Needed: Your Help

by

Hey, people. Nothing major from yours truly in today’s Journal, but plenty to come in the near future. One story I’m working on is how Web sites like Rivals and Scout figure into the football recruiting process. I’ve talked to players, coaches, and writers from those sites. And now I need to hear from you.

I’m looking for two or three fans to interview, fans who subscribe to one or both of those sites and closely follow recruiting. You’ll have to divulge your real name, of course, and where you live. (In case you’re wondering, I won’t be letting anyone know what your screen name is in the story.) If you’re interested, e-mail me at brad.locke@djournal.com, and we can set up an interview – via phone, e-mail, IM, whatever works for you.

And by the way, you don’t have to be an MSU fan to participate. In fact, I’m looking for a little variety. So there you go.

Some breaking news, via the Atlanta Journal-Constitution: Georgia basketball coach Dennis Felton might be on the way out. There’s an 11 a.m. (local time, 10 here) press conference scheduled “to discuss the men’s basketball program,” according to the story. Wonder if he’ll be on the teleconference later?

I do have an MSU-related link I’d like to share. I heard recently that Auburn commit Brandon Heavens, a receiver from Jess Lanier, Ala., High School was showing an interest in the Bulldogs. As The Birmingham News reports, Heavens is coming to Starkville for an official visit this weekend, and he has no other offers besides Auburn and State.

6 Responses to “Needed: Your Help”

  1. imabulldog Says:

    Next yr could be…Heaven, cheesy-but I had to 🙂

    Glad to see he is considering us. Man it actually feels good to at least come close to ‘swaying’ some players our way, and in some cases actually swaying-especially from some of the big schools

  2. imabulldog Says:

    Oh yeah, and BL, wish I could help-but I just listen to yall and what other bloggers say about our recruiting matters.

    That’s stuff is too expensive to me-especially when I can just listen to yall 🙂

  3. maroon1white Says:

    Big news, Mullen is most likely bringing in another burner. Ricky Johnson says he’s decomitting from Arkansas and will decide between State & Tulsa saturday who he’ll sign with. He’s listed at 6’1″ 185 with a 4.45.

  4. RoastBeef1 Says:

    Ima, I hear ya on that one. Those sites cost too much for me to pay. What I like to do is read different message boards, still check out player profiles on both sites, check out the rankings, basically everything possible without paying a scent. I’ve learned that if you try hard enough, you can basically get the same info without paying.

  5. mississippipitbull Says:

    Yeah thats what I do. Great minds think alike.

  6. imabulldog Says:

    fo sho’

Leave a Reply

