Looking Ahead

by

I suggest y’all turn on ESPN at 6 p.m. to watch Kentucky at Ole Miss. Sure, it could be a blowout, but those are Mississippi State’s next two opponents. The Wildcats are the only team with an unblemished SEC mark, and who knows, Jodie Meeks might go off for 54 again. As for the Rebels, I know y’all hate ’em, but they’re a scrappy bunch.

Ole Miss visits Humphrey Coliseum on Saturday (noon, Raycom), and State travels to Kentucky next Tuesday (6 p.m., Raycom). I just booked my flight to Lexington; a shade under $400 for round trip. I don’t fly much, so I have no idea if that’s reasonable. Now I just need a hotel and a rental.

Even though the Bulldogs aren’t playing a mid-week game, I’ll have plenty of bylines in the coming days.

• I’ve been on the phone with some football commitments for a story I’m working on about the recruiting process.

• I have a story coming on the Lady Bulldogs’ Congo trio (Rima Kalonda, Armelie Lumanu and Chanel Mokango).

• Also in the works is a look at how the shifted 3-point line is affecting the men’s game.

• For tomorrow’s paper, I’ll have a story on the basketballers as well as a column on football coach Dan Mullen.

OK, back to work.

21 Responses to “Looking Ahead”

  1. goldendawg Says:

    Slim crowd at the Tad Pad… But i’m iced in for a couple of days so I’m glad a game that I’m somewhat interested in is on to break up the monotony…

  2. imabulldog Says:

    Yeah, slim is being generous 🙂

    Gotta represent for a ESPN game, fans have to come out

  3. goldendawg Says:

    Fairweather fans… if they were 4-1 instead of 1-4 the high school gym they call the tad pad would be packed

  4. imabulldog Says:

    very true, mainly a fball school, but now thanks to the discovery of what a baseball actually looks like…they are getting better about other sports

  5. imabulldog Says:

    Tell you what tho, glad we finally got a coach (Ive never been a Polk supporter, respected him but…), otherwise I’d be worried about getting surpassed by OM in baseball. Can’t let that happen

  6. imabulldog Says:

    UM is puttin it on UK after the half.

    Uk is also taking some terrible shots, and getting completely out hustled

  7. goldendawg Says:

    Yeah looks like we are going to have our hands full Saturday.. But then again UM doesn’t usually play well on the road

  8. goldendawg Says:

    I got a poll question for ya, BL. Is AK more likely to go to the Big Dance of the Big House this year?

  9. JB Says:

    Final: OLE MISS 85 Kentucky 80

  10. phantomdawg Says:

    I’ll take Jail for $200 Alex

  11. maxdawg Says:

    Shut down Meeks win game.

  12. imabulldog Says:

    Yeah they are completely one dimensional…shut Meeks down, then hold Patterson to 10, you win

  13. biloxi13 Says:

    Good win for the Rebels. AK should be going home to celebrate and get lucky with his wife, but oh well.

  14. mathistondawg Says:

    My dad, his four brothers, and my brother all are U of M grads. I went to state (I’m the only one in the family that ever has).

    Dad took my son to the game tonight. I’m afraid if we don’t win saturday, my seven-year-old will start pulling for the rebs. Gotta win to keep my boy in maroon!!!

    Coach Stans – get ’em ready because the rebs just got a boost of confidence!!!

  15. darkcooger Says:

    The Hogs had a confidence boost, too. Remember that.

  16. maxdawg Says:

    These are some ticked off UK fans. I’m on my phone so you may have to type it in. http://rockthewristband.wordpress.com/

  17. maxdawg Says:

    Scroll to the bottom and check this out.

  18. imabulldog Says:

    Wow, pretty upset…”Go Big Blue”- hope we hand it to em’ as well.

    And biloxi that was funny LOL

  19. The Kid Says:

    haha I write for that website linked above. as a basketball fan, tonight was a complete embarrassment. for you bulldog fans, you have nothing to worry about. vanardo won’t be a vagina and he will actually rebound the ball.

    p.s. I love jamont gordon, what is he up to these days? he i sone of my favorite SEC players of all time.

  20. bigdraws Says:

    Probably ball-hogging overseas somewhere.

  21. darkcooger Says:

    Italy, maybe? I think I heard that he was bragging about how great he was and how he could play every position. So glad he’s gone.

Leave a Reply

