they can play CB.

  2. BirdZ! Says:

    I hear that we could lose Hamilton to the MLB draft. He’s the #1 or 2 prospect in the state of MS, along with Renfroe from South Panola.

  3. imabulldog Says:

    Why do they leave for baseball? Atleast in college fball you get 4 guarenteed years of playing time (if decent), where as with baseball- you have to turn so many heads-JUST to get a shot.

  4. maroon1white Says:

    Why can’t I find anything on this Joe Stewart kid?

  5. tebmsu97 Says:

    I will never be one to say good we didn’t need him. A talent like Patterson is always welcome. I am very happy with the talent coming in and still hold out hope that Mullen can pull a little magic ace in the hole type recruit on signing day. I think Russell is the obvious anchor of this class with a nice set of complimentary talent around him. I sure would love to land some top flight line talent though…

  6. buzzardroostus Says:

    Couldn’t agree with pitbull more. Last year we signed 4 CBs so we may be OK. CB is definitely the most important position on defense in my opinion. It determines how much you can blitz. If you have 2 shutdown corners and a shutdown safety you can blitz every play. That’s something we’ve not had since Joe Lee Dunn.

  7. buzzardroostus Says:

    I’ve not been able to find much on Joe Stewart either. He’s not even rated on ESPN. Which may not mean anything. But here’s the list of schools he’s considering: Tennessee, Georgia Tech, Missouri, Miami (OH), & Middle Tenn St.

  8. maroon1white Says:

    I can’t find him on Scout anywhere. I know that determining a players worth based on his number of stars doesn’t always mean anything, but this kid is not even on the map. Not to mention with Hamilton’s commitment we only have one spot open. I don’t see Mullen handing out that spot to an unknown. I could see him taking the walk-on route.

  9. imabulldog Says:

    Sounds like he’s famous becuz of his Daddy

  10. RoastBeef1 Says:

    ima, I noticed why you were questioning as to why people would leave for baseball. One thing I’ve learned is that now, a lot of MLB teams will include a clause in your contract stating that if it doesn’t work out in minor league ball, they’ll pay, or at the very least help pay your college tuition. So think of it like this, you can go play college football for free, or you can go play professional baseball with the signing bonus and the small paycheck, with the chance to still go back to college for possibly free. If I were in those shoes, I’d probably go play baseball too.

  11. Brad Locke Says:

    I just stumbled across the Stewart kid via a Google alert, so I know nothing about him either, other than his dad was a standout at Mizzou.

  12. bigdraws Says:

    RB, Chris Weinke comes to mind.

  13. imabulldog Says:

    Thanks Roast, didnt know that, I figured there was some $ involved

  14. imabulldog Says:

    Yeah, we are hearing more and more about players coming back to play fball after bball didnt work out

Leave a Reply

